Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 00:56:59
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hey ive got this question in which i want clarified. I know in the rule book it says when you emergency disembark that unit cannot do anything for the rest of the TURN. What does that mean? the players turn or the whole turn (like all of turn 2?)
Well this is what happened that got me wondering and just want to make sure things are being played right. I start a game off with my BA vs my friends GA, i go first and do my stuff. During my friend's first turn he puts some gk's in a building. In my second turn i shoot the building causing it to become a ruin. My friend couldnt get out of the access point so he emergency disembarked. And once it was his turn (still turn 2) he moved, shot, and assaulted with that disembarked unit. We look it up in the good ol rule book and it says what i stated above in the first sentence. And my friend says oh it says for the rest of the TURN. YOUR TURN is over and now its MY TURN so that means they can be used now.
Is that right? is the rule book saying TURN as in the current players turn, or the entire turn such as turn 2, 3, 4 ect. Thanks in advance guys.
|
BA- 3000 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 01:04:11
Subject: Re:Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
From GW's FAQ for the main rulebook.
The Turn
Q: What is meant when the term ‘turn’ is used? (p9)
A: Whenever the word turn is used it means player
turn. Otherwise it will clearly state game turn. In a
complete game turn both players get a player turn.
Hence one game turn will comprise two player turns.
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means that they can perform no voluntary actions.
Any action forced upon them, for example from failing
a Morale or Pinning test, they will still carry out and if
assaulted they will fight as normal.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1830600a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_4.pdf
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 01:15:02
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
You posted this in the wrong forum.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 01:32:22
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 15:16:58
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Never did agree with the wording of that one but it is what it is. If I cause an enemy unit to ED in my turn by the wording when the other players' turn comes around that unit is free to do whatever it wants. Had a few occasions where I'd assault a vehicle and surround the access points but not the entire hull only to have the unit ED and then shoot and assault me since it is now his turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 20:38:10
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yea, and that's what makes 5th ed transports (ridiculously) awesome.
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means that they can perform no voluntary actions.
Any action forced upon them, for example from failing
a Morale or Pinning test, they will still carry out and if
assaulted they will fight as normal.
The funny thing is it's basically a meaningless rule, what can you do in your opponents turn after their fire phase is over but before your next player turn .... Fight in melee is really all, oh and there's an exception for that right? So why even say they can't do anything voluntarily, they can't do anything voluntarily in that little slice of turn anyway!
What a joke. Lets fix that:
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means nothing. They will behave as normal in their next player turn and there isn't anything to do in the opponents turn anyway.
It's totally safe to be in transports even when they explode after being surrounded and assaulted. There's no risk really, but them's the breaks.
I totally agree with your philosophical objections, Boss Grennutz, but I also totally play it as described.
...But then explain why open topped transport riders can all shoot out of the same spot of a vehicle and all fire, but are not vulnerable to incoming fire at all, not even blasts or templates, or psychic powers...? LOLWUT?
...and don't get me started on vehicle invulnerable saves, which are.... NOT IN THE RULEBOOK.?
I wont miss 5th ed vehicle rules at all!
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/09/22 20:44:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 21:13:36
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Augustus wrote:]It's totally safe to be in transports even when they explode after being surrounded and assaulted.
No, this kills the embarked unit.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 21:22:55
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Augustus wrote:]It's totally safe to be in transports even when they explode after being surrounded and assaulted.
No, this kills the embarked unit.
If the vehicle exploded and the passengers can fit in the footprint while retaining 1" seperation from enemies, they survive. Quite possible for big fat vehicles like Land Raiders. If the vehicle is wrecked, they're definitely toast though.
|
One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade forged in defiance of fate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 21:54:59
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Augustus wrote:Yea, and that's what makes 5th ed transports (ridiculously) awesome.
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means that they can perform no voluntary actions.
Any action forced upon them, for example from failing
a Morale or Pinning test, they will still carry out and if
assaulted they will fight as normal.
The funny thing is it's basically a meaningless rule, what can you do in your opponents turn after their fire phase is over but before your next player turn .... Fight in melee is really all, oh and there's an exception for that right? So why even say they can't do anything voluntarily, they can't do anything voluntarily in that little slice of turn anyway!
What a joke. Lets fix that:
Q: When a unit makes an ‘emergency disembarkation’
they cannot do anything else for the rest of the turn.
What does this mean? (p67)
A: It means nothing. They will behave as normal in their next player turn and there isn't anything to do in the opponents turn anyway.
It's totally safe to be in transports even when they explode after being surrounded and assaulted. There's no risk really, but them's the breaks.
It isn't a joke at all and it has a very important purpose.
Without that rule in place people would actually utilize the ED rules to get out of having to use their own access points.
For example, a Chimera has an Access Point only on its rear, but its rear armor is also its weakest facing. That means to disembark the unit into a firing position, you typically need to turn the vehicle around to face whatever your target is.
If that penalty wasn't part of the ED rules then a Guard player, for example, could drive his Chimera up and purposely block the Access point with impassable terrain, an enemy unit or even another friendly unit and this would give him access to the ED rules, which would then allow him to deploy his models anywhere within 2" of the hull.
So in essence he'd be able to deploy his unit out the front of the vehicle on purpose, so as not to expose his rear armor to enemy shooting in the following turn.
However, with that penalty part of the ED rules it means that a player which does this will not be able to shoot/assault with his disembarking unit.
See the point of the rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 22:02:46
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
I was under the impression that an ED was not a voluntary action to begin with. I'll happily accept my ignorance of the particulars of the rule as I don't have my rule book with me but it would seem that you can only ED when you're forced to disembark, if you blocked your own access points then the unit is simply unable to disembark as they have the choice whether to get out or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 22:09:21
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tracer Bullet wrote:I was under the impression that an ED was not a voluntary action to begin with. I'll happily accept my ignorance of the particulars of the rule as I don't have my rule book with me but it would seem that you can only ED when you're forced to disembark, if you blocked your own access points then the unit is simply unable to disembark as they have the choice whether to get out or not.
That's not how the rule is actually written. Its written saying that UINTS are allowed to disembark and then when disembarking if you're unable to deploy any of the MODELS then you automatically end up making an emergency disembarkation.
So yes, you can 'use' emergency disembarkation to voluntarily disembark a unit, its just the penalty about not being able to do anything further with the disembarked unit that turn makes it an undesirable thing to do (which is the point of that penalty).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/22 22:09:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 22:41:16
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well right but I thought this was only the case when vehicles get damaged (5 results basically).
Are you claiming Yak, that troops can CHOOSE to emergency disembark with their exits blocked from an intact transport?
Or did I miss something. Automatically Appended Next Post: GreyHamster wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:Augustus wrote:]It's totally safe to be in transports even when they explode after being surrounded and assaulted.
No, this kills the embarked unit.
If the vehicle exploded and the passengers can fit in the footprint while retaining 1" seperation from enemies, they survive. Quite possible for big fat vehicles like Land Raiders. If the vehicle is wrecked, they're definitely toast though.
Actually they're not, because they have to be in 2 inches of the hull, and bases are 1 inch, so they can actually jump over models that were in BTB with the wrecked transprot, and furthermore its practically immpossible to completely ring a tank, so it's kind of academic. Even the smallest transport like a rhino would leave a footprint where some models survive, something like a waveserpent or defilfish, mouch more so.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/22 22:44:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 22:57:24
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Augustus wrote:Well right but I thought this was only the case when vehicles get damaged (5 results basically).
Are you claiming Yak, that troops can CHOOSE to emergency disembark with their exits blocked from an intact transport?
Or did I miss something.
That is 100% what the rules say. If a unit disembarks AND any models can't be deployed then it makes an emergency disembark and can then disembark models anywhere within 2" of the hull but at the price of not being able to do anything further with the unit that turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/22 23:00:49
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually you have to be more than 1" away, and have to be within 2" of the hull, meaning you cannot jump over
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 01:09:24
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually you have to be more than 1" away, and have to be within 2" of the hull, meaning you cannot jump over
You cannot jump over and you cannot disembark over or move through.
Main rulebook FAQ ver 1.4;
Q: If a transport vehicle is completely surrounded can a
unit inside disembark by moving through the enemy
models? (p67)
A: No. Models that disembark are still subject to the
normal movement rules regarding moving through
other models as per page 11.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 07:35:33
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That FAQ wouldnt apply to JI, however, wherease the simple maths of "you cant get more than 1" away" does
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 12:01:57
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:That FAQ wouldnt apply to JI, however, wherease the simple maths of "you cant get more than 1" away" does 
I don't think it would apply to JI anyway, I believe JI cannot embark into transports.
I know vanilla SM can't, don't know about any specialized armies.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 12:50:00
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
StormRavens.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 12:56:40
Subject: Re:Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Thanks, so the stromraven can transport JI, but they still can only disembark within 2" of the hull (or in the case of the stromraven the base) and could not move within 1" of any enemy model.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 13:46:09
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep. Which is why i mentioned the measurement not allowing the hop over - it covered all bases
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 14:44:59
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:That FAQ wouldnt apply to JI, however, wherease the simple maths of "you cant get more than 1" away" does 
But, you can get more than 1" away. Bases are 25mm, which is 0.4mm less than an inch.
So, there is plenty of room to be more than 1" away from a model in btb with the transport and still be within 2" of the transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 14:50:03
Subject: Re:Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
No there isn't because you can't move through other models.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 15:34:06
Subject: Re:Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
time wizard wrote:No there isn't because you can't move through other models.
Right. I was talking about JI.
Perhaps we all just need to clarify, because I think we may all be in agreement.
If your transport is completely surrounded by enemy models in btb and it is destroyed:
If it explodes, you can try to fit all your models inside where the transport used to be. You have to be outside of 1" from the enemy models. Depending on the transport in question, some or all models may be able to survive.
If it is wrecked, infantry models will be all killed as they cannot disembark, and an emergency disembark doesn't allow them to pass over the models in btb.
If it is wrecked and you're transporting jump infantry (like a Stormraven), the models cannot disembark normally, but they can emergency disembark. As long as the models in btb with the transport are on standard 25mm bases, this will allow the JI to all survive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 16:46:30
Subject: Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
right
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/23 21:35:05
Subject: Re:Emergency disembark question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Jump Infantry are only allowed to ignore terrain and models in their own movement phase for their regular move and during fall back moves. (BRB pg 52). Nothing allows them to move any differently during disembark movement, nor any other kind of movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/23 21:35:28
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
|