Poll |
 |
Does Spirit Leech continue to take effect while locked in combat. |
Yes, Leech continues while locked. |
 
|
100% |
[ 35 ] |
No, she's got her mind on other things. |
 
|
0% |
[ 0 ] |
Total Votes : 35 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 11:57:26
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
|
If a Doom is locked in combat, does his spirit leech continue to take effect? By the letter of the codex there is no clear hint that it should stop.
I'm reading it like it should continue, but it takes affect there to allow the Doom to move into range in that turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 12:44:20
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes it continues.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 12:56:36
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
Dumbarton, Scotland
|
Yep, it doesn't say it stops in CC, so it keeps going.
|
Karyorhexxus' Sons of the Locust: 1000pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:31:21
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Yep, for reasons already stated.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:36:16
Subject: Re:Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
... far from the only unit that can use psyker powers in CC.
|
"We didn't underestimate them but they were a lot better than we thought."
Sir Bobby Robson |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:39:59
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
yes since it is NOT really a shooting attack it works in combat. But here is the real question.
If you are fighting in cover do you get a cover save from it for being in area terrain?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:50:47
Subject: Re:Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Oozing Spawning Vat
|
Thanks guys! Don't encounter a lot of psychers in my play.
But to answer if you're fighting in cover, does a cover save apply, I would have to say if we're making the distinction that the attack is not shooting and not CC then yes, it would fall under the normal rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:55:36
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
cgage00 wrote:If you are fighting in cover do you get a cover save from it for being in area terrain?
I would say yes because it is a shooting phase attack.
Plus the latest Tyranid FAQ says:
Q: Can cover saves be taken against wounds inflicted by the Doom of Malant’tai’s Spirit Leech ability?
A: Yes.
Think of it this way, if you were engaged in an ongoing combat, and in a shooting phase a blast weapon marker scattered over the units involved, would they be able to take cover saves from wounds inflicted by the weapon?
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 13:56:30
Subject: Re:Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Cowboy Wannabe
London
|
since it is neither a shooting attack or a psychic power it continues to work in combat.
And per the FAQ people get cover saves. (which is a little silly but hey thats the rules)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 14:03:54
Subject: Re:Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Can this power be psychic hooded/nulled by hoods and runic weapons the way warlock powers can be?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/05 14:09:55
Subject: Tyranid Doom of Malan'Tai Spirit Leech
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It is not a psychic power.
It is a special rule.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|