Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/15 15:46:44
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If i were to have these units:
10x Strike Squad: 2x Psycannon – 220
---Rhino – 40
I then could combat squad them and have 5 footsloggers, then 5 in the rhino.......
but can i had the 2 with psycannons both in the rhino?
i think its a yes but i just wanted to make sure...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/15 15:55:15
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
The only stipulation for combat squad is you put half in each, you can put psycannons wherever you wish. I do something similar with my paladins to get 4 psycannons footslogging while the assault half rides in the raider.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/15 15:55:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/15 15:55:46
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yes, as a Rhino has 2 Firepoints
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/15 19:08:55
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Yes, as a Rhino has 2 Firepoints 1 point, just that 2 models can fire out. It is top hatch, not hatches. Also it is the big rectangular hatch, not either of the copulas. Also the number of fire points/models has no bearing on whether a combat squaded unit can start in(or even have) a rhino(they can, to both; but they cannot both start, or be in together, their rhino)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/15 19:13:21
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/15 19:57:25
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Also it is the big rectangular hatch, not either of the copulas.
To be clear, it just says top hatch.
and since hatches are not defined, you can use any of the top hatches RAW.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:09:46
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except a Cupola is not a hatch. So no, you can only use the actual hatch on the back.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:15:55
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
I thought a cupola by definition was a hatch, a specific type of hatch.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:28:37
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Apparently not in English, outside of American.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 18:28:48
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:35:29
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
So people who play in America can shoot from the front and everyone else has to shoot from the back?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:42:39
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
No, because the rules are written in English, not American. Editing to add: The same reason that "dice" can be singular, and a slew of other such anomolies.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 18:43:16
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:47:58
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
I was saying it more as a joke, but yea I see what ya mean.
Also brings up the question of how many things are played wrong in America based on different definitions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:50:47
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
I have found it to be a surprisingly large list. Editing to add: For example, "Majority" includes "Plurality" in English, whereas Americans see them as potentially different.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/16 20:01:11
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 19:15:13
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
In the US, majority absolutely does mean larger than 50%. Plurality doesn't.
Also, I'm told, "million", "billion", etc mean a different thing to brits than to Americans.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 19:22:44
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Sir_Prometheus wrote:In the US, majority absolutely does mean larger than 50%. Plurality doesn't.
Also, I'm told, "million", "billion", etc mean a different thing to brits than to Americans.
Oh that ... Billion used to be a million million and trillion used to be a million million million
(1,000,000,000,000) Million Million or old Nrit Billion
(1,000,000,000,000,000,000) Million Million Million or old Brit Trillion
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 19:31:40
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Except a Cupola is not a hatch. So no, you can only use the actual hatch on the back. Except that a cupola is not what rhinos have on the front. Cupolas are small domed hatches that appear above gun turrets on tanks. With that said, a Cupola is still a Hatch. So yes, you can use any of the three hatches on the rhino.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 19:32:12
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:31:47
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
....to an American. The game is not written in American, but English.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:31:48
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
DeathReaper wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Except a Cupola is not a hatch. So no, you can only use the actual hatch on the back.
Except that a cupola is not what rhinos have on the front.
Cupolas are small domed hatches that appear above gun turrets on tanks.
With that said, a Cupola is still a Hatch. So yes, you can use any of the three hatches on the rhino.
That is only 1 small usage of the term "cupola" the us M1a1 Abrams, for example, has 2; 1 on the turret, and 1 above the drivers compartment.
At any rate, does a razorback have a "hatch" that can be fired from?
No.
Does the razorback have the same 2 foreward cupolas(or access hatches)?
Yes.
Does the Razorback have the large rear troop compartment Hatch?
No.
Does the rhino have the large rear troop compartment Hatch?
Yes.
Which Hatch can be fired from by embarked troops on the rhino then?
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:40:41
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Any of the top hatches on the rhino. As per the rules. Rules for the razorback /= rules for the rhino. and the two forward hatches are just that, hatches. so you can fire from any of them as per the rhino's rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 21:41:31
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:43:21
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...if you're american. Not if youre English
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:44:36
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Under the standard English (Not American) definition the forward hatches on a rhino are not Cupolas, well one is because there is a storm bolter mounted there, since Cupolas are gun turrets. The other access point on the front of the rhino is not a cupola, since it is an access hatch, and not a gun turret, unless you take the additional storm bolter upgrade. So either the big hatch in the back or the small hatch in the front adjacent to the storm bolter cupola can be fired from.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/16 21:51:41
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 21:55:21
Subject: Re:GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Unless you pay for an extra stormbolter.
Meaning "the top hatch", singular, can only ever be the actual top hatch. Nothing else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 22:04:38
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except if you only have one storm bolter, there are two top hatches.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 22:10:14
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Now I am confused where cuploa matters since people are now talking about hatches.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 22:24:45
Subject: GK Combat Squading
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Kir, Nos said: nosferatu1001 wrote:Except a Cupola is not a hatch. So no, you can only use the actual hatch on the back.
A Cupola in English Standard is a gun turret and not a hatch, however the Rhino has one Cupola (For the storm bolter) and one access hatch in the front, and one rear hatch. If you purchase the second storm bolter upgrade, you now have one rear hatch and two front cupolas.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/09/16 22:25:56
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|