Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 02:44:37
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can I start a unit in reserve while deploying its dedicated transport (or vice versa)? How does this interact with Dawn of War deployment?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 02:54:08
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You can deploy a dedicated transport, which is a unit, whilst keeping the unit it was bought for in reserve For Dawn of war you can deploy up to 1 HQ and up two 2 Troops units. Remember that a unit of infantry and their transport are two separate units at all times.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 02:54:52
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 03:12:13
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hmmm.
In Dawn of War, can I deploy two dedicated transports (bought for Troops) without deploying the units inside?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 03:20:56
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That is correct. In fact, if you deploy two dedicated transports, you can't deploy the units inside. Remember the definition of "Unit" and Unit types on P. 3-4 Dawn of War lets you deploy up to two troop units. so you can deploy a unit of infantry and its dedicated transport as your two units. Or you can deploy two dedicated transports and nothing else, since each dedicated transport is a unit of one vehicle.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 03:22:01
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 03:26:17
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Which is awesome for orks btw ..
Deploy 2 tooled up battlewagons, and a kff mek next to them
Well i like it, anyway..
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 06:44:52
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Ascalam wrote:Which is awesome for orks btw ..
Deploy 2 tooled up battlewagons, and a kff mek next to them
Well i like it, anyway.. 
Can't do that.
Only way for a battlewagon as a troop transport is for nobz units; and the only way for 2 Nobz obs to be troops is if you have 2 Warbosses, which leaves no room for a KFF Big Mek(in standard missions, Standard codex)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 06:54:35
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Aaaand this is why i need to drink more caffiene...
You're right.
Substitute one battlewagon for a Deff Dredd
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 06:54:50
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
|
Where does is state that Dedicated Transports are considered troops if they are taken for a troops choice? I can't find that anywhere in the rulebook or in the FAQ. Automatically Appended Next Post: Nevermind.... I just found it.
So all this time I've been seeing people play Dawn of War wrong... everyone I've seen play it deplor two troops, two dedicated transports, and an HQ. Hmmm I've never realised this...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 07:00:51
40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 11:34:17
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Ascalam wrote:Aaaand this is why i need to drink more caffiene...
You're right.
Substitute one battlewagon for a Deff Dredd 
one warboss, one big mek, One unit of nobs as troop and their dedicated battle wagon = One unit of Nobs in a battle wagon with a kustom force field ready to have some fun
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 12:00:02
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
It also equals two HQ units, which would be illegal in DoW...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 12:45:24
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
insaniak wrote:It also equals two HQ units, which would be illegal in DoW...
never said you deploy him. He's need to make the Nobs troop and should field with another unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 13:47:59
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Thaanos wrote:So all this time I've been seeing people play Dawn of War wrong... everyone I've seen play it deplor two troops, two dedicated transports, and an HQ. Hmmm I've never realised this...
Also, watch out for some armies HQ choices. Often times, players will deploy their HQ and the HQ "bodyguard" unit. That's technically 2 HQ choices and isn't allowed.
Examples:
Farseer and Warlocks
BA HQ and Honor Guard
I'm not clear about Hive Tyrant plus Tyrant Guard. They can be two units, but if you join them, they're only a single unit, much like a retinue. Anyone got an answer on this?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 14:02:44
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Grakmar wrote:I'm not clear about Hive Tyrant plus Tyrant Guard. They can be two units, but if you join them, they're only a single unit, much like a retinue. Anyone got an answer on this?
Tyrant is one unit that can join to tyrant guard units. So two units. Retinues on the other hand (rare thing to see these days) count as a single unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 14:03:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 17:55:43
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tri wrote:Grakmar wrote:I'm not clear about Hive Tyrant plus Tyrant Guard. They can be two units, but if you join them, they're only a single unit, much like a retinue. Anyone got an answer on this?
Tyrant is one unit that can join to tyrant guard units. So two units.
Retinues on the other hand (rare thing to see these days) count as a single unit.
However at the end of deployment it is a SINGLE unit, not at all like a retinue - as the HT is never ever ever ever an IC.
So you can deploy a HT+ TG as a single unit, but not as two separate units
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:47:45
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Tri wrote:Grakmar wrote:I'm not clear about Hive Tyrant plus Tyrant Guard. They can be two units, but if you join them, they're only a single unit, much like a retinue. Anyone got an answer on this?
Tyrant is one unit that can join to tyrant guard units. So two units. Retinues on the other hand (rare thing to see these days) count as a single unit. However at the end of deployment it is a SINGLE unit, not at all like a retinue - as the HT is never ever ever ever an IC. So you can deploy a HT+ TG as a single unit, but not as two separate units
??????? Slightly confused by you post nos ... Tyrant is a unit and tyrant guard is another unit. It's the same as deploying two troop choices and attached character and saying that they don't count as they are part of the troop unit. You can have a tyrant or tyrant guard not both.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 18:48:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 18:49:30
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
I have regularly put a Tyrant + Guard as a single HQ unit in DoW.
I have since come to the conclusion this is illegal.
I feel like a dirty cheater.
/cry
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/16 19:07:23
Subject: Dedicated Transports and Reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yeah - the TG are a separate unit that the Tyrant can join kind of like an IC (but is not required to) - but if he joints he can't leave, etc. Since they're 2 units, you can't deploy them both in DoW.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|