Switch Theme:

Sanguinary Priest FNP bubble question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood




Wi, USA

Hey I am building a Knights of Blood (BA Codex) army and was wondering if I put a sanguinary priest inside of a transport does the FNP bubble extend all around the hull out to 6"?

1350 pts and growing
750 pts
650pts 360 painted
http://dzoid5000.webs.com/ 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Yes it does. Measure from the hull.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Xenohunter with First Contact





Rockford, IL

priest + raven = win
dont forget the wings!

/ 20000 pts
7000 pts
3000 pts
2500 pts
2000 pts
WIP
2000 pts 
   
Made in us
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood




Wi, USA

Davall wrote:Yes it does. Measure from the hull.
ok that was my thought i was just double checking so I wasnt learning the rules wrong.

1350 pts and growing
750 pts
650pts 360 painted
http://dzoid5000.webs.com/ 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All over

Hull not wings. You should never try to stretch the rule that isn't cool.

   
Made in us
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood




Wi, USA

cgage00 wrote:Hull not wings
I agree with that one. Wings are more cosmetic like wings and banners on special characters. so to shoot the stormraven you would then have to be within range of the hull if i understand corectly.

1350 pts and growing
750 pts
650pts 360 painted
http://dzoid5000.webs.com/ 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Not to sound rude, but you would be wrong about the wings.

BRB FAQ says:
Q: Are a vehicle’s wings considered to be part of its
hull? (p60)
A: Yes.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood




Wi, USA

Davall wrote:Not to sound rude, but you would be wrong about the wings.

BRB FAQ says:
Q: Are a vehicle’s wings considered to be part of its
hull? (p60)
A: Yes.

Thanks for pointing that out! Guessed i missed that when I read the FAQ...

1350 pts and growing
750 pts
650pts 360 painted
http://dzoid5000.webs.com/ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




cgage00 wrote:Hull not wings. You should never try to stretch the rule that isn't cool.


Wrong. The wings ARE hull. If you belive them to be decorative, i suggest you go elsewhere....

Page 66, measuring to embarked units
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Personally I wish they weren't part of the Hull, however as stated multiple times as the FAQ has even clarified wings are Hull

   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





nosferatu1001 wrote:
cgage00 wrote:Hull not wings. You should never try to stretch the rule that isn't cool.


Wrong. The wings ARE hull. If you belive them to be decorative, i suggest you go elsewhere....

Page 66, measuring to embarked units

If you believe the wings to be decorative, try taking off with just one.

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Homer S wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
cgage00 wrote:Hull not wings. You should never try to stretch the rule that isn't cool.


Wrong. The wings ARE hull. If you belive them to be decorative, i suggest you go elsewhere....

Page 66, measuring to embarked units

If you believe the wings to be decorative, try taking off with just one.

Homer


Only if you let me fly it in a Circular motion

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/03 20:13:38


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dannygee wrote:priest + raven = win
dont forget the wings!


Not that great as you still measure from the hull so you actually have a smaller FnP footprint than if you were in a rhino/razor/raider.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Nungunz wrote:
Dannygee wrote:priest + raven = win
dont forget the wings!


Not that great as you still measure from the hull so you actually have a smaller FnP footprint than if you were in a rhino/razor/raider.


? the Raven foot print is huge, I'm fairly certain it's larger than the Rhinos even when measuring from hull to unit.

Wing-Wing Front-Back alot of space there and the thing is a large flying cinderblock not like it's sleek


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I think he is talking about the ramifications of measuring vertically down to a unit.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

somerandomdude wrote:I think he is talking about the ramifications of measuring vertically down to a unit.


I was taking that into consideration, gotta find someone that actually has one now so I can do some measurements ...

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Wouldn't you measure from the oval base? I though that all measurements for skimmers (except shooting) was measured from the base.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Happyjew wrote:Wouldn't you measure from the oval base? I though that all measurements for skimmers (except shooting) was measured from the base.


Nope, it's measured from the Hull.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My bad, mis-read that. Base is only used for assaults.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Happyjew wrote:Wouldn't you measure from the oval base? I though that all measurements for skimmers (except shooting) was measured from the base.

The only thing you normally use the base for on a skimmer is assaulting it. For all other game purposes, the base is ignored. This is covered explicitly in the skimmer rules.

The Valkyrie and Storm Raven have an exception to this rule, that allows you to measure dis/embarkation distance and distance to/from objectives to the base. For anything else, the base would still be ignored as per the normal skimmer rules.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





somerandomdude wrote:I think he is talking about the ramifications of measuring vertically down to a unit.


Was thinking this right here. Forgot how wide those suckers were with the wings so probably about similar FnP bubble as a landraider....maybe a bit smaller.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: