Switch Theme:

BA dread's grapple  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

Hi guys, tonight i was playing against a BA at my LGS, and it's the fist time i see a dread using this weapon the magma grapple or something like that, i kinda recalled the basics on the weapon, however here's the thing our mission was objectives with dawn of war, on the first turn the BA drop pod lands right next to my chimera... it shoots it with his Str8 thingy and scores a weapon destroyed, so here starts the grapple part, it stated that if a hit was dealt by the range attack it can attempt to pull the enemy vehicle to the dread, and it only stops if crossed by terrain or other vehicle, so this guy passes the test to drag it and being just landed from a drop pod it obviously drags it more than the distance between the two. The question is does the tank automatically enters on close combat with the dread? I read the rules and to my interpretation the vehicle stops at 1" from the dread, therefore being unable to assault it (since the dread just entered via deep strike), but this guy starts telling me how if the distance reaches the dread it can engage him on close combat. We couldn't find anything as a FAQ or something regarding this, how do you guys play it? and if there is a FAQ or something where could i find it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/20 07:12:23


CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in eu
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





Segmentum Europa

Without breaking out my codex, i'd say you were right about the deep striking rules. I presume the dread didn't drag the chimera around the drop pod did it? Cause if he did I'm not sure that's legal
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

"... will stop if it comes within 1" of ... another vehicle".

It stops when it hits 1", so never makes base to base contact with the Dread and cannot initiate an assault.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. The dread still has to make an assault move.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: