| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 03:39:06
Subject: How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Does being in cover allow you to strike first even using the Hand of the Emperor? Or does the faith power override the initiative bonus granted by the cover? I've always played that if I use the HOTE faith power, my units will strike at I1, no matter what. However, I've recently been challenged by someone who believed models in cover would still get I10 and have been questioning my interperation.What do you guys think?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 03:54:04
Subject: RE: How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rules are contradictory. The power tells you to fight at I1, while the cover rules tell you to strike at I10.
You should probably roll a D6.
If you want to include "intent", the cover rules do say that models ". . .normally fight in close combat with an initiative value of 10."
One could conclude that "normally" means, without any abnormal sort of bonuses or modifiers (like what you get for using 'Hand of the Emperor', for example).
If that kind of argument sounds good to you, run with it; if not roll a D6.
P.S. before anyone brings up the powerfist, it does specifically say in the PFist rules that the PFist I1 overrules the cover bonus.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 03:59:45
Subject: RE:How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
pg 39 Fighting in Close Combat: Cover: "...normally fight in close combat with an initiative of 10." - emphasis mine Cover does not always grant I10. It normally does unless superceded by some other rule, which is probably the case here. What is the exact wording of "Hot E"? (get it, hottie??!!?!?!) EDIT: Dang it, foiled again....
|
"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 04:14:28
Subject: RE: How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The rule says "Make the Test of Faith before rolling to hit. Each model in the unit adds +2 to its strength, but will strike at Initiative 1.". I've basically been using the "normally they get I10 but HOTE is abnormal" argument, but I can see where the opposition is coming from, especially when they compare it to the Power Fist that specifically defines how the weapon interacts with cover.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 06:34:15
Subject: RE: How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
"...but will strike at Initiative 1" sounds pretty definitive to me.
More importantly, you can follow both rules without breaking either. Put the two rules together and you get a logical statement which does not contradict itself, "...normally fight in close combat with an initiative of 10, but will strike at Initiative 1".
|
"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/03/01 10:38:08
Subject: RE: How does "Hand of the Emperor" work in cover?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
This one seems pretty clear that they will strike at I1 as put together by blue loki.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|