Switch Theme:

Blasts and Multi level troops  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Grovelin' Grot Rigger




Hiding behind his KFF

When shooting template weapons I know it only hits one level only even if more models are covered (3 Men top floor of ruins then 3 on ground, a blast template will only ever hit 3 even if it covers all 6) haven't got my book but i'm sure on that.

Question is blast template Vs Skimmers: If you shoot a blast vs a bunch of Space Marines who just got out of a Stormraven can the raven be hit as well? Sorry about asking this again as I know I read it somewhere on here ages ago but I can't find it.

If the raven counts as a different level is that the same for all skimmers? Dark Eldar transports? Jet Bikes? I'm just thinking anything on a raised base...

In the words of Archimedes, "Give me a long enough lever and a place to rest it... Or I will kill one hostage every hour!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The skimmer counts as being on whatever level the base is on. The fact that it's on a flying base is immaterial.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Assuming out in the open:

If you cover both the skimmer and the marines then both are hit, as the skimmer isnt a "ruin".
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Bristol

You could have marines underneath the storm raven though (ie, the area difference between the SR's shadow and its base) which would you hit then?

Armies: Crimson Fists, Orks, Eldar 
   
Made in gb
Grovelin' Grot Rigger




Hiding behind his KFF

CaptainJay wrote:You could have marines underneath the storm raven though (ie, the area difference between the SR's shadow and its base) which would you hit then?


I think this sums up the argument that was made for skimmers being a different level, someone mentioned a FAQ but no proof to back it up. *shrug*

In the words of Archimedes, "Give me a long enough lever and a place to rest it... Or I will kill one hostage every hour!" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




CaptainJay wrote:You could have marines underneath the storm raven though (ie, the area difference between the SR's shadow and its base) which would you hit then?


Both, as both fulfill the rules for being hit by a blast marker.

there is NO rules support, anywhere, for treating skimmers as pseudo-ruins wrt blast and template weapons. None at all.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Philadelphia

CaptainJay wrote:You could have marines underneath the storm raven though (ie, the area difference between the SR's shadow and its base) which would you hit then?


No you can't. Models can't pass through openings smaller than their base, and they can't be placed on other units bases. Therefore you couldn't have the marines underneath the SR as that would be on its base (excepting the small part that hangs over).

 
   
Made in gb
Waaagh! Warbiker



wales

PraetorDave wrote:
CaptainJay wrote:You could have marines underneath the storm raven though (ie, the area difference between the SR's shadow and its base) which would you hit then?


No you can't. Models can't pass through openings smaller than their base, and they can't be placed on other units bases. Therefore you couldn't have the marines underneath the SR as that would be on its base (excepting the small part that hangs over).


yes but storm ravens valkires and vendetas count as vehicles for all purposes apart from embarking and disembarking so you could hit the over hanging parts that are obviously chassis and hit the marines/guard under neath.

currently playing dropzone commander, battlegroup and gorkamorka  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: