Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:22:46
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Finland
|
Hello dakka-citizens.
Yesterday my friends had a 40k battle, BA vs IG. BA player dropped his drop pod in the field and we had a little argument wether the drop pod's "doors", that flip down when deepstriked, are measured for 1" from enemy model when determining if the pod mishaps or not.
thanks in advance.
|
CSM 40k : ~4.3k
Skaven : FB ~2,5k
Daemons FB & 40k ~1,7k
Lizardmen 1k
Lotsa chaos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:26:47
Subject: Re:Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
I would say no. And bedsides, droppods can't have mishaps. They have a special rule that basically stops that from happening.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:27:56
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Well the rules say, for vehicles, you measure to the hull for everything.
Most people play that the doors do not count as hull.
to play that the doors count as hull means the pod will mishap all the time, due to its huge footprint when the Petal doors are opened. It also means that friendly and enemy models can not move over the doors, since models count as impassible terrain.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:28:51
Subject: Re:Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
If I remember correctly, and unfortunately I don't remember where I read this, the doors do NOT count as part of the hull.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:29:25
Subject: Re:Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Short answer: the doors don't matter for just about anything.
|
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents."
~The Call of Cthulhu |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 15:30:59
Subject: Re:Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
Finland
|
OK thank you for quick reply!
|
CSM 40k : ~4.3k
Skaven : FB ~2,5k
Daemons FB & 40k ~1,7k
Lizardmen 1k
Lotsa chaos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 16:31:16
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Also Drop pods CAN mishap. Off the table, or if you place within 1" of a mishap-able piece of the board and roll a hit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 16:45:04
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Also Drop pods CAN mishap. Off the table, or if you place within 1" of a mishap-able piece of the board and roll a hit
What about the guidance system rule or whatever? Doesn't it change that?
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 16:46:49
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You can still mishap by scattering off the board, but onto a terrain piece, etc. you just move the pod until it's safe.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 16:53:56
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
All the guidance system does is reduce the scatter.
If the pod doesn't scatter, there is nothing to reduce.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 16:55:49
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Vancouver, Canada
|
The guidance system will only reduce scatter to avoid a mishap. If you roll a hit, it does nothing. So if your initial placement was a mishap and you roll a hit, it's a mishap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 17:22:17
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
LoneGamer wrote:The guidance system will only reduce scatter to avoid a mishap. If you roll a hit, it does nothing. So if your initial placement was a mishap and you roll a hit, it's a mishap.
And if you scatter off the table, the inertial guidance does nothing for you either. Guidance will only reduce scatter for certain circumstances, if it ain't one of those circumstances, it does not get reduced.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/24 18:56:41
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Also Drop pods CAN mishap. Off the table, or if you place within 1" of a mishap-able piece of the board and roll a hit
What about the guidance system rule or whatever? Doesn't it change that?
The Guidence system can only reduce scatter, it can't make it larger or make a hit into an arrow.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 13:22:52
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
And the rule only comes into play if it lands on top of the banned area. If the drop pod happens to end up exactly within one inch on the enemy model without being on top of it, a deep strike mishap would happen.
|
3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 13:30:39
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect, actually. It will reduce scatter to avoid the mishap - given that landing within 1" of an enemy model causes a mishap, by definition it will attempt to reduce this scatter
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 13:39:21
Subject: Re:Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
On the Ice World of Fenris....running with the wolves...
|
If im correct... The rule states that if the drop pod scatters onto a freindly, enemy unit, or impassibal terrain, you move the drop pod the minimum distance to a safe landing zone.
Meaning, you move the drop pod 1 inch from an enemy modle if it scatters onto an enemy unit.
1 inch from impassible terrain, and 1 inch from friendly units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 13:54:07
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1" from enemy units, as being within 1" of friendly units (but more than 0"  ) does notcause a mishap
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 16:11:03
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
USA
|
Being 1" away from a unit doesn't cause a mishap. But if its an enemy unit the player cannot bring whatever was in the pod out on that side since they also have to be at least 1" away from an enemy unit. Not sure if they also have to be 1" from impassable or the board edge.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/26 16:11:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 16:20:33
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fireknife wrote:Being 1" away from a unit doesn't cause a mishap. But if its an enemy unit the player cannot bring whatever was in the pod out on that side since they also have to be at least 1" away from an enemy unit. Not sure if they also have to be 1" from impassable or the board edge.
But you can't place the drop pod less than 1" away, which would normally cause a mishap, but in this case just moves the DP outside of the 1".
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 18:42:28
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
You can't move the drop pod away if you already placed it on impassable and it hit. All the guidance system does is lets you reduce scatter so you don't hit stuff by chance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 19:43:54
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Spetulhu wrote:You can't move the drop pod away if you already placed it on impassable and it hit. All the guidance system does is lets you reduce scatter so you don't hit stuff by chance.
This↑. Guidance system reduces the scatter distance. If you roll a 'hit', the scatter distance is zero. That distance cannot be reduced.
If you choose to land in impassable terrain or on enemy models and you roll a hit, you have just been hoist on your own petard, and this should teach you not to attempt such faulty tactics in the future.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 20:43:12
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
It will definately misshap if you place it within a ring of impassible terrain such that only the drop pod will fit. The Guidence system will ensure that the pod lands safely, but the squad (unless it's empty) will misshap as soon as they debark.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/26 20:49:29
Subject: Drop pod mishap.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The squad won't mishap. They simply won't be able to disembark... which means that they will be destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|