Switch Theme:

Transports and the unit inside  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Could someone reference the page in the rules for the following two questions please?

1. Can a unit shoot at a transport then assault the unit inside the transport if the transport is destroyed?

2. Can a Farseer doom a unit that is in a transport if it is within 24''? If so, is the transport also doomed?

3. I remember reading that for weapons that scatter, the scatter can be modified by the BS. Is this up to the BS or max BS only? Example, BS 4 shoots - scatter 12" but want to modify it by 2" instead of 4".

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





denomic wrote:Could someone reference the page in the rules for the following two questions please?

1. Can a unit shoot at a transport then assault the unit inside the transport if the transport is destroyed?


Check under the dedicated transport rules, I think.

2. Can a Farseer doom a unit that is in a transport if it is within 24''? If so, is the transport also doomed?


This won't be explicitly stated in the rulebook. Thing is that you can't target a unit that isn't on the board unless given permission to do so. This answer is no.

That and the transport is a separate unit so it would only affect one or the other, not both.

3. I remember reading that for weapons that scatter, the scatter can be modified by the BS. Is this up to the BS or max BS only? Example, BS 4 shoots - scatter 12" but want to modify it by 2" instead of 4".Thanks!


Subtract the ballistic skill. There is no range to choose from, this is a hard number. Rules as are you say under 'blast' weapons.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






1. p67, just above the "Dedicated Transports" box.

2. No. Rulebook FAQ, p4, first question.

3. No, you must subtract the whole BS value. Rulebook, p30; note that it uses imperative language, so the player has no choice but to subtract the whole value.
   
Made in gb
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot




Scotland

1, yes you can. pg 67
2, yes as doom doesnt need line of sight. codex eldar psychic powers.
3, yup whole lot.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

kryczek wrote:2, yes as doom doesnt need line of sight. codex eldar psychic powers.

As Cheexsta already pointed out, psychic powers cannot target a unit in a transport unless the psyker is in the same transport.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

please note, if unit A shoots a transport and fails to pop it, and unit B succeeds unit A may not assault the unit

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





kryczek wrote:2, yes as doom doesnt need line of sight. codex eldar psychic powers.


Uh, you may not need line of sight, but you still can't use a psychic power on a unit that is embarked in a transport unless the Librarian is part of the embarked unit.

From the main rulebook FAQ to confirm:

Q: Can psychic powers be used on a unit embarked on
a transport? (p50)
A: For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a firm ‘No,
unless the psyker himself is in the unit being
transported’



3, yup whole lot.


Nope. You must subtract the full value as the rulebook tells you to. It doesn't allow you to subtract up to the value.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: