Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 02:42:00
Subject: Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If I ram an enemy vehicle with a transport, and my transport is destroyed, what happens to the squad inside? What if it's a skimmer and it moved flat out? If the enemy vehicle was in difficult terrain, but I passed the difficult terrain test, does that have any bearing on the fate of the squad?
On a related note, if I declare a ram with a skimmer on an enemy vehicle in difficult terrain, and I fail the test, do I still resolve the ram hit? Or do I just immobilize/wreck myself just touching the enemy vehicle?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 02:42:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 02:58:53
Subject: Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The FaQ answers your question: Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in the same turn as it moved flat out what happens to any embarked models? (p70) A: They are removed as casualties you can ram, and as long as you do not move flat out, your embarked unit can disembark as normal. (The following is not really covered in the rules, so this is my attempt at the best way to play it.) If you declare a ram with a skimmer on an enemy vehicle in difficult terrain, I would say since you are in contact with the vehicle and the terrain when you land you would resolve the ram as normal, but then you are immobilized. Unless you moved flat out then you are just wrecked, since you halt immediately and are wrecked.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/16 03:01:50
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 03:04:31
Subject: Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Agreed DR, and as to the Skimmer and DT, remember you take the DT when you start or stop in terrain for skimmers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 03:31:09
Subject: Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The idea being that if I ram, it's still undecided where I stop, so I should resolve the ram and then worry about terrain?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 05:01:33
Subject: Re:Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Depends on if you hit the terrain first or the other vehicle first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 05:55:30
Subject: Re:Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Nungunz wrote:Depends on if you hit the terrain first or the other vehicle first.
Unless you are ramming with a skimmer, since terrain only effects them if they start or end their turn in it.
So with a skimmer, if you ram a vehicle that is sitting in terrain, you resolve the ram first, then take the terrain test IF your vehicle ends its movement in that terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 13:36:44
Subject: Re:Ramming With Transports and Skimmers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
omerakk wrote:Nungunz wrote:Depends on if you hit the terrain first or the other vehicle first.
Unless you are ramming with a skimmer, since terrain only effects them if they start or end their turn in it.
So with a skimmer, if you ram a vehicle that is sitting in terrain, you resolve the ram first, then take the terrain test IF your vehicle ends its movement in that terrain.
Agreed. Your skimmer always has the chance to destroy the vehicle you're ramming and to continue on and clear the DT, meaning you never need to take a dangerous terrain check.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|