Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 18:31:29
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
Close to Maddness, Far from Safe
|
Just a quick one here, it says, and I quote: Whilst Calgar is on the field any units with combat tactics can choose weather to pass or fail any moral tests required of them.
So my question is: does this count if Calgar is in tank or does he have to disembark to have his army to gain this effect?
|
Check out my little ork story I am working on here!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/632365.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 18:39:01
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can't think of anther case where being in a tank blocks that type of army wide ability, so I'd say they get it.
If it was an aura with a range or something, we MIGHT have something to argue about, but armywide abilities tend to work from in tanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 18:40:38
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
An aura with a range would still work in a vehicle.
A more interesting question - since "on the field" is not necessarily synonymous with "on the table", does it work while he's in reserve?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 18:43:57
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Scott-S6 wrote:An aura with a range would still work in a vehicle.
A more interesting question - since "on the field" is not necessarily synonymous with "on the table", does it work while he's in reserve?
That one is a can of worms, since GW has ruled on abilities like this working in reserve via coin flip for the past several years. In a couple cases, different armies abilities with nearly identical wording have had different answers.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/09 18:45:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 18:56:10
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
Close to Maddness, Far from Safe
|
No definite answer then, still I think it'll be resealable to assume it will work while in tank so I go with that for now and will post later if I find out different.
thanks anyway.
|
Check out my little ork story I am working on here!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/632365.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 19:02:30
Subject: Re:Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
It definitely works while he is in a transport.
And, I'd say it doesn't work while he is in reserves.
By the way, the rule I'm looking at says "Whilst Calgar is on the table". Is my copy different, or did the OP misquote?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 19:29:01
Subject: Re:Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Cowboy Wannabe
London
|
Grakmar you are correct. It says "when on the table".
So while it can be used if he is in a transport, it cannot be used while he is in reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 20:30:55
Subject: Re:Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jangustus wrote:Grakmar you are correct. It says "when on the table".
So while it can be used if he is in a transport, it cannot be used while he is in reserves.
Except "on the table" is not a BRB defined term.
As long as calgar is on the table his ability would work, even if he is in reserve, but on the table.
The RAW is cloudy though.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 20:52:32
Subject: Re:Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Jangustus wrote:Grakmar you are correct. It says "when on the table".
So OP "quoted" and then paraphrased? Man, I hate that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 21:01:27
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
It really should say 'so long as he has not been removed as a casualty' or something along those lines. But I believe most people play that so long as he hasn't been 'killed' you get the benefit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 22:00:22
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
Close to Maddness, Far from Safe
|
Oops, my bad, I was looking at my rulebook and still misquoted, sorry. so, is it still believed ok to use his ability in transport?
|
Check out my little ork story I am working on here!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/632365.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/09 22:32:00
Subject: Question about Marneus Calgar's ability.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yes, if he is riding in a transport, you are able to use his God of war Ability.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|