Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 02:34:12
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
You're in h2h and you pick up dice, roll 'em. Count up your hits and roll to wound ... and you realize that you forgot to divvy your dice up for your enemy's IC.
Clearer: The enemy unit is composed of infantry and an Independent Character. In the speed of rolling dice, you didn't declare who was attacking which unit and when you do realize the mistake, and your opponent was (honestly) slow on it too, What do you do?
A) Pick up the dice, and start over, with proper checking of who is in b2b and all that.
B) leave it as is, and just say that the IC wasn't targeted, even though there might've been one model you could only have target the IC.
C) ... ?
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 02:38:00
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I usually do A - but I would always ask if my opponent minded.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 02:41:36
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Most often; A
however I've also done B, depends on the unit/weapons etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 02:44:00
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
That depends. Since I'm on friendly terms with most of my opponents, it's usually not to big of a deal, so my response is a little biased. We usually resolve this by assuming that the IC simply was not targeted in the combat, unless there are specific models that would have been required to attack the IC (as this can often have a major impact on combat resolution). Where such models appear, we just "reassign" some hits to the IC based on what the average result should have been. If those numbers are no longer sufficient to hit/wound the IC, they're discarded, otherwise we proceed. In general, we try to interfere with the process as little as possible except in situations where significant battle-wide changes could rest on the exact numbers at the end of combat. In extreme cases, we usually agree on a straight re-roll of all the attacks (assuming some models HAD to attack the IC). It can be a difficult situation to deal with, especially if you flop your roll (as opponents won't be keen on you rerolling everything), or if some of your power-weapons grant you enough kills to win combat even though several should have been directed at that storm-shield bearing IC. I think the absolute best resolution is to simply take each instance on a case-by-case basis, and try to work things out reasonably and fairly with your opponent. Against unreasonable opponents, try not to make these mistakes /2cents
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/04 02:45:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 02:45:11
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
A - Ask for a re-roll. If it's an honest mistake, there should be no trouble, especially if B would lead to incorrect numbers of attacks being assigned.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/04 02:45:35
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 04:44:21
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
If you haven't declared which unit you're attacking, you pretty much have to just start over, since there is no way to resolve the attacks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 08:49:46
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
A. You are forced to attack the IC in a lot of situations, and not doing so is breaking the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 10:10:12
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
From England. Living in Shanghai
|
Always A where we play. Though it's more time consuming it helps to do things correctly.
|
Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 11:03:14
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
A, no point in randomly assigning stuff. A single wound more or less can make the difference on ICs, and might even change the outcome. If you catch yourself on time, simply reroll everything.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 13:35:18
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
While you should probably B) and have a good laugh with your opponent, no harm in asking your opponent if you can A). Best to do before working out wounds, since if you got lower than average you might get called TFG. You can probably have a good chuckle in the 2nd case anyway.
Homer
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/04 13:36:10
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 14:15:05
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Or you could have rolled better than average, so B would be to your advantage. New dice, new luck.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 14:36:46
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I agree, just saying it is better to ask for a do over before you work out results completely.
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/04 14:37:09
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 17:20:59
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I usually just roll (heh) with it if I forget to allocate attacks to a specific unit, unless I was in a situation where I had to allocate attacks (i.e. a model was on base contact with only one unit but I had attacked the other).
So, B if possible, A if necessary.
I don't particularly mind which one my opponent prefers, though. The odds are the same either way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 17:30:33
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Cheexsta wrote:The odds are the same either way.
Before you roll, sure. Afterward there are odds that the rolls are the same, but they are not very good.
(e.g. "I rolled all 6's, its the same odds so let's just use that roll. . . .")
A is how we play.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 18:40:42
Subject: Re:Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
A. But I always ask first. If a model has to attack the IC which can and does happen alot then you pretty much have to. Everyone I've played against is normally pretty understanding about an honest mistake even if it means that I'd get an advantage due to luck. The inverse is that I extend the same courtesy to my opponents if they made that mistake.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 21:27:30
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It's funny, everyone gaming circle has their own unwritten rules. My friends and I keep it very light with a "once dice are rolled, that's it" flavor, and we always have good laughs with it. Lots of "D'oh!"-ing and of course the blanket "Stoner moment. Damn."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 21:30:38
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
I would always just say you keep what you rolled, and assume any attacks made by models in base to base with the IC alone were misses.
Unless every single one of your attacks hit, in which case I'd beat you in the face for using loaded dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 00:13:27
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Warboss Fugnutz wrote: My friends and I keep it very light with a "once dice are rolled, that's it" flavor, and we always have good laughs with it.
Which is fine in a lot of situations, but doesn't work in this one. If you roll the dice before declaring which unit you are attacking, there is no 'well, that's it'... unless you just declare the attacks invalid and wasted.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/06 00:13:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 00:26:15
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
Richmond, VA (We are legion)
|
If you didn't call the attack, all you did was play with the dice for no raisins. I'd reroll, and let/make others reroll. Then again, I did this when I started, and that's what they told me to do.
|
DQ:90S--G-M----B--I+Pw40k94+ID+++A/sWD380R+T(I)DM
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 14:31:41
Subject: Re:Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote:Which is fine in a lot of situations, but doesn't work in this one. If you roll the dice before declaring which unit you are attacking, there is no 'well, that's it'... unless you just declare the attacks invalid and wasted.
My mind went right to "the entire attacking unit is not within 2" of the IC, but is within 2" of the unit the IC has joined (pretty common)". In that case, at least with my cadre of gamers, we'd just call "D'oh" and resolve dice against the defending unit.
If the entire attacking unit was not within 2" of the defending unit, then yep, we'd reroll.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/06 14:33:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 14:37:44
Subject: Re:Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
If there were multiple options of who to attack for any of the dice and you didn't declare who the attacks were for, then (as stated above) you simply played with some dice and haven't actually rolled anything. Though a discussion with your opponent would be nice to avoid any misunderstanding.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/06 14:38:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 15:24:26
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
I think a lot of it really depends on the situation of the game. If this is a tournament with serious implications on the line, the correct answer is to re-roll.
If this is a friendly game or the game is to the point where it just really doen't matter, just come to a working resolution between you. Yes, this may become a "breaking of the rules" but it is only just a game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 21:30:03
Subject: Re:Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
zeshin wrote:If there were multiple options of who to attack for any of the dice and you didn't declare who the attacks were for, then (as stated above) you simply played with some dice and haven't actually rolled anything. Though a discussion with your opponent would be nice to avoid any misunderstanding.
OP declared which unit was attacking, if all dice were rolled and not all attackers are within range of the IC, I would (as the attacker) just say "Aw *#@, I forgot to declare attacks for your IC. Oh well." I wouldn't go back to before a roll - ESPECIALLY if the roll was crap. Roll mostly ones and twos and then "OH! I forgot to declare attacks for your IC. Guess I get to reroll all these dice."
At least in my gaming circle, we play that way in all our various games. It's a lot like chess (which we also play), take your hand off a moved piece and your turn is over. It adds a few laughs and damns to our games, especially on the nights where intoxicating substances are involved, which if we have enough time to wargame, is most of the gaming nights.
But hey, however your circle plays it is fine by me. I'm in no way saying "THIS is how REAL gamers... blah blah" by any means. Every circle has it's own adapted form of take-backs and re-rolls; even cocked dice are a subject of debate amongst strangers.
OP said the attacking unit had already rolled to wound? Personally, I wouldn't let someone go back two dice-rolls on me, maybe one if there was a better reason than "I forgot", but not two. Next thing it's (in the middle of the shooting phase) "OH, I forgot to move this unit, you wouldn't mind if I...." "Yes, actually, I do mind. Presence and observation are a huge part of this game, and if you make a mistake you have to pay for it. That's LEARNING, baby!" i.e. You're not doing anyone a favor by letting their mistakes slide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 09:59:02
Subject: Forgot to call the IC
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
It depends on how familiar you are with your opponent really.
i woudl say A, but if they disagreed for some reason then i would take B and just chalk it down to my error in the first place.
it could also depend on how often it happens. i had a similar situation in my last game. I forgot that i was supposed to roll for my Warptime psyker power at the start of my turn and instead rolled it at the start of my assault phase (which i thought woudl be fine as the DP model in question had no ranged weapons or powers anyway but them's the rules). Anyway, the first time we let it go as it was clearly an honest mistake. We agreed that if did it again we woudl play by the rules and any late rolls would not count.
Seemed perfectly fair to me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/07 10:14:14
|
|
 |
 |
|