D.Azrinae wrote:Can you take Dedicated Transports that are not linked to a squad? The relevant rules simply say "...may take a *****" and the DT rules only list them as they may be taken and they are not part of the normal FOC. I don't see anything that is keeping me from taking an empty Rhino or Razorback as backup transports.
Is this correct?
You will note that the Dedicated transport box-out in the
BRB specifically refers to the "Transport Option" units in Codices; so Dedicated transports are defined as those units purchased for other units.
Then you get to the Codices themselves; there are 2 places in them that talk about the Dedicated transports(aside from each individual entry that is allowed to take any
DTs, which only tell you which
DTs may be taken).
The first is the Armylist page where the
FOC is shown ad the unit profiles are broken down, It tells you that that section of the entry will list any Dedicated Transports that the unit can take.
The second is the page where the dedicated Transports are found, It tells you t again reference the
BRB and that many units have the option of taking them.
Now going back to the
BRB for another point of note; Page 87 discusses Dedicated transports again and their relationship to the
FOC: While they occupy no slots(or selections, or whatever you want to call units that fill spaces in the
FOC); they are always of the slot/selection/whatever of their parent unit.
Every unit in Warhammer
40k has some relation to the
FOC, whether they fill/occupy a slot/selection/whatever or not, they are from either:
HQ, Elite, Troop, Fast attack, Heavy support, or now: Spearhead. There is not 1 unit that sits outside of these(Legendary units do not count because Apocalypse games do not use the
FOC at all; and Super-heavies/Gargantuan Creatures in Spearhead games are part of the Spearhead slots).