Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 05:21:04
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
Question...
It's DoW... and the Eldrad Eldar (or DE w/ Lady Malys) has first turn...
The Eldar/ DE player deploys their units by their table edge... then the opponent places units towards the center table at maximum distance while satisfying the DoW requirment to be at least 18" away from a Eldar/ DE unit.
After everyone has deployed and scouts/infiltration moves have been completed...
Could the Eldar/Lady Malys player then "redeploy" their units (D3+1 units for Eldrad and D3 for Lady Malys) within an inch of an enemy unit, provided it's still in their half of the deployment zone (in DoW)??
I'm reading the BRB for DoW deployment, and the only limitation I see is this:
"His opponent then does the same in the opposite half, but must position his three units more than 18" from enemy units."
The way I read this is that only the 2nd turn player is limited by the 18" rule in DoW deployment...
Is that right?
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 05:31:30
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
There are 2 ways to look at it, and yet both are RAW:
1) Yes, it is perfectly legit for the reasons you stated, only the second player cannot deploy his units within 18" of the first players units.
2) No, it is not legal because by redeploying, you are forcing the opponent to illegally deploy(The rule says he must position his 3 units more than 18" from enemy units, your changing of position will lead to his breaking the rule).
I am leaning more towards the second reading.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 05:35:18
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:(The rule says he must position his 3 units more than 18" from enemy units, your changing of position will lead to his breaking the rule).
Your moving your own models later doesn't change the fact that he placed his legally to begin with.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/07 05:35:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 05:42:38
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I understand that, but the end result is his models being positioned within 18" of an enemy unit, which is illegal.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 06:00:10
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:I understand that, but the end result is his models being positioned within 18" of an enemy unit, which is illegal.
It's not illegal for them to be there, just for him to deploy them there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:09:44
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
insaniak wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:I understand that, but the end result is his models being positioned within 18" of an enemy unit, which is illegal.
It's not illegal for them to be there, just for him to deploy them there.
Agreed. It's all legit.
Also, to the OP, the redeploying happens after infiltrators, but BEFORE scouts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:35:42
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It is illegal to place them there. The wording of Eldrad's rule is "redeploy" therefor you have to follow the restriction of deployment. Not being within 18" is one of the restrictions of DoW deployment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:41:43
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Blue dagger nailed it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:42:19
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bzzzt, wrong. Or rather, overly broad statement that is incorrect when applied to the OP situation.
Not being within 18" is one of the restrictions ON THE PLAYER GOING SECOND in DoW deployment.
If you go first you may place your models ANYWHERE within your half, that is a legal deployment. If you are "redeploying" after going first you follow your rules - whcih allows you to redeploy anywhere on your half of the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:43:16
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Actually I think Eldrads wording says must be placed in your deployment zone. Your deployment zone is one half the board.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:44:55
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
BlueDagger wrote:It is illegal to place them there. The wording of Eldrad's rule is "redeploy" therefor you have to follow the restriction of deployment. Not being within 18" is one of the restrictions of DoW deployment.
Actually it just says "reposition" NOT "redeploy". Additionally the units may not be moved outside of the deployment zone.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:45:31
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
"No unit may be moved outside of its deployment zone" is the text in Eldrad's rule.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 14:56:40
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
To answer the OP's question, No, and here is why. Pg 11 of the BGB states that you cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting. I would argue you can reposition your models to be as close as possible, but they would still have to remain at least 1" away.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/07 14:59:33
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 17:41:58
Subject: Re:Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
whoa...
good discussion ya'll.
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 17:58:10
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Happyjew wrote:To answer the OP's question, No, and here is why. Pg 11 of the BGB states that you cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting. I would argue you can reposition your models to be as close as possible, but they would still have to remain at least 1" away.
The OP does specifically state "within an inch", so your point is moot.
Using Dark Eldar with Malys as an example, the situation is thus: Dark Eldar player goes first. Deploys their army, of which one unit is a unit of Incubi - which is deployed (for the sake of this example) near the back of the DE deployment zone.
The second player deploys, and deploys, say, a squad of tactical marines right against their deployment border, in the middle of the table.
After this, Dark Eldar player rolls to redeploy, and consequently redeploys the unit of Incubi right in front of the tactical marines (1" away). This effectively allows them to immediately engage the tactical marine squad without any hassle at all.
The reason why, RaW, this is legal, is that the restriction to deploy 18" away from enemy models is only specifically applied to the player going second.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/07 17:58:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 18:00:54
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Good thing incubi can't be deployed in DoW then!
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 18:02:39
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
lledwey wrote:Good thing incubi can't be deployed in DoW then! 
Whups!
Replace Incubi with Wytches / Wracks / Hellions
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/07 18:04:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 18:04:07
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Haha, but yeah, this would be a very sneaky trick, although it should only work once against an opponent. Surely after that they'll expect it and deploy further back!
|
DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+
2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/07 19:21:31
Subject: Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:To answer the OP's question, No, and here is why. Pg 11 of the BGB states that you cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting. I would argue you can reposition your models to be as close as possible, but they would still have to remain at least 1" away.
Actually deployment is NOT moving. You place models when deploying, not move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 20:21:29
Subject: Re:Eldrad and Lady Malys' Redeploy question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This topic came up in ard-boyz practice before they changed mission 1. As Eldar Dark or Craftworld in first turn could kill the messenger quickly even with DoW and get that first turn assault or mind war. Mission rules have changed to pitched battle and no night fighting. Redeploy is still going to be nasty if you want to keep that messenger alive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|