Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/03 12:35:19
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
An IC and a squad of death company in a land raider. The land raider moves, then the death company disembarks. The IC wanted to remain embarked in the LR. My belief was that this was not legal because since the LR Moved, the disembarking death company could not move more than 2 inches away from the land raider by the end of the movement phase and therefore were still joined to the IC (measuring to the hull for embarked units). I felt that the IC would have had to disembark from a different access point to gain the 2 inches of seperation or disembark with the death company. But not one remains embarked and the other disembarks. Which is correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/03 13:13:44
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
BRB pg. 67, right side.
The IC may chose to stay on board.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 03:33:30
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Booming Thunderer
|
It seems to me that the question being asked is not whether or not the IC can stay in the transport, but rather whether or not he still counts as part of the unit, since, though the IC is in the transport and the unit is not, he's within 2' of the squad, which is the only criteria given for an IC being considered a member of the squad.
Personally, i'd say no, since the BGB specifically states that units can never be partially embarked. It's all or nothing.
|
40K:
The Crusade of Unending Light 2.5k
Fantasy:
The army of the Fallen Pheonix (HE) 3.5k
The Pass Rangers of Karak Kadrin ( Dwarves) 3k
Warmahordes:
25pt pKreoss Exemplar Theme
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 04:02:03
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Jidmah wrote:BRB pg. 67, right side.
The IC may chose to stay on board.
Yes, but it also says that they must end the movement phase more than 2 inches away from each other. Since the disembarking squad could not move (the LR had already moved) and in all cases where you have to measure to an embarked unit, you measure to the hull, there was no way for the IC to stay embarked and still be more than 2 inches away from each other. Automatically Appended Next Post: InnerLight wrote:It seems to me that the question being asked is not whether or not the IC can stay in the transport, but rather whether or not he still counts as part of the unit, since, though the IC is in the transport and the unit is not, he's within 2' of the squad, which is the only criteria given for an IC being considered a member of the squad.
Personally, i'd say no, since the BGB specifically states that units can never be partially embarked. It's all or nothing.
Exactly what I was trying to say, thank you.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/04 04:03:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 04:14:20
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jeremesh wrote:Yes, but it also says that they must end the movement phase more than 2 inches away from each other. Since the disembarking squad could not move (the LR had already moved) and in all cases where you have to measure to an embarked unit, you measure to the hull, there was no way for the IC to stay embarked and still be more than 2 inches away from each other.
Except the FaQ says otherwise:
Q: If an Independent Character is unable to end his
move over 2” away from a friendly unit that he cannot
join, for example he has exited a vehicle after it has
moved, can he be placed? (p48)
A: Yes, simply place him as far away from the unit(s)
that he cannot join as he is allowed to go
So you place the squad as normal for disembarking and they are no longer the same unit, so the IC can stay on the transport.
FaQ found Here Page 3, left column second to last question.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 04:33:00
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Except the FaQ says otherwise:
Q: If an Independent Character is unable to end his
move over 2” away from a friendly unit that he cannot
join, for example he has exited a vehicle after it has
moved, can he be placed? (p48)
A: Yes, simply place him as far away from the unit(s)
that he cannot join as he is allowed to go
So you place the squad as normal for disembarking and they are no longer the same unit, so the IC can stay on the transport.
FaQ found Here Page 3, left column second to last question.
Thats good, but if he hasn't exitied the vehicle, does that mean you would move the vehicle two inches away from the disembarked unit or would you move the disembarked unit two inches away from the vehicle? I could see some Movement shenanigans with this rule..
Move the LR 12 inches, disembark the unit and leave the IC inside.. you now have to move the disembarked unit another 2 inches to get it away from the LR... thats an additional two inches of range to help you in getting to the enemy for assault, no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 04:48:21
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, you disembark as normal, so you have to stay within 2" of the vehicle after the vehicle moves and the unit disembarks.
2" is "as far away from the unit(s) that he cannot join as he is allowed to go" you can not go any further, because of the rules for disembarking.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 11:52:43
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
DeathReaper wrote:No, you disembark as normal, so you have to stay within 2" of the vehicle after the vehicle moves and the unit disembarks.
2" is "as far away from the unit(s) that he cannot join as he is allowed to go" you can not go any further, because of the rules for disembarking.
Not trying to be argumentative, just want to make sure I completely understand this. I think what you are saying is that disembarking allows you to be up to 2" away so that satisfies the 2" of separation rule. In the case of a lot of models (15 man death company coming out of a crusader and leaving the IC onboard) there was not enough room to get all the models out and be 2" away, so I had models right up against the LR.
So if it's not possible to have the disembarking models 2" away from the LR, now what? The unit is not 2" away from the embarked IC so what happens?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 13:02:15
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Pg. 66 'The entire unit must be embarked on a transport if any part of it is - the unit may never be partially embarked...'
Given that you have specific permission to disembark a squad and leave the IC in the van I'm sure you can figure out the rest.
|
“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 13:06:05
Subject: IC remains embarked while joined unit disembarks
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
jeremesh wrote:
Not trying to be argumentative, just want to make sure I completely understand this. I think what you are saying is that disembarking allows you to be up to 2" away so that satisfies the 2" of separation rule. In the case of a lot of models (15 man death company coming out of a crusader and leaving the IC onboard) there was not enough room to get all the models out and be 2" away, so I had models right up against the LR.
So if it's not possible to have the disembarking models 2" away from the LR, now what? The unit is not 2" away from the embarked IC so what happens?
You have to re-read the rule Jidmah referred to, particularly the first paragraph top right on page 67.
The character and the unit can disembark separetly. To do this, one disembarks while the other stays aboard.
They can also disembark at the same time using different access points but must end their move 2" away from each other.
A character is not automatically joined to a unit that is within 2" of the vehicle the character is embarked in. This is backed up by the preceeding paragraph (page 67 lower left) which says if an IC and a unit are embarked in a transport, they are automatically joined or if either is embarked (the IC or the uit) the other may join them by embarking.
This is an exception to being within 2".
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
|