| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 15:27:34
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi.
Im starting an imperial guard army but i have a question to you imperial guard players out there.
Its about the special rule where they give orders. Infantry unit that was succesfull in reseaving orders and acts on it, does it count as a free action???? meaning they can shoot normally after?
Allso can i give orders to the same unit twice on the same turn?
thx.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 15:48:59
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
They cannot do anything in the that shooting phase if they executed an order.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/10 15:49:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 15:52:44
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
no its not a free action, no once recieved they must immediately fire (for shooting orders)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 16:57:55
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Alright so they take orders in shooting phase and use that as their action if thats what you want.
But orders taken is only once per squard? and if they fail can you send another order to the same squard?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 17:35:06
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Once the squad takes an order. In cannot do anything else that shooting phase. If the squad fails the orders test it acts normally, as for the officer, as long as the officer still has order he can give and the last squad didn't roll a 12, the same order can be issued to a different squad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:17:45
Subject: Re:To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for clearing that up, but I still have a few quastions. When I make a platoon that consists of 2 squards and 2 heavy weapons team and a command squard are they alle inderpentant of one another? or do they need to be near on another all the time? really unsure how that setup works since I use army builder.
Second thing is If i dedicate a stransport to a commander can he still issue orders while inside it?
lastly a platoon with 2 squards, 2 heavy weapons team and a command squard are they all able to hold objectives as they are troop choice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:22:39
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
They count as one unit for the FoC slot, but operate independently and each give kps.
As long as the transport has the mobile command vehicle rule, it the commander can issue order from it.
And yes any troop unit can take objectives.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:25:00
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Acekevin - no, please be careful with nomenclature here.
Each member of a Platoon is an INDIVIDUAL UNIT but they count as one *CHOICE* on the force organisation chart
You can issue orders FROM a Chimera, but not to a squad in ANY vehicle - including yourself while you're inside the vehicle.
Any troop, non-vehicle unit can claim an objective
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:29:29
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Can you explain the difference between what you said and what I said, as I don't see it. Would it have been better if I said the whole platoon counts as a single FoC CHOICE but operate as individual units?
I also don't understand what you're saying about orders.
Officers can issue orders from the Chimera because it has the Mobile Command Vehicle rule. In the Grey Knights codex, their chimeras don't have this rule. So, the ability to issue orders is coming from the rule not the vehicle. From there, you have to follow the normal orders rules, ie you can't issue orders to vehicles.
Finally, I thought it was a given that vehicles never score, unless your GK with Grand Master.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/10 18:31:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:50:00
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
you used the word 'unit', which has certain connotations. All members of the same unit must maintain coherency, Force Org selection does not require that. And yes, your last statement would have been much better.
Right, vehicles cannot score unless they have a special rule that allows them to, ie GK strategy, DA bike squadron with Landspeeder. But never assume that whoever you are responding to will know that 'given'. Always better to be thorough.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:51:42
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
My apologies then. I have never played DA, can the really have a mixed unit of bikes and a speeder? That's a weird unit composition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:52:45
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
acekevin8412 wrote:Can you explain the difference between what you said and what I said, as I don't see it. Would it have been better if I said the whole platoon counts as a single FoC CHOICE but operate as individual units?
This matters in DoW where you deploy up to one HQ unit and two troop units. The way you originally worded the rule would mean that IG players would be able to field full platoons as their troop unit choice which is wrong.
I also don't understand what you're saying about orders.
Officers can issue orders from the Chimera because it has the Mobile Command Vehicle rule. In the Grey Knights codex, their chimeras don't have this rule. So, the ability to issue orders is coming from the rule not the vehicle. From there, you have to follow the normal orders rules, ie you can't issue orders to vehicles.
This is true, what Nos was clarifying is that the orders cannot be issued to a unit in a transport even to a unit that is in a transport with the Mobile Command Vehicle unit.
Finally, I thought it was a given that vehicles never score, unless your GK with Grand Master.
Transports carrying troops capable of holding an objective can score.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:56:00
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
acekevin8412 wrote:My apologies then. I have never played DA, can the really have a mixed unit of bikes and a speeder? That's a weird unit composition.
Their bike squadron can consist of 6 bikes, an attack bike and a landspeeder. The Attack Bike and Landspeeder always operate separately from the bikes and the way the rule is written makes the Landspeeder a scoring unit.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 18:58:41
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
I also don't understand what you're saying about orders.
Officers can issue orders from the Chimera because it has the Mobile Command Vehicle rule. In the Grey Knights codex, their chimeras don't have this rule. So, the ability to issue orders is coming from the rule not the vehicle. From there, you have to follow the normal orders rules, ie you can't issue orders to vehicles.
This is true, what Nos was clarifying is that the orders cannot be issued to a unit in a transport even to a unit that is in a transport with the Mobile Command Vehicle unit.
You're right, I never noticed that, I play AirCav, so I don't use Chimeras, but you are correct that an officer couldn't issue orders to units embarked in transports, himself included.
Finally, I thought it was a given that vehicles never score, unless your GK with Grand Master.
Transports carrying troops capable of holding an objective can score.
In that case, I feel it's the troops inside doing the scoring, not the transport. For example, if you took a dedicated transport for a troop choice. The transport only scores if it has a scoring unit in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 20:06:25
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
Panama City, FL
|
What he was saying was that you can't issue orders to vehicles ever, even if you have the MCV rule. All the MCV rule does is allow you to issue orders from inside it, nothing else. Orders are still issued like normal.
|
7500pts. 1750pts. 1500pts. 2000pts. 11000pts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 22:30:35
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So the platoon can split up? or does it need to be coherency with another squard of the same platton? from what I understand is every squard and heavy team is inderpendent from one another and one of you said all of them can be a scoreing unit if they originated from troop choice, or am I incorrect? sorry if these qeastion seem stupid but im so used to play with another army/faction some rules kinda go againts when its army setup.
Heavy weapon teams can allso score? since SM davistator squads cannot and they come from the heavy choice.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/10 22:31:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 22:51:23
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
Panama City, FL
|
Yes, the platoon can split up. They are taken as one troop choice on the FOC, but may be deployed anywhere allowed by special rules and/or mission parameters. They do not have to maintain the 2" unit coherency, as they are actually several separate units.
And anything taken as a troops choice counts as a scoring unit, including HWT's.
The only restrictions are:
1. It cannot be a vehicle(unless the vehicle has a unit of troops embarked in it).
2. If it has the swarm special rule.
3. If it has a special rule specifying that it never counts as a scoring unit.
BRB, p.90
Heavy weapon teams do count as scoring, but keep in mind that, like conscripts and special weapon teams, they can only be taken as part of an infantry platoon, and are limited in the amount you can take per platoon.
Each heavy weapon squad must still maintain unit coherency, but only to the bases in it's squad.
|
7500pts. 1750pts. 1500pts. 2000pts. 11000pts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/10 22:59:01
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ah thx alot man! that cleared up some things and usefull to know that heavy weapon teams must stay tired to the infantry squard they came from.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 01:44:33
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
Panama City, FL
|
No, sorry, I could have made that clearer.
The three heavy weapon bases are one squad, and they have to maintain unit coherency with each other, not an infantry squad.
And though they come as part of an infantry platoon, they can be deployed anywhere allowed.
Hope that's better.
|
7500pts. 1750pts. 1500pts. 2000pts. 11000pts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 01:51:09
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Heavy Weapon Team, a single base with one weapon and two infantry figures (using the current models). Under current rules it is a single model with two wounds.
Heavy Weapon Squad, three Heavy Weapons teams operating as a squad.
HWT can also be bought as part of an Infantry squad or a Veteran squad and must stay in coherency with the other models of the squad they are bought with.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 01:59:06
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Violent Enforcer
Panama City, FL
|
don_mondo wrote:Heavy Weapon Team, a single base with one weapon and two infantry figures (using the current models). Under current rules it is a single model with two wounds.
Heavy Weapon Squad, three Heavy Weapons teams operating as a squad.
HWT can also be bought as part of an Infantry squad or a Veteran squad and must stay in coherency with the other models of the squad they are bought with.
Exactly. I knew I missed something...
|
7500pts. 1750pts. 1500pts. 2000pts. 11000pts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 05:58:02
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thx again, my brain is vibrating because things are making sense now hehe.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
But my army builder wont let me make squards out of heavy teams only. but will let me make 1 heavy team part of a squard as an addon.
Also if an infantry squard that fails its leadership test does the heavy weapons team go along when falling back? nevermind think it does.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/11 06:12:34
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 09:32:01
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Squad, not "Squard"
If you have a single heavy weapon in your Infantry squad, that is part of the unit and moves if the unit moves, and falls back if the unit falls back - they are apart of the unit in all ways.
Army Builder, assuming youre using 3.x, will let you add heavy weapon SQUAD - you need to click on the Platoon entry and in the right hand pane you should have a star to add a heavy or special weapon team (etc)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 09:36:29
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
akkados wrote:Thx again, my brain is vibrating because things are making sense now hehe.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
But my army builder wont let me make squards out of heavy teams only. but will let me make 1 heavy team part of a squard as an addon.
Also if an infantry squard that fails its leadership test does the heavy weapons team go along when falling back? nevermind think it does.
How about you actually buy the codex rather than asking Dakka for all the rules in the book?
|
“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 10:19:31
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Corrode wrote:akkados wrote:Thx again, my brain is vibrating because things are making sense now hehe.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
But my army builder wont let me make squards out of heavy teams only. but will let me make 1 heavy team part of a squard as an addon.
Also if an infantry squard that fails its leadership test does the heavy weapons team go along when falling back? nevermind think it does.
How about you actually buy the codex rather than asking Dakka for all the rules in the book?
I do have the codex... relax and no im not lazy1 its just that some things are not intirely clear for me atleast, Im very greatfull for the responses apart from yours.
so please leave your grief at home.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
The only thing im even asking was about allowed or disallowed orders and troop movement or setup.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Btw thanks nosferatu1001!
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/09/11 10:23:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 10:38:34
Subject: To imperial guards
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
acekevin8412 wrote:My apologies then. I have never played DA, can the really have a mixed unit of bikes and a speeder? That's a weird unit composition.
No. They have a squad ( FOC choice) composed of bikes and a speeder but the bikes and speeders are separate units.
Unit is a game term with a very precise definition (P3) - you need to be more careful how you use it or it will interfere with your rules understanding (and confuse people reading your posts)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|