Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 06:04:38
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
the internet
|
Question came to me today wondering what would happen if one decided to Death or Glory a ramming enemy vehicle by using a blast weapon. Do you even place the blast or do you just say the entire strength went into a pinhole?
|
Current Army: Black Templar 1-0-0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 06:37:01
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
When attempting to "Death or Glory!" your attack automatically hits. You don't need to roll to hit (Ie. use the blast template)
Iranna.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/27 06:37:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 06:40:16
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
the internet
|
the point was that if its a blast, I may hit enemy models with part of the blast, or, alternately, not be able to place the blast due to friendly models getting caught in the hit. these would cause issues if you have to place the blast
|
Current Army: Black Templar 1-0-0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 07:26:21
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You don't place the blast marker. The shot hits automatically, and you just resolve a single hit against the vehicle's front armour.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 18:52:41
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Wait, so can you Death-or-Glory with a Demolition Charge, but not place the template (and thus, NOT DIE)?
|
"I went into a hobby-shop to play m'self a game,
The 'ouse Guru 'e up an' sez "The Guard is weak and lame!"
The Chaos gits around the shelves they laughed and snickered in my face,
I outs into the street again an' grabbed my figure-case."
Oh it's "Angels this" an' "Space-wolves that", and "Guardsmen, go away!";
But it's "Thank you for the ordnance" when the Guard begins to play,
O it's "LOOK AT ALL THE ORDNANCE!" when the Guard begins to play.."
-Cadian XXIX (edited for length) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 18:58:32
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries
the internet
|
I think not placing the blast is kinda stretching it personally... but this is why I asked
|
Current Army: Black Templar 1-0-0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 20:24:40
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
As already stated, placing the blast marker is a part of the process of determining if you hit. You don't have to determine a hit... you just resolve a single hit against the vehicle's front armour. The DoG rules make no distinction for Blast weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/28 02:36:02
Subject: Re:Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
I agree with Insaniak. The Death or Glory rule overrides the whole portion of the attack where the template would be placed, scatter dice would be rolled, other models could be affected, etc. You get one hit and resolve it at full strength against the front armor.
Hope this helps!
-GK
|
Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.
GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/28 03:36:30
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Novice Knight Errant Pilot
|
Ogiwan wrote:Wait, so can you Death-or-Glory with a Demolition Charge, but not place the template (and thus, NOT DIE)?
That would require your opponent being caress enough to hit the demo charge model with the tank shock in the first place.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/28 12:55:57
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I think you have to place the marker or template, you just don't scatter.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/28 15:24:39
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, you just resolve the hit from any weapon the model has.
No template placed since you auto hit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/28 16:07:01
Subject: Death or Glory with a Blast or Template Weapon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Homer S wrote:I think you have to place the marker or template, you just don't scatter.
Homer
No, you place "instead of rolling to hit"
You are never rolling to hit, so you cannot perform something instead of rolling to hit
|
|
 |
 |
|