Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 16:29:35
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
This came up at a game last week. The general FAQ says psychic shooting attacks require a BS test to hit but murderous hurricane specifically states you get 3d6 HITS while Jaws states models touched by its line simply take the initiative test. The PSA BS test seems pretty intuitive regarding powers with weapon-like profiles (like Fury of the Wolf Spirits) but there was a discussion as to how it affects these two powers as their rules ignore most of the usual ones.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 16:32:24
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If you would have searched you would have found multiple threads involving JoTWW needed to hit. There are 2 sides to it, just check with your TO or opponent beforehand for JoTWW.
However MH needs to hit with the 3d6 shots to do d3 ap- dmg, however he does not need to hit/wound etc to make them treat all terrain even clear both difficult and dangerous. ( he doesnt even have to be within range)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 16:35:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 16:33:55
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Oh god, not this again.
-dives for cover-
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 17:59:46
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
<text redacted; even if you are trying for sarcasm, Rule #1 applies. --Janthkin>
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/09/20 18:11:05
"Use the Force, Harry." -Gandalf
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:14:01
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
the answer to both questions is yes, you have to roll to hit. with jaws, you only have to roll to hit the first guy. its in the FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:49:02
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I would say that Murderous Hurricane doesn't roll to hit because it says you inflict 3D6 hits
This circumvents the general rule that PSAs all roll to hit.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:51:12
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Grey Templar wrote:I would say that Murderous Hurricane doesn't roll to hit because it says you inflict 3D6 hits
This circumvents the general rule that PSAs all roll to hit.
I'm looking in my Rule book for Murderous Hurricane ... fail
GW FAQ'd what happens if MH misses though
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 20:08:09
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Here we go again. This question has been asked, argued, debated, screamed over, and thread locked 3-4 times already. If it hasn't been faq'd yet, your best bet is probably to roll off in friendly games, and ask the the guy in charge during tournament play. Automatically Appended Next Post: However, to be more helpful:
GW Space Wolf faq
Q. Does Murderous Hurricane require the power to hit or
wound its target to affect them? (p37)
A. No, a targeted unit is affected by Murderous Hurricane
even if the power fails to hit or wound.
also
Q. Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of sight?
Does it ignore terrain that blocks line of sight (i.e.,
impassable terrain)? (p37)
A. As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World Wolf
requires line of sight. The Rune Priest must have line of
sight to the first model that the power affects – in effect he
is treated as the target mode; the power just happens to
hit everybody else on its way through! (I added the bold)
Looking at these faq's, I would say definitely no for having to roll for MH, and probably yes for rolling to hit for JoTWW.
Having said that, excuse me while I run away from the coming rules debate  .
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 20:23:47
The Emperor Protects
_______________________________________
Inquisitorial lesson #298: Why to Hate Choas Gods, cont'd-
With Chaos, Tzeench would probably turn your hands, feet and face into
scrotums, complete with appropriate nerve endings. Then Khorne would
force you and all your friends to fight to the death using your new
scrotal appendages. Once they get tired of that, you get tossed to
Slaanesh who <censored by order of the Inquisition>, until you finally
end up in Nurgle's clutches and he uses you as a loofah. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 22:50:16
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Phiasco II wrote:Having said that, excuse me while I run away from the coming rules debate  .
You can't use my hiding place....I found it first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 22:52:27
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet
|
Oh boy this should be fun.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 23:13:17
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
Nungunz wrote:Phiasco II wrote:Having said that, excuse me while I run away from the coming rules debate  .
You can't use my hiding place....I found it first.
Darn it! In that case, let me re-utter the immortal words of Michael J Caboose...
"oh crap oh crap oh crap, running running running!"
|
The Emperor Protects
_______________________________________
Inquisitorial lesson #298: Why to Hate Choas Gods, cont'd-
With Chaos, Tzeench would probably turn your hands, feet and face into
scrotums, complete with appropriate nerve endings. Then Khorne would
force you and all your friends to fight to the death using your new
scrotal appendages. Once they get tired of that, you get tossed to
Slaanesh who <censored by order of the Inquisition>, until you finally
end up in Nurgle's clutches and he uses you as a loofah. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 23:18:15
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW Space Wolf faq
Q. Does Murderous Hurricane require the power to hit or
wound its target to affect them? (p37)
A. No, a targeted unit is affected by Murderous Hurricane
even if the power fails to hit or wound.
If the power can fail to hit then a to hit roll is required.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/21 00:03:51
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
What would be the point of rolling? The unit is affected whether the hit roll hits or misses.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/21 00:15:52
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If it's hit it takes 3D6 Str3Ap- Hits, and treats all terrain even clear, as difficult and dangerous
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/21 00:59:48
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
And if it misses the target unit suffers the same effect. So why bother with the roll in the first place?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/21 03:42:56
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:And if it misses the target unit suffers the same effect. So why bother with the roll in the first place?
No if it misses it does not suffer the same effect.
If the power hits the unit takes 3D6 Str3Ap- Hits, and treats all terrain even clear, as difficult and dangerous.
If the power misses the unit only suffers from the "treats all terrain even clear, as difficult and dangerous" effect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/21 04:15:53
Subject: Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Yes/No.
Search and find which argument you like best, discuss with your opponent beforehand, and/or ask you TO before the tournament.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 00:41:28
Subject: Re:Do Jaws and Murderous Hurricane require a BS test to hit?
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
My interpretation is this:
1. With Jaws, you have to roll a "to hit" die, but the result doesn't matter because it takes effect either way
2. With Murderous Hurricane, you have to roll to see if you get to do the wounds, but the movement effect takes effect either way.
To save a bunch of typing, I'll just link to my rather lengthy explanation as to why:
http://www.theruleslawyers.com/2011/09/rulings-jaws-of-the-world-wolf-and-rolling-to-hit/
Hope this helps!
- GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
|