Switch Theme:

Monstrous creatures, infantry units, and cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Denver, CO

So I ran into an interesting scenario the other day playing against some tyranids. My opponent ran Hive Tyrant with 2 Tyrant Guard and an attached Tyranid Prime. The way the unit was set up, it was impossible for me to pick out the tyrant or prime with shooting. My opponent took a his idea a step further, always making sure there were other intervening infantry models between me and the unit. His reasoning was his whole unit including the tyrant gets cover from the intervening models.

I know monstrous creature and vehicle cover rules work differently, where more than 50% of the model most be obscured from view to claim cover. But with that unit set up as it is, does that whole unit get cover because 50% of the models in the unit get cover, or are any wounds allocated to the tyrant taken without cover unless that model is obscured? We ended up playing it as the later, because it is what made sense to up and we wanted to keep the game going.

40K:
Tarus 7th Regiment "Dragoons": IG 2500+ points
Speed Freaks: Orks 2000 points
Soul-Forged Angels: Blood Angels WIP
DzC:
PHR: 500 points
Hordes:
Trollkin: 50+ points 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

darkdm wrote:But with that unit set up as it is, does that whole unit get cover because 50% of the models in the unit get cover
Yes.
This is true even with vehicles and MCs.

The rules for CLAIMING cover change, but if (at least) 50% of a unit can claim cover saves, the unit can claim cover saves.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, you can claim cover saves for the unit if 50% or more of the unit are in cover. So if 2 of 3 infantry models are in cover then the whole unit gains a cover save even if the 3rd model is not in cover - because theyre an MC, for example
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Can't you do the smae thing with Thunderfire cannons? Hide the techmarine and show the cannon?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All over

liam0404 wrote:Can't you do the smae thing with Thunderfire cannons? Hide the techmarine and show the cannon?


No but you can put the techmarine in front of the cannon and then put the tech marine in cover.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, indeed you can. Just have the techmarine stand in terrain, and 1 of 2 models will be in cover == 50% or more == whole unit has cover.
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





cgage00 wrote:
liam0404 wrote:Can't you do the smae thing with Thunderfire cannons? Hide the techmarine and show the cannon?


No but you can put the techmarine in front of the cannon and then put the tech marine in cover.


The tech marine being in front of the cannon has nothing to do with it as he and the cannon are a unit and therefore do not block line of sight to each other. If he's standing in area terrain though then it's fair game (even better, if the terrain is a fortified ruin it's a 3+ cover).



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in us
Horrific Horror






So to get this correctly, if I put a Tyranid Prime (independent character) with a Trygon as a unit, and then bubble wrap with termagants then the Trygon would have cover?

The Prime would get cover from the gants, and because there are only 2 models in the unit this equals 50%, conferring the whole unit cover if what you are saying is true.

 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







L'Etat C'Est Moi wrote:So to get this correctly, if I put a Tyranid Prime (independent character) with a Trygon as a unit, and then bubble wrap with termagants then the Trygon would have cover?

The Prime would get cover from the gants, and because there are only 2 models in the unit this equals 50%, conferring the whole unit cover if what you are saying is true.
Can't put it with a Trygon as its a model which is always one model. You could put him with a carnifex to give the fex a save.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The Prime can't join the Trygon (since the Trygon only ever consists of one model). But if you use Carnifexen instead of the Trygon, the answer is yes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If the Prime could be joined to the Trygon then this would be a viable tactic.

However the Prime can not join the Trygon's unit, since the trygon is a unit that only ever consists of one model.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Better scenario, Hive Tyrant and a Tyrant Guard. HT can join TG (as an IC) if TG has cover then 50% has cover...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Happyjew wrote:Better scenario, Hive Tyrant and a Tyrant Guard. HT can join TG (as an IC) if TG has cover then 50% has cover...

Close - it's not "as an IC". It's similar, but you cannot pick out a HT in CC (for example).

I'm not sure how that's "better" than the Prime and a Fex.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually I was referring to Prime and Trygon. I must've missed Prime and Carny (still getting used to having 3 Carny's in a group instead of 1....)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, check out pg 35 of the codex, under Shield Wall

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/07 05:02:45


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: