Switch Theme:

Eldar guide : can you guide a fireprism's blast  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Just what the title says, can you guide a fireprism's blast, or are you limited to the G weapons the eldar have only?

Did I miss a FAQ? since in 4th ed. blasts didnt scatter.. the blast just hit or it missed. Did eldar guide get hosed with the 5th ed.?

   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






The fire prism's weapon is a blast weapon. Guide allows you to re-roll failed rolls to hit. In the BRB, it states that blast weapons with re-rolls, must re-roll both the scatter die, and the 2d6 for distance if it misses. So, if you choose to guide a fire prism, it would re-roll both the scatter die, and the distance dice if the scatter die rolls a miss.

DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++


 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

It's just useless to guide two or more prisms where they are combining (because linking fire makes it a twin-linked shot, and you wouldn't be able to get another re-roll on top of that from Guide.)


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







chromedog wrote:It's just useless to guide two or more prisms where they are combining (because linking fire makes it a twin-linked shot, and you wouldn't be able to get another re-roll on top of that from Guide.)

yep better to doom the target.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Also, it's important to note that Guide does not cause the weapons to be TL. It only re-rolls misses. So, any template weapons that get Guided get no benefit.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Grakmar wrote:Also, it's important to note that Guide does not cause the weapons to be TL. It only re-rolls misses. So, any template weapons that get Guided get no benefit.
... never noticed that it only mentions guess range weapons ... Meh its a left over from 4th i guess, as you blast used to roll to hit and not scatter. If I was to guess they would FAQ that blasts reroll scatter but till they do RAW blast weapons (that are not guess range) don't benefit from guide.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Tri wrote:
Grakmar wrote:Also, it's important to note that Guide does not cause the weapons to be TL. It only re-rolls misses. So, any template weapons that get Guided get no benefit.
... never noticed that it only mentions guess range weapons ... Meh its a left over from 4th i guess, as you blast used to roll to hit and not scatter. If I was to guess they would FAQ that blasts reroll scatter but till they do RAW blast weapons (that are not guess range) don't benefit from guide.


Guide certainly does work for any blast weapon. Guide lets you re-roll any failed to hits. If you roll the scatter die and don't get one of the 2 Hit symbols, you've failed to hit and can re-roll.

It's just template weapons that guide does nothing for.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Grakmar wrote:
Tri wrote:
Grakmar wrote:Also, it's important to note that Guide does not cause the weapons to be TL. It only re-rolls misses. So, any template weapons that get Guided get no benefit.
... never noticed that it only mentions guess range weapons ... Meh its a left over from 4th i guess, as you blast used to roll to hit and not scatter. If I was to guess they would FAQ that blasts reroll scatter but till they do RAW blast weapons (that are not guess range) don't benefit from guide.


Guide certainly does work for any blast weapon. Guide lets you re-roll any failed to hits. If you roll the scatter die and don't get one of the 2 Hit symbols, you've failed to hit and can re-roll.

It's just template weapons that guide does nothing for.
Interesting but what counts as a miss? Not rolling a hit on the dice is not always a miss ... If you hit a single model is that not a hit? but then what if the models are your own?

Still I'm thankful that this has never been an issue in a game simply played it the same as TL
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Tri wrote: Interesting but what counts as a miss? Not rolling a hit on the dice is not always a miss ... If you hit a single model is that not a hit? but then what if the models are your own?

Still I'm thankful that this has never been an issue in a game simply played it the same as TL

Guide doesn't care about misses. It only cares about fails to hit. The scatter die has 2 faces defined as hits. So, if you don't roll one of those, you must re-roll scatter (even if you ended up scattering zero inches).

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in se
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant



Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex

It simply says you may re-roll the scatter die. It says nothing about the need to roll anything specific to allow the re-roll.

A TL-template weapon would re-roll to wound. Guide does not TL merley allows re-rolling misses. Blast marker =/= template

I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Just to set the record straight on this.

- Yes you may guide a Fire Prims to gain a reroll to hit. THis is very useful for Eldrad and 2 prisms.

- Yes guide allows you to reroll the Scatter Die AND the 2D6 (you can't just reroll one or the other)

- If the scatter die is not a "hit", then you did not roll a hit and may reroll, but you are not FORCED to reroll as the wording is "may".

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Question:

"When firing blast weapons, models do not roll to hit" and yet you can re-roll to hit rolls with blast weapons because the "unit re-rolls any failed to hit rolls"?

I think I am missing something.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





kirsanth wrote:Question:

"When firing blast weapons, models do not roll to hit" and yet you can re-roll to hit rolls with blast weapons because the "unit re-rolls any failed to hit rolls"?

I think I am missing something.


Exactly my line of thinking too. The whole thing is confusing. Now comon sense would say. It was allowed without question in 4th edition because blasts you just placed the template and rolled to hit using the BS of the firer. If you didn't roll high enough you simply missed and guide would allow a reroll. The second part about guess ranged weapons allowed for a reroll of the scatter dice because guess weapons and ordinance scattered much like they do now. (except for the distance part, BS vs 1 or 2 dice) .


Now jump forward to 5th ed. Blasts wording has changed. "When firing blast weapons, models do not roll to hit ,instead just pick one enemy model visible to the firer and place the blast marker" but later goes on to say........

"In these cases hits are worked out as normal, and can hit units out of range and sight"

"all models whose bases are completely or partially covered by the blast marker are hit"

"Once the number of hits inflicted on the unit have been worked out, the firer rolls to wound as normal"

Then theres the whole thing about the scatter die having a HIT symbol on it as well....

....... yet you are rolling to hit.. thanks GW for the sloppy writing..



   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







So basically blasts (non-guess range any way) can reroll failed to hit rolls, so if anything is hit (friend or foe) then something has been hit and you cannot reroll. Except there isn't a roll to hit ... meh sloppy GW writting again .... I feel that no ones going to be playing that way and just keep treating it like TL.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/16 20:21:13


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Dallas Texas

If Its guided you re-roll the scatter.

5000+ pts. Eldar 2500pts
"The only thing that match's the Eldar's firepower, is their arrogance".
8th General at Alamo GT 2011.
Tied 2nd General Alamo GT 2012
Top General Lower Bracket Railhead 2011
Top General Railhead 2012
# of Local Tournaments Won: 4
28-9-1 In Tournaments As Eldar.
Maintained a 75% Win Ratio As Eldar in 5th Edition GT's.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

BRB Page 30 under the title "Blast weapons and re-rolls"

"If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after a firing a blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6."

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Avatar 720 wrote:BRB Page 30 under the title "Blast weapons and re-rolls"

"If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after a firing a blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6."


^^^This^^^

Which is basically what I said earlier in the thread without quoting the rule directly.

DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Avatar 720 wrote:BRB Page 30 under the title "Blast weapons and re-rolls"

"If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit and chooses to do so after a firing a blast weapon, the player must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6."
Thank you, I knew I was missing something.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: