Switch Theme:

Warlocks w/ Farseer - free or not?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

Hello, Dakkanauts. Please answer a question that a friend & I have been disputing recently. I say that if a Warlock contingent is added to a Farseer that they cost 25 points base each before adding any psyker abilities, and he says that they're free when attached to the Farseer. Who's right? Thanks!

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Manhunter





HIDING IN METAL BAWKSES!

If it says they cost points then they are not free...

Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.

"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Warlocks cost points as stated in the codex. The only requirement is that for each Farseer you can take a unit of Warlocks, instead of 1 Warlock add-on that Guardians and Wraithguards can take.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

I wish they were free.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 02:07:42


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

Thanks, mates!

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Also you dont "add them" to the farseer - they are a separate unit that the Farseer CAN join.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Or not as he chooses (in his movement phase).

They are not a retinue.
They are an additional HQ unit that does not take up a slot (but is still a separate HQ unit in all regards for things like DoW).

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in pl
Screaming Shining Spear




NeoGliwice III

puma713 wrote:I wish they were free.

10 jetlocks fully packed with powers for 75 points? And you get a farseer with that but who cares

Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

Chromedog, I must disagree with you on this one (DoW). The Rule Book only states that you can deploy only one from HQ selections; however, the Codex specifically states under Farseer that "This unit [of Warlocks] and the Farseer are a single HQ choice." If they're treated as a single HQ choice, I guess that means if you're playing annihilation then the entire unit (Farseer & Warlocks) also would count as one KP.

chromedog wrote:Or not as he chooses (in his movement phase).

They are not a retinue.
They are an additional HQ unit that does not take up a slot (but is still a separate HQ unit in all regards for things like DoW).

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

They are counted as a single choice for the purpose of the FOC. Other then that they are always treated as seperate units. As such they both count as KPs and are restricted by DoW. A seer council can not start on the board with a Farseer.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Makhoy wrote:Chromedog, I must disagree with you on this one (DoW). The Rule Book only states that you can deploy only one from HQ selections; however, the Codex specifically states under Farseer that "This unit [of Warlocks] and the Farseer are a single HQ choice." If they're treated as a single HQ choice, I guess that means if you're playing annihilation then the entire unit (Farseer & Warlocks) also would count as one KP.

chromedog wrote:Or not as he chooses (in his movement phase).

They are not a retinue.
They are an additional HQ unit that does not take up a slot (but is still a separate HQ unit in all regards for things like DoW).


FOC "Choices"/"selections" do not = "units".

DOW allows 1 HQ "Unit".

The same page has the rules on Multiple units as 1 selection, And the DoW rules themselves even further clarify that DTs are separate "Units" to their 1 FOC Choice of them and the unit purchased for them.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

BlueDagger wrote:They are counted as a single choice for the purpose of the FOC. Other then that they are always treated as seperate units. As such they both count as KPs and are restricted by DoW. A seer council can not start on the board with a Farseer.


Please tell me where I can find this in either the Codex or the Rule Book. I'm still not convinced.

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

As Kommisar said: "HQ choice" has no bearing on the distinction as units. Warlocks are not a retinue therefor are counted as a seperate unit. You would need something that states they are counted a single "unit"... which would be a retinue... which they are not.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The codex says they are a single HQ choice, not a single HQ unit. Dawn of War (and Kill Points) states HQ unit. It's the same as Troops with Dedicated Transports. The DT is bought with the unit, but is a separate unit for DoW and KP.

Ninja'd...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/01 15:04:23


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Pages 92 and 93 of the BRB.

Page 92 is under the Bold heading of "Multiple Unit Choices" and details that while some units are purchased as 1 FOC Slot, they are separate Units(and gives Dedicated transports as an example of a second unit purchased as the same FOC Slot as the other unit).

Page 93 is in the Dawn of War Deployment Type where it tells you that you are only allowed 1 HQ unit, and 2 Troops units, then it reminds you in the example that the 1 Troops unit is deployed in it's Dedicated Transport(which counts as the second troops unit).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Lebanon, PA

Got it, Kommissar, found it. Thank you VERY much.

-Makhoy

current Eldar stats: 9-4-15
check out my Eldar P&M blog: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/346372.page 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Never a problem

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: