Switch Theme:

Units granting cover by themselves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

After reading the thread below regarding cover saves for units which include MCs just like the tyranids i remembered this old trick a friend of mine pulls from time to time which seems really cheap but never got time to ask here.

When he move his gaunts squads he usually mix two squads in order to get cover save from both units like so:

Lets call 2 units of 15 gaunts each A and B, so what we see is something like this:

A A A A A
AA B B B B B
A AAAAAAA BB
BBB B B B B

Keeping the 2" coherence obviously, he claims cover save from both units since more than 50% of A is behind B, and at the same time more than 50% of B is behind A. We usually just start picking on him complaining each turn on how cheap that is till he stops doing it or just gets in assault range. Since we don't recall any rule not allowing you to just mix your units up that way. So i come to you dakka, and ask if there is something on paper regarding this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/21 22:34:47


CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This was covered in the rulebook FAQ.

Rulebook FAQ wrote:
Q: Who gets the 4+ cover save for intervening models
when two units are intermingled? (p21)
A: The unit with the model closest to the enemy that is
firing does not have a cover save

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: