Switch Theme:

Two Questions about Wolf Lords  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon




Ok so I wanted to create an army including wolf lords and here are my questions:

1. Are frost blades different from frost axes in terms of fielding the same lord twice, just 1 with a frost blade and one with a frost axe?
2. Does Mark of the Wolfren apply to Lords trying to hit vehicles that moved or moved flat out?

All help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster




Fredericton, NB

1. Frost Blade and Frost Axe are the same peice of wargear

2. MOTW as in D6+1 rending attacks is always used no matter what you attack. So yes you use it to attack vehicles...but i have no idea what that has to do with their rate of movement


Automatically Appended Next Post:
1. Frost Blade and Frost Axe are the same peice of wargear

2. MOTW as in D6+1 rending attacks is always used no matter what you attack. So yes you use it to attack vehicles...but i have no idea what that has to do with their rate of movement

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/14 00:13:27


Know thy self. Everything follows this.
 
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer





Massachusetts

beat me to it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/14 00:18:39


2500pt
2000pt
3000pt 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





MoW is useless on wolf lords unless you are playing fluff lists. Chances are you will get less attacks with the MoW then yiu would with the lord's base attacks.

Also can't combine the bonus from frost blades with MoW if that was your intention.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon




Oh wow. Thanks for the answers to the first question and the responces. But I made a hugely stupid mistake. I meant the Wolftooth Necklace that lets you hit on 3+ regardless of WS, no the MoW. Yeah so sorry and any answers to this new, I think a little more unclear, question are as always appreciated.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/14 03:47:42


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rivers64 wrote:Oh wow. Thanks for the answers to the first question and the responces. But I made a hugely stupid mistake. I meant the Wolftooth Necklace that lets you hit on 3+ regardless of WS, no the MoW. Yeah so sorry and any answers to this new, I think a little more unclear, question are as always appreciated.


The vehicle would need to have a weapon skill for the Wolftooth Necklace to work.

Against most vehicles (The ones that do not have a weapon skill) the Wolftooth Necklace is useless.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon




But the exact wording never states that the target needs a WS for the Wolftooth Necklace to come into effect. It only says regardless of weapon skill. This could just be giving an example of a rule it overrides, the bottom line still is that it says in all combats you only need a 3+ to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/14 03:53:08


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

rivers64 wrote:But the exact wording never states that the target needs a WS for the Wolftooth Necklace to come into effect. It only says regardless of weapon skill. This could just be giving an example of a rule it overrides, the bottom line still is that it says in all combats you only need a 3+ to hit.


From GW's FAQ

Page 62 – Wolftooth Necklace
Replace the last sentence with “Against models with a WS
value, a model with a wolftooth necklace always hits in
close combat on the roll of a 3+.”

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





The FAQ specifically addresses this by printing an errata that states it only works against models with a WS.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon




Ah thank you very much.
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




ok questoin based on what has been said...
do you need a 6 to place a melta bomb on a Dread ifyou have a wolf tooth neckless?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

arch1angel wrote:ok questoin based on what has been said...
do you need a 6 to place a melta bomb on a Dread ifyou have a wolf tooth neckless?


Some say yes, because the grenade rules are more specific.

Some say no, and claim the WTN will always hit on a 3+ against a model with a Weapon Skill.

And it has been debated to death here, so discuss it with your opponent pre-game.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above.

I'm of the grenade rules being more specific idea, but its up for debate.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:As above.

I'm of the grenade rules being more specific idea, but its up for debate.


I am as well, The Grenade rules are more specific than the WTN, but some people do not see it that way.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: