Switch Theme:

Which Shokk Attack Gun Mishaps Still Roll to Scatter?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Cataphract






I found a good thread on this subject but it was 2.5 years old. Has there been any consensus on this yet? Which Shokk Attack Gun mishaps (for lack of a better word) still require a roll for scatter?

Thanks in advance.

"The earth shakes as they come, and I doubt any creature alive can withstand the full impact of their weight." Chief Madrak Ironhide 
   
Made in us
Fully-charged Electropriest




Richmond, VA (We are legion)

I thought it was all of them...

DQ:90S--G-M----B--I+Pw40k94+ID+++A/sWD380R+T(I)DM
 
   
Made in us
Cataphract






Some of them definitely sound like they shouldn't require a scatter roll.

Rolls of 1,1 and 5,5 for sure sound like scatter isn't required and then there is the contentious question of 5,6.

"The earth shakes as they come, and I doubt any creature alive can withstand the full impact of their weight." Chief Madrak Ironhide 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






It would still scatter, as it uses the blast rules with the little exception of the marker not dealing any damage outside of the hole. Think of it as a .5" blast, it actually is possible to hit two models with it

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Cataphract






Jidmah wrote:It would still scatter, as it uses the blast rules with the little exception of the marker not dealing any damage outside of the hole. Think of it as a .5" blast, it actually is possible to hit two models with it


Thank you very much for your input. While I completely understand your interpretation, I am not so sure that is the correct way to play it.

5,6 Bzzap RAW is flawed. That is a fairly indisputable fact.

"5,6 Bzzap: The shokk attack gun's field collapses, opening a tiny portal into the warp. Only the model under the template hole is hit, but the shot is Strength 10. The gun may not fire next turn."

If Jidmah's interpretation is what the writer intended, then the writer failed to address the fact that it could hit more than one model. Per the RAW of the Bzzap entry, it says "model". Note that it is singular! How are we to know what happens if the hole falls over 2 models? This is not addressed by the RAW for Bzzap and anything we do results in our interpretation of the writer's intent. Did the writer overlook the fact that it could still hit two models? Nobody knows.

I lean towards the writer intended that the shot not scatter on a roll of 5,6. It is simply what I believe the intent was.

No matter which side you choose, you will be forced to make a determination of what the writer's intent was because the RAW is flawed either way you look at it. Either they failed to mention that the shot doesn't scatter or they failed to mention that the shot can hit more than one model, or thirdly they failed to mention how to decide which singular model takes the hit in the case of two being hit.

I sent an email to GW to see their response. People reported doing that in the 2.5 year old thread. I don't think it convinced any opposing view points to alter how they play it, but I wanted to ask so I would have a personal response and maybe just maybe it could get included in the FAQ. For now, I'll mark this as required to discuss with my opponent before the match.

"The earth shakes as they come, and I doubt any creature alive can withstand the full impact of their weight." Chief Madrak Ironhide 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Point is, we don't know. By RAW, if we don't know, we go back to default blast weapons, which scatter under 5th edition rules.
Whether you can actually hurt two models is an entirely new can of worms, mind you that Phil Kelly often overlooks such uncommon situations across his codices. Squadrons and KFF, Eldritch Storm on vehicles unable to physically spin or to hit for JOTWW, just to name a few. While I really like his codices, he isn't the most solid person on rules at all. Then again, that's probably a criteria for getting a job at GW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/07 13:40:49


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Hello again haendas.

Anyway, here's my two cents. (emphasizing the words I feel drive the point home, as per usual, haha)

page 35 of the codex says "Roll 2d6 to determine its Strength after placing the template but {{before rolling the scatter dice}}. If a double (or an 11) is rolled for the gun's Strength, consult the chart below".

The FAQ says that the opponent, in the case of an "oops" result, does not choose the target unit, but places the blast marker right over it.

My circle has always played it as doubles and 11's don't roll scatter dice. It was never in contention with us, we just went with the "chart below" never saying "then roll scatter as normal" at the end of the instruction. I'm NOT saying we're right about doing that, just that that's what we did.

Buuuuut... I can see why in Gah and Sploosh the word "resolve" causes ambiguity. Does resolve mean go back to treating it like an ordinance shot and resolve (scatter) it? Or does resolve mean resolve the hit that just occured on that target?

Near as I can tell, there's no official right answer. Play how you have been, and wait for the FAQ. Ask your TO before the tourney so it's not a point of contention.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: