Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:07:57
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
Setting the scene. I want to move my Looted wagon so Its not an Auto hit on the Assault.
It's got red paint job so I can move an extra 1" and not Incur penalties.
Now i've red the rule and it says add 1" to your Move in the Movement phase.
Now I could take this as I can move 1" and not Incur any penalties or that I'm required to move too gain this bonus.
Thoughts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:33:17
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
If you don't move you don't get the inch.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:36:24
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
no move no extra inch...
|
Chaos rules you all drool! Blood for the Blood God!
10,000 pts Black Legion
2,000 pts Traitor Catchian Guard (1067th).
8,000 point Sam Hain Eldar.
2,000 pts Squat Biker Force.
1,500 Orc Hoard (painting for a friend).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:38:04
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
That's what I thought just wanted to check.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:38:17
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
A Normal Vehicle can move 6" and Fire Ordnance. What you cannot do is move and Fire Ordnance Barrage.
You can't +1" to your movement if you don't move. You have to move one millionth billionth of an inch to add the 1" to it, but who cares... you can roll around 7" a turn with RPJ and poop pieplates on things. You have no reason not to because you can't shoot any other weapons like Iguard lumbering Behemoths can... so there is no reason to sit still for boomwagons.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 01:46:49
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
Thanks for clearing that up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 09:04:25
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
nkelsch wrote:A Normal Vehicle can move 6" and Fire Ordnance. What you cannot do is move and Fire Ordnance Barrage.
Unless it's a Fast vehicle, like a Blood Angels Whirlwind. It can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:06:17
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
don_mondo wrote:nkelsch wrote:A Normal Vehicle can move 6" and Fire Ordnance. What you cannot do is move and Fire Ordnance Barrage.
Unless it's a Fast vehicle, like a Blood Angels Whirlwind. It can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage.
Or it has 'Lumbering Behemoth' special rule. It can move up to 6" and still fire all weapons.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:11:28
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...except Ordnance Barrage. You can fire them, but not as a Barrage
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:18:47
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
don_mondo wrote: Unless it's a Fast vehicle, like a Blood Angels Whirlwind. It can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage.
Sorry don, like nosferatu said, not as ordnance barrage.
Refer to page 58 main rules, third paragraph under Ordnance Barrage weapons, "...only vehicles that remained stationary may fire an ordnance barrage weapon..."
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:34:09
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:...except Ordnance Barrage. You can fire them, but not as a Barrage
A Leman Russ that moved at Combat Speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!). I'm fairly certain this includes Barrage
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:52:12
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Happyjew wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:...except Ordnance Barrage. You can fire them, but not as a Barrage
A Leman Russ that moved at Combat Speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!). I'm fairly certain this includes Barrage
In the case of the Leman Russ it really doesn't matter since none of the variants carry an ordnance barrage weapon.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 17:00:17
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Happy - it can fire the weapon, it cannot fire it as Barrage weapon. It is not a specific enough allowance to override the requirement to be stationary
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 17:38:40
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Happyjew wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:...except Ordnance Barrage. You can fire them, but not as a Barrage
A Leman Russ that moved at Combat Speed or remained stationary can fire its turret weapon in addition to any other weapons it is usually allowed to fire (even if the turret weapon is ordnance!). I'm fairly certain this includes Barrage
Just to point out that while this is true, a Leman russ can only move 6" and fire all weapons if it only has 1 other weapon(and any number of defensive weapons) in addition to it's turret weapon(Added Sponsons or H/K missiles will not be able to fire along with the base hull-mount; Pintles available are all deffensive). I say this because your first post stated they could move 6" and fire all weapons.
And as already said, no LR variants can get Barrage weapons mounted in their turrets, so the whole point here is purely academic.
1 last bit: L'Shanah Tovah.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 18:51:02
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
time wizard wrote:don_mondo wrote: Unless it's a Fast vehicle, like a Blood Angels Whirlwind. It can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage.
Sorry don, like nosferatu said, not as ordnance barrage.
Refer to page 58 main rules, third paragraph under Ordnance Barrage weapons, "...only vehicles that remained stationary may fire an ordnance barrage weapon..."
In the Fast vehicle rules(p70) it specifically tells you that you can move combat speed with a fast vehicle and still fire an ordnance barrage weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 19:00:42
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
time wizard wrote:don_mondo wrote: Unless it's a Fast vehicle, like a Blood Angels Whirlwind. It can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage.
Sorry don, like nosferatu said, not as ordnance barrage.
Refer to page 58 main rules, third paragraph under Ordnance Barrage weapons, "...only vehicles that remained stationary may fire an ordnance barrage weapon..."
Yep, and then (as Tylarion has already mentioned) Fast vehicles modifies that rule with this on page 70:
"Fast vehicles that move at combat speed may fire all of their weapons, just like other types of vehicles that have remained stationary (including ordnance barrage weapons, which cannot usually be fired on the move)."
So I stand by what I said, a Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage as Barrage.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 20:28:59
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
[tangent]The Lumbering Behemoth rule actually makes the LRBT one of the most mobile tanks in 40k, ironically.
Without sponson upgrades (too expensive anyways, IMO) the LRBT can move and fire every weapon every turn. [/tangent]
No, ordnance barrage may not be fired if the vehicle has moved, unless it's fast.
+1 to movement only occurs if there is movement to add +1 to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 20:44:01
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
don_mondo wrote:
Yep, and then (as Tylarion has already mentioned) Fast vehicles modifies that rule with this on page 70:
"Fast vehicles that move at combat speed may fire all of their weapons, just like other types of vehicles that have remained stationary (including ordnance barrage weapons, which cannot usually be fired on the move)."
So I stand by what I said, a Fast vehicle can move up to 6" and still fire Ordnance Barrage as Barrage.
 oops! Missed that one don! Nice catch, I stand corrected!
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/01 11:49:38
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Helsturm Hive
|
No, Ordnance BARRAGE must stand still to fire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/01 12:06:44
Subject: Movable Ordanance Weapons?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
elite_dannux wrote:No, Ordnance BARRAGE must stand still to fire.
Unless it's a Fast vehicle. You did see the quote from page 70 I posted previously, right?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|