Switch Theme:

Space Wolf Saga of the Hunter question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Guys I'm not a SW player but posting this for a friend :


Can an IC with Saga of the Hunter attach himself to Wolf Scouts and use their special outflank ability?

He did mention the SW FAQ possibly saying yes but being vague.

Any help appreciated . ( I have read rulebook and IC not being able to confer abilities to unit and vice versa but as I mentioned I am not as familiar with SW )

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf
Scouts pack outflank? (p27)
A. No, unless he has the Saga of the Hunter, or another
special rule, which allows him to outflank

40k FAQ

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





DeathReaper wrote:Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf
Scouts pack outflank? (p27)
A. No, unless he has the Saga of the Hunter, or another
special rule, which allows him to outflank

40k FAQ


The answer is not exactly clear, unless you are saying that the Wolf Scout pack special "behind enemy lines" is included as an Outflank ability.

"Behind Enemy Lines" is a lot more than Outflank.

That which does not kill me, makes me stronger 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





razorramon31 wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf
Scouts pack outflank? (p27)
A. No, unless he has the Saga of the Hunter, or another
special rule, which allows him to outflank

40k FAQ


The answer is not exactly clear, unless you are saying that the Wolf Scout pack special "behind enemy lines" is included as an Outflank ability.

"Behind Enemy Lines" is a lot more than Outflank.


The only requirement to OBEL with the Wolf Scout unit is to be able to Outflank. Giving the IC Saga of the Hunter allows him to Outflank. When the Wolf Scout unit Outflanks, they OBEL. An IC with Saga of the Hunter joined to that unit is part of that unit for all intents and purposes except close combat where he fights as a separate unit,
   
Made in se
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






Brother Ramses wrote:
razorramon31 wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf
Scouts pack outflank? (p27)
A. No, unless he has the Saga of the Hunter, or another
special rule, which allows him to outflank

40k FAQ


The answer is not exactly clear, unless you are saying that the Wolf Scout pack special "behind enemy lines" is included as an Outflank ability.

"Behind Enemy Lines" is a lot more than Outflank.


The only requirement to OBEL with the Wolf Scout unit is to be able to Outflank. Giving the IC Saga of the Hunter allows him to Outflank. When the Wolf Scout unit Outflanks, they OBEL. An IC with Saga of the Hunter joined to that unit is part of that unit for all intents and purposes except close combat where he fights as a separate unit,


Sounds like a decent interpretation, but isnt that like saying an IC that place himself in reserv with a unit that is able to deep strike may deep strike himself (for example, a guy in powerarmour that join teleporting terminators), because its not OBEL, its just BEL.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/24 08:53:25


Trolls n Robots, battle reports på svenska https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbeiubugFqIO9IWf_FV9q7A 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No it isnt.

WHen wolf scouts Outflank they use OBEL, taking the unit with them. It is a special rule conferred to the unit

Now find a rule saying that DS is conferred to an IC that doesnt have it, and youd be in a similar situation.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Well then, so the consensus is that "yes" an IC with Saga of the hunter may use the WSP "behind enemy lines" if he is attached to the unit.

Now I would like to add this question:

Since a Wolf Guard Battle Leader (IC) does have Saga of the Hunter, can a Thunder Wolf Mount be also picked as part of his wargear? With the two fenrisian wolves? I see nothing in the codex that prevents him from taking a TWM and Saga of the Hunter.
It just says that Jet Packs, Bikes, and terminator armor may not be chosen if saga of the hunter is picked.

Would love a confirmation on this...

That which does not kill me, makes me stronger 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




P64 - INFANTRY ONLY
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





nosferatu1001 wrote:P64 - INFANTRY ONLY


The above.

Frankly, even as a SW player, TWM with Saga of the Hunter would be waaaaay to powerful.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



NE Ohio

A TWM equipped character may only join units of TWC or Fenrisian Wolves as per pg. 62
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Landrain wrote:A TWM equipped character may only join units of TWC or Fenrisian Wolves as per pg. 62


Which is moot point anyway because he cannot take it in the first place. A WGBL on a TWM alone Outflanking could run through an entire castled army.
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




ok i know it says infantry only on page 64...
but on page 85 it says
"may only be taken by a model n power armour that does not have a jump pack or space marine bike.." nothing about TWM and those are under the same heading...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And? Thats entirely irrelevant.

A TWM makes you cavalry. Is that Infantry? No? Then you cannot take that Saga.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




At every major tournament, the concensus is that TWC can take saga of the hunter I know at adepticon they allowed it. Stelek does it all the time.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So tournaments break the rules? Big deal. They do it all the time. Stelek is also not the...best when it comes to knowin gthe rules of the game.

INFANTRY ONLY means INFANTRY ONLY. You are not infantry when riding a TWM, meaning you have an illegal selection of Saga.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






arch1angel wrote:ok i know it says infantry only on page 64...
but on page 85 it says
"may only be taken by a model n power armour that does not have a jump pack or space marine bike.." nothing about TWM and those are under the same heading...


Do you have any material that also states that Page 85 supersedes Page 64?

Purchase options may technically allow for the TWMounted Character to purchase Saga of the Hunter, but the Saga of the Hunter only does what it does for Infantry.

It is clear that the mounted character may purchase it, it is also clear that the saga only has any rules for infantry which the mounted character is not.

So, In short the Purchase is legal, but there is no benefit and the points are wasted.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





We did an article including a rather lengthy discussion of Wolf Guard Battle Leaders, Thunderwolf Mounts, and Saga of the Hunter.

The article can be found here.

Ultimately I'd argue that the WGBL cannot take both a Thunderwolf Mount and Saga of the Hunter because the "infantry only" language makes them mutually exclusive.

I think it's debatable whether both options can be selected and the Saga of the Hunter simply doesn't function (i.e. a list with a WGBL carrying both can still be a legal list, but the Saga provides no benefit), or whether it's illegal to take them together at all.

At every major tournament, the concensus is that TWC can take saga of the hunter I know at adepticon they allowed it. Stelek does it all the time.
-Bagtagger


Just because some tournaments allow it, and some well-known players do it, doesn't make it a correct interpretation of the rules.

Hope this helps!
-GK


Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: