Switch Theme:

Multiple Assault Resolution  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





So the set up is this: In turn 3 a Daemon Prince Assaults a Zoanthrope from one side, while a group of Chaos Terminators from the other.



The Zoey makes all his saves and inflicts none. Close combat is a draw.

Tyranid Turn 3, a group of warriors assault the termys.



Daemon Prince attacks first, Once again Zoey makes all his saves.

Next warriors go and wipe out the termies

Zoey goes and does nothing.


Ok here are the questions.

1. Did Chaos lose the close combat?

2. If so does the Prince need to make 3 saves, due to the 3 wounds inflicted on the termys, which is what CC was lost by?

3. Do the warriors pile in on the prince and combat continues next turn? or do the warriors consolidate and get to recharge the prince who is locked up with the Zoey.


Thanks
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Chaos lost the combat.

Yes, 3 "no Retreat" wounds to the Prince.

If the warriors can make it into contact with the prince(at least 1 of them), then they must Pile in. If none of the Warriors can contact the prince, they will consolidate and be free to re-charge the prince if/when that situation rolls around(events as indicated by you, it is the Prince-players turn next so he or the warriors may not be around in the Nid's next turn).

Quick question: did the termies all have p-fists? otherwise they would have struck simultaneously with the warriors(unless they had adrenal glands)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/01 17:53:22


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wow, I must have no handling on the rules. Why does the Prince have to take 3 saves just because the terminators died?

I RIDE FOR DOOMTHUMBS! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





He's involved in the assault, has the No Retreat rule, so has to save for every wound his side lost the combat by.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






rigeld2 wrote:He's involved in the assault, has the No Retreat rule, so has to save for every wound his side lost the combat by.


This.

For the same reason, were he not fearless, he would have take a morale test at -3 Ld.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Geez, not sure I've ever read that rule.

So it's possible that the warriors could inflict only 3 wounds total on the terms, the terms could fail all 3, then the DP could in turn fail all 3 "No Retreat" saves resulting in 6 wounds inflicted from only 3 successful wounds? Must have taken some serious thinking to justify that rule.

I RIDE FOR DOOMTHUMBS! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Lt. Coldfire wrote:Geez, not sure I've ever read that rule.

So it's possible that the warriors could inflict only 3 wounds total on the terms, the terms could fail all 3, then the DP could in turn fail all 3 "No Retreat" saves resulting in 6 wounds inflicted from only 3 successful wounds? Must have taken some serious thinking to justify that rule.


If you have never read this rule; I would suggest taking out the BRB and turning to page 41(Multiple Combats).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Warriorss had AG's, OK thats the way I thought it played out. After the termys died I had the warriors pile in on the DP.

The pile in is still the only part im a little confused on though. How far are the warriors allowed to move for the pile in?

I know on the consolidate they roll, and are no longer in CC, but on the pile in i didnt see a distance.

Thanks
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Lt. Coldfire wrote:Geez, not sure I've ever read that rule.

So it's possible that the warriors could inflict only 3 wounds total on the terms, the terms could fail all 3, then the DP could in turn fail all 3 "No Retreat" saves resulting in 6 wounds inflicted from only 3 successful wounds? Must have taken some serious thinking to justify that rule.


It's p44 of the BGB, under "No Retreat!" if you're curious.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
knightpredator wrote:Warriorss had AG's, OK thats the way I thought it played out. After the termys died I had the warriors pile in on the DP.

The pile in is still the only part im a little confused on though. How far are the warriors allowed to move for the pile in?

I know on the consolidate they roll, and are no longer in CC, but on the pile in i didnt see a distance.

Thanks


Pile in is 6". See page 40.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/01 18:15:59


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So many rules and pages. About to start playing Uno again as my weekend getaway.

I RIDE FOR DOOMTHUMBS! 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Sweet thanks guys :-)
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Remember this edition of the 40K rulebook was designed to make HtH combat brutal and quick. In 3rd and 4th ED you could have 2 single units locked in combat the entire game just dancing inflicting a wound here or there and no real outcome. Not that this doesn't happen now just not as often.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Lt. Coldfire wrote:So many rules and pages. About to start playing Uno again as my weekend getaway.


It is not quite as daunting as it seems. most of the Basic rules are in nice little groupings with only a few variations of needing to look at other areas.

As a basic rule, anytime you want to know how something goes look first in the index to see if you base subject is specifically addressed. Then if the specific question you had is not answered on it's own, look to the individual rules that handle your question/Idea; you need to look at all the individual rules here though because sometimes only one of them even mentions your subject.

For example: with this question all I had to do was look to page 41 and read of multiple combats to answer the first and 3rd questions. Multiple combats discusses the morale section of losing the close combat, but only for non-fearless units; so Page 44 was required for the no retreat rule, cross-referencing the fact that multiple Combat morale is applied to all units in the losing side. Since the losing side is meant to take a CC-morale test, and the modifier for said morale test is applied equally to all units losing the combat, then we can see from the "No Retreat" rules that instead of taking the test at all the modifier is applied as saveable wounds; which answered the 3rd question.

After several months of playing the game, or weeks if you play often, most of the basic rules will be memorized, with only the need to look up specific interactions necessary.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: