Switch Theme:

Eldar Psykers & Skimmers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

Question for fellow Eldar players. Codex states for Wave Serpents: "...may transport a single unit of infantry of up to 12 models (or 5 Wraithguard models and up to 2 characters)". I've been using my Serpents to transport up to 10 models (e.g., Storm Guardians) and a Warlock, or a unit of Scorpions and a Farseer/Eldrad. Does this rule mean that I cannot transport both the infantry unit AND the psyker together? And if I may, if I disembark the Scorpions, MUST I also disembark the Farseer (if he's not part of the unit)? Or must the psyker be treated as being attached to the infantry unit while inside the Serpent? I've been disembarking my Scorpions and leaving the Farseer on the Serpent...

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it is siimply telling you that you cannot fit more than 5 Wraithguard in a vehicle. 10 models + a character is still less than or equal to 12 models, which is the transport capacity of the vehicle.

If you disembark a unit, you may leave the attached IC (as they ARE part of the unit while embarked) inside - see the IC rules.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

I'm still not so sure. The way the sentence is written specifically states "a single unit of infantry of up to 12 models", the "up to 2 characters" is written for the Wraithguard only (being in the parentheses). This is why I'm confused by it. I did read the Rule Book section on IC's, and it didn't include anything about being on the Skimmers/transports. The only way I see you could have the psyker move out of coherency with the unit would be for the skimmer itself to actually move, otherwise the unit would still be w/in 2" of the psyker (because of only being able to deploy max 2" from the skimmer hatch).

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

nosferatu1001 wrote:No, it is siimply telling you that you cannot fit more than 5 Wraithguard in a vehicle. 10 models + a character is still less than or equal to 12 models, which is the transport capacity of the vehicle.

If you disembark a unit, you may leave the attached IC (as they ARE part of the unit while embarked) inside - see the IC rules.


Not to hijack the thread, but I have a similar question about the order of operations in regard to embarked units and ICs:

Let's say you have Eldrad in a Wave Serpent, then you have a unit of Wraithguard embark to join him. The wave serpent zooms off. Can Eldrad now disembark? He never embarked, but he became a part of the a unit that had embarked. And a unit cannot embark and disembark in the same turn, so, since he is a part of that unit, he cannot disembark? Or, he becomes a unit in his own right again once he disembarks and may disembark?

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

[quote=puma713Let's say you have Eldrad in a Wave Serpent, then you have a unit of Wraithguard embark to join him. The wave serpent zooms off. Can Eldrad now disembark? He never embarked, but he became a part of the a unit that had embarked. And a unit cannot embark and disembark in the same turn, so, since he is a part of that unit, he cannot disembark? Or, he becomes a unit in his own right again once he disembarks and may disembark?



Puma, I assume you meant that Eldrad never DISembarked. I think I get your question, though - since the Wraithguard have to be w/in 2" of the rear hatch, does it mean that Eldrad by definition is now part of the unit. I think this is where it gets dicey. If one assumes that one has to be w/in 2" either on or off (but must be on "same side of hatch", then Eldrad would be able to disembark while the Wraithguard embark. Once part of the unit, though, I think that it would count as part of the "no embarkiing/disembarking same turn" rule. In other words, if I understand you correctly, Eldrad's on transport - Wraithguard embark at beginning of movement phase - move up to 12" - Eldrad can't disembark at end of movement. Right? Man, my brain's starting to hurt!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/26 15:54:59


-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Makhoy wrote:


Puma, I assume you meant that Eldrad never DISembarked. I think I get your question, though - since the Wraithguard have to be w/in 2" of the rear hatch, does it mean that Eldrad by definition is now part of the unit. I think this is where it gets dicey. If one assumes that one has to be w/in 2" either on or off (but must be on "same side of hatch", then Eldrad would be able to disembark while the Wraithguard embark. Once part of the unit, though, I think that it would count as part of the "no embarkiing/disembarking same turn" rule. In other words, if I understand you correctly, Eldrad's on transport - Wraithguard embark at beginning of movement phase - move up to 12" - Eldrad can't disembark at end of movement. Right? Man, my brain's starting to hurt!


No, I meant Eldrad never embarked.

Eldrad is on the Wave Serpent alone.
Wraithguard are outside. They are 2 separate units.
Wraithguard embark. They become 1 unit.
Wave Serpent moves away.

Can Eldrad disembark? He never embarked (so he could technically disembark, since you cannot embark and disembark in the same turn), but he has become a part of a unit that embarked.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/26 16:19:52


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





They do not become one unit until the end of the movement phase.
I'm not sure (books are at home) if you can embark with the intention to join, but I'm pretty sure you can't have 2 units in one transport. (Eldrad going solo is 1 unit, Wraithguard are 1 1unit)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/26 16:23:34


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Any squad which enters a transport that is carrying an independent character is automatically joined to said character while in the transport, as a transport may only carry 1 unit at a time.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker





Springfield, Oregon

Iranna is correct, the very beginning of the Wave Serpent description answers your question "a single unit" which means the IC has to be joined to that unit.

Of course, IC can join and leave units in movement phases.

So if your Wave Serpent lets out the unit before moving, you could leave the IC inside, and let the unit it was joined to out.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If you moved the Wave Serpent before Disembark, then they all have to get out together.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/26 18:25:39


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above.

12 models means just that - a unit of 12 models. Meaning that, as per the IC rules you JOIN a unit and become part of it. An iC joining a 10 man unit makes that unit an 11 man unit.

Puma - yes, the IC can disembark - the IC unit never embarked, so is not bound by the restrictions on a single unit embarking and disembarking in one turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: