Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 22:48:52
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
Having a issue, BA vanguard vets deep struck onto the battle field, right next to a vedetta squad, 8" from base but 5" away from the wing
Can the vanguard assult the vendetta?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 22:50:50
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
Richmond, VA (We are legion)
|
I'm gonna go with no. That being said, if you can, don't you have to be 6" or 12" away from any enemy models when Deep Striking?
|
DQ:90S--G-M----B--I+Pw40k94+ID+++A/sWD380R+T(I)DM
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 22:54:31
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
Just have to be 1" away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 22:54:34
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
KilroyKiljoy wrote:I'm gonna go with no. That being said, if you can, don't you have to be 6" or 12" away from any enemy models when Deep Striking?
1" away, not six.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 23:02:11
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
Richmond, VA (We are legion)
|
I never use Deep Strike, I should really read up on that.
But, yeah, back to topic, IIRC, the rulebook states you measure to the hull of the vehicle. A good argument can be made that the wings =/= the hull. It'd be like measuring to the gun barrel pointing his direction.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/06 23:02:44
DQ:90S--G-M----B--I+Pw40k94+ID+++A/sWD380R+T(I)DM
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 23:03:38
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
For assaults, you measure to the base. Since you're more than 6" from the base, no assault.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 23:09:57
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
KilroyKiljoy wrote:A good argument can be made that the wings =/= the hull. No, it can't. Check page 4, first question on the right.
Regardless, assault rules have that covered.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/06 23:27:51
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote:For assaults, you measure to the base (Or the Hull itself if you can get into contact with it). Since you're more than 6" from the base, no assault. (Unless you can physically reach the wing, like if there is a hill or terrain close enough to do so).
You missed something so I added the orange for you.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 00:06:04
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
KilroyKiljoy wrote:I never use Deep Strike, I should really read up on that.
But, yeah, back to topic, IIRC, the rulebook states you measure to the hull of the vehicle. A good argument can be made that the wings =/= the hull. It'd be like measuring to the gun barrel pointing his direction.
This arguement cannot be made, GW FAQ'd Wings=Hull
For assaulting the Vendetta,Valkyrie,Stormrave, you move into contact with it's base. I can't find the FAQ on it atm though
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 00:18:38
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
For assaulting the Vendetta,Valkyrie,Stormrave, you move into contact with it's base. I can't find the FAQ on it atm though 
It's not in the FAQ. It's in the main rulebook. Read DeathReaper's post.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 01:04:20
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Nungunz wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
For assaulting the Vendetta,Valkyrie,Stormrave, you move into contact with it's base. I can't find the FAQ on it atm though 
It's not in the FAQ. It's in the main rulebook. Read DeathReaper's post.
I read his post, just didn't know where it came from. I had thought it was an FAQ pertaining to the Valk model as it's near impossible to assault the haul
Found it now, pg 71 BGB
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 02:45:52
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote:For assaults, you measure to the base (Or the Hull itself if you can get into contact with it). Since you're more than 6" from the base, no assault. (Unless you can physically reach the wing, like if there is a hill or terrain close enough to do so).
You missed something so I added the orange for you.
Thanks. I remembered you could assault the hull, but wasn't 100% sure about it - and my books weren't with me. I'd rather be incomplete than wrong
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 02:56:59
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
On the Vendetta, you can assault the wings, but on the Stormraven, its base to base.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 03:33:10
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
East Coast
|
Happygrunt wrote:On the Vendetta, you can assault the wings, but on the Stormraven, its base to base.
How does that make sense?
|
'When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.'
-Parody of the Litany of Command,
popular among commissar cadets |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 03:37:27
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
it doesnt, wings are hull. if you can touch it you can assault it. go go gadget soulgrinder
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 04:11:28
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
Chosen Praetorian wrote:Happygrunt wrote:On the Vendetta, you can assault the wings, but on the Stormraven, its base to base.
How does that make sense?
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:it doesnt, wings are hull. if you can touch it you can assault it. go go gadget soulgrinder
Mixed up the rules then. There is some difference in the rules with a Vendetta and a stormraven, where one is measured from the base and the other is measured from the hull for LoS. My mistake.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 06:27:00
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
[quote=HappygruntThere is some difference in the rules with a Vendetta and a stormraven, where one is measured from the base and the other is measured from the hull for LoS.
Nope, that's still wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 06:59:54
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Happygrunt wrote:Chosen Praetorian wrote:Happygrunt wrote:On the Vendetta, you can assault the wings, but on the Stormraven, its base to base.
How does that make sense?
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:it doesnt, wings are hull. if you can touch it you can assault it. go go gadget soulgrinder
Mixed up the rules then. There is some difference in the rules with a Vendetta and a stormraven, where one is measured from the base and the other is measured from the hull for LoS. My mistake.
Not exactly. The IG FAQ introduced some wording about measuring (dis)embarkation distances from the base rather than the hull; the GK and BA codices just have this same rule right in the book. They're exactly the same in that regard.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 08:14:41
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Happygrunt - nope, the rules are exactly the same for both SR and Valkyries.
IF you can make contact with the wings, which normal models on a plane level witht he base cannot do, you can assault the wings. And the tail, as that is still hull.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 16:23:48
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
East Coast
|
It doesnt matter ether way, youre not making physical contact with the hull. On ground level you cant make contact with the wings or any other part of the hull. Thats the debate, the guy tried to set his marines under my wing and claim the assault because he couldnt reach the base.
|
'When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.'
-Parody of the Litany of Command,
popular among commissar cadets |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 16:25:09
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"On ground level you cant make contact with the wings or any other part of the hull"....unless your model is tall enough. A Daemon Prince MAY be, for example. A Soulgrinder probably is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 16:28:46
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
East Coast
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"On ground level you cant make contact with the wings or any other part of the hull"....unless your model is tall enough. A Daemon Prince MAY be, for example. A Soulgrinder probably is.
Right, but these are regular marines. If you can physically touch it you can hit it, they cant
|
'When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.'
-Parody of the Litany of Command,
popular among commissar cadets |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/07 16:37:06
Subject: Vendetta assult-game in progress
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I was just pointing out that your absolute statement wasnt actually absolute. IN THIS CASE of using normal marines, the answer is correct. In other cases it may not be.
|
|
 |
 |
|