Switch Theme:

JOWW and models on a different level of terrain.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Searching turns up all sorts of easily answerable JOWW questions. SW FAQ deals with most of that.

My question is this:
How high up does the hairline extend off of the board? All the way up, or just along the same level that the rune priest is standing on?

The language reads "Straight line along the board....ending 24 inches away.... can pass through terrain.... etc"
Obviously that is a paraphrase, but for the purpose of "what if", what if:

The rune priest was standing on level ground, firing at a unit that was on the second, or even third floor of a building?

Or

Can the rune priest fire down off of the second/third floor at a unit on the ground floor?



Hopefully this isn't too obvious of a question, but my personal opinion is that it shouldn't be able to. It opens up on the ground before the priest, and goes along the board. Along seems to mean parallel and tangental to the surface that the rune priest is standing on.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/31 15:29:38


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

Hmm, I guess the question here is "is the JOTWW line a template?"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/31 15:30:13


   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Not specifically, no. It is a hairline placed along the board.

By definition of "along", and not merely saying 24" range is where my issue is coming from.

Does it have to climb? Is that included in the distance?
It would have to be for Marines that are walking along the board

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Minnesota

Given the nature of what the power does (creates a crack in the world that swallows units) I would say that models up off the main board level are safe from the power being cast from ground level. However if it was being cast from say the top of a 3story building and there is an enemy model on the second floor in front of the rune priest then I would say they would get hit. I'm not sure I have rules to support that but that's how I feel it should be played

Warhammer, one of a few games where Yahtzee is possible and not always a good thing


GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.

Armys:
-Fast'N'Slow Bikers- (5 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses)

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






A line would be at ground level. If it extended up, it wouldn't be a line, but a plane which intersects the gaming board at a 90° angle.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

The rule says that you trace a straight line "along the board". It is not free to move in 3 dimensions as it has to be straight. And, it is confined to move in the plane of the board.

So, a model on a level other than ground level can't be hit by Jaws. And, a Rune Priest on a level other than ground level, can't cast Jaws.

Also, you're safe from it if you're standing on a hill, or a rock, or anything like that on ground level, as the line passes beneath you.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Nashville TN

Rule says you can draw a line "through" Terrain. So I would say it does not matter where you are on the terrain (above or below the Rune Priest) if the line goes through your model it must take an initiative test.

When in doubt.........Duck!

Even in the far future there can still be heroes... 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Awesome. Pretty much what I was expecting, and definitely what I was wanting in terms of a ruling. Just a line, and straight along the board.

So against SW, my tervigons are going to go in a multistory building, up a level, and set up the nursery there.
Thanks guys. /Thread.

Postscript: it is possible for a straight line to move in 3 dimensions. For example, a straight line along the surface of the earth going from the North pole down the prime meridian to the equator. Straight line, but with a curve to it as well.
If you took a 90 degree turn left at the equator and kept going the same distance, followed by another left, you would eventually make a "triangle" that had a sum of the angles as 270 degrees.
I really hate discussing these kinds of things with Engineers, who will use wacky stuff like the above with a straight face.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/31 16:23:40


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Doomthumbs wrote:Postscript: it is possible for a straight line to move in 3 dimensions. For example, a straight line along the surface of the earth going from the North pole down the prime meridian to the equator. Straight line, but with a curve to it as well.
If you took a 90 degree turn left at the equator and kept going the same distance, followed by another left, you would eventually make a "triangle" that had a sum of the angles as 270 degrees.
I really hate discussing these kinds of things with Engineers, who will use wacky stuff like the above with a straight face.


It depends on if we're using Euclidean space or not. I've always assumed we are (using anything else will quickly make all of our heads hurt), so a line cannot curve along board features.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Bikeninja wrote:Rule says you can draw a line "through" Terrain. So I would say it does not matter where you are on the terrain (above or below the Rune Priest) if the line goes through your model it must take an initiative test.


Well, the line never goes through the model (unless your model is physically inside the gameboard). At most, the line is going to tangentially touch the bottom of the model's base. But, touching is all that is required of Jaws to hit the model, so that's not an issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/31 16:30:44


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Tucson, Arizona

Since its a PSA I dont see why you wouldnt be able to just choose a certain level that the Rune Priest has LOS of and just kind of gauge from above the Rune Priest.

-5000 Pts. of Orks
-1750 Pts. of Ravenwing 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Grakmar wrote:
It depends on if we're using Euclidean space or not. I've always assumed we are (using anything else will quickly make all of our heads hurt), so a line cannot curve along board features.


I know that. You know that. Space Wolf opponent? Does not know that, is also TFG.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
y0disisray wrote:Since its a PSA I dont see why you wouldnt be able to just choose a certain level that the Rune Priest has LOS of and just kind of gauge from above the Rune Priest.


Because the rule says from the rune priest, not from or above the rune priest.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/31 16:35:00


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Florence, AL

You know... I'm not TFG or anything and if your units were sitting on the third floor listening to the lovely elevator music as it took two turns to get to you, I wouldn't make you roll the I test. However, you are refering to how it must be drawn from the rune priest and I happen to know that you can fire it from a firing port. So... let the space puppy hate commence!
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





grakmar, it never specifies the height of the line. It says it must be along (as in parallel) and it must be straight. That doesn't mean the line can't be an inch above the board surface

W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in us
Gangly Grot Rebel





If it's from a firing port, the vehicle counts as the rune priest for "from the rune priest".

A"line" by definition does not have a height higher than the thickness of a point. Same with width. Otherwise it's a rhombus.

They're in there with their bear.
Proper grammar. Learn it, live it, love it.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: