Switch Theme:

First Post: Assualting Rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge





Hey everyone! I've only been into 40k for a short while now, so I decided it would be prudent to check out the community and get a few things cleared up for myself and my friends at the same time, so I'll get straight to it.

This was a two against one battle, with two armies of Imperial Guard against one VERY large and beautifully painted Necron force. Everything went swimmingly until a Tomb Stalker decided to make its debut amongst my command squad in a building. I wish I had a clearer way of demonstrating the placement, but I will do my best.

My command squad was on the bottom floor of a two story Administratum building. Spaced out on the bottom and second floor was another squad of regular guardsmen. During the assault phase, the Tomb Stalker passed through the building (being able to move like a wraith with it's experimental rules from ForgeWorld) and inflicted one wound on the command squad. Because the guardsmen could not hurt the Stalker (toughness 7 against Str 3), the guard lost combat. Upon a dismal failure of the morale test, the Stalker conducted a sweeping advance successfully and cut down the remaining four men in the command squad.

Now, here's where it got heated between my friend and I. Upon conclusion of the assault phase, I remarked that the remaining guardsmen in the building (the ones I mentioned before) would be able to turn and at least open up with a flamer before the next assualt phase. But my friend told me that the Stalker was within two inches of one of the gaurdsmen in the building, and therefore ended its turn in close combat with them. This irked me a bit since it essentially allows the Stalker to hopscotch over my nearby guardsmen and happily make them into hamburger.

Can anyone clarify this? If unit A ends its assault phase within two inches of Unit B after wiping out Unit C, are units A and C automatically engaged in close combat to be resolved on the following turn?

Thank you all very much in advance. I have read several dozen posts, and I hope that this venture will be fruitful.

I love the smell of cordite in the morning. 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




No, they are not in close combat. Look in the consolidation rules - you may not consolidate to start another assault.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is not possible to consolidate intoa new combat. That was allowable in 4th edition, but not 5th.
   
Made in us
Slave on the Slave Snares



Portland, OR

To enter into CC you have to move into BtB contact. 2" is not BtB contact and you would be able to fire on the Tomb Stalker. Even after Consolidation Pg.40 you can not move into btb since that is only allowed with a assault move.


I see tons of people posted while I went and got my rulebook hehe

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/05 14:33:55


 
   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge





So, essentially, after finishing an assault a unit is "tired" and cannot being another close combat venture?

Awesome! I'll be sure to show this to my friend with a measure of vindication.

I love the smell of cordite in the morning. 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Not "tired" per se...

In this case the combat ended with the Tomb Stalker finishing up the command squad. It didn't have time to do anything else.

So, yes you can shoot the thing with your regular guardsman and pray that it goes down.

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: