Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/05 18:20:38
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
In the rules it states you can have the same discipline for your crypteks but not the same unique war gear. So are the staffs unique war gear or part of that harbinger normal gear. I get Nightmare Shroud, Veil of Darkness are unique but is the abyssal staff unique as well as it says you can exchange your staff of light for it. So are they weapon upgrades or unique items that can only be taken per royal court?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/05 18:27:05
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
As I understand it, you can have multiple Crypteks of the same discipline (and thus have the same staffs), but each ability that that comes with it can only be present once per court.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/05 21:47:00
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The way I read it each Harbinger would have his specific 'staff' but you would only be able to take the items that are listed under the heading "May then take any of the following" only once per Royal Court. For example, I believe you could upgrade three Crypteks in a single Royal Court to Harbingers of Destruction and each would have an Eldritch Lance but only one of those three could take a Solar Pulse.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/05 23:25:55
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
scythewing wrote:In the rules it states you can have the same discipline for your crypteks but not the same unique war gear. So are the staffs unique war gear or part of that harbinger normal gear. I get Nightmare Shroud, Veil of Darkness are unique but is the abyssal staff unique as well as it says you can exchange your staff of light for it. So are they weapon upgrades or unique items that can only be taken per royal court?
Careful friend, you may get flamed for not understanding what is clearly printed. j/k (happened to me however)
I interpret it the same as Ghaz. Kinda ironic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 04:00:33
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:The way I read it each Harbinger would have his specific 'staff' but you would only be able to take the items that are listed under the heading "May then take any of the following" only once per Royal Court. For example, I believe you could upgrade three Crypteks in a single Royal Court to Harbingers of Destruction and each would have an Eldritch Lance but only one of those three could take a Solar Pulse.
Went to talk to a few GW cronies per se` We come to the conclusion as was quoted here. This needs to be FAQ'ed because the phrasing could be better to avoid confusion.
|
Adam's Motto: Paint, Create, Play, but above all, have fun. -and for something silly below-
"We are the Ultramodrines, And We Shall Fear No Trolls. bear this USR with pride".
Also, how does one apply to be a member of the Ultramodrines? Are harsh trials involved, ones that would test my faith as a wargamer and resolve as a geek?
You must recite every rule of Dakka Dakka. BACKWARDS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 04:58:56
Subject: Re:little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
|
I originally understood that you could have two Harbingers of same kind but only one of them could take the special weapon, other one would be stuck with Staff of Light. After re-reading the description I think the description doesn't makes sense unless the Conclave-specific staffs are not considered "unique crypteks gear"... Hmmm...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 20:26:47
Subject: Re:little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
The staff replacement isn't an option, as it is a mandatory switch once you determine which harbinger you take. Therefore it doesn't apply to the wargear options restriction.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 20:48:05
Subject: Re:little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
The weapon that each Discipline gets doesn't count towards the wargear limit. So you can have 5 eldrich lances in a court (as they are the basic weapon for the Harbinger of Destruction discipline), but you can't have 5 flares, as they are a wargear option and therefore is limited to only one per court.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/06 20:51:16
Subject: Re:little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The weapon is not part of the "unique" (to each court )wargear, so every single cryptek can take the weapon exchange, but only 1 per court can take each item of wargear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 13:00:07
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Speaking of Eldritch Lances (and my appy polly lodgies for the bump) That's just the name of the weapon, correct? We're not supposed to actually count it as a lance?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 13:15:23
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
Where people Live Free, or Die
|
Bylak wrote:Speaking of Eldritch Lances (and my appy polly lodgies for the bump) That's just the name of the weapon, correct? We're not supposed to actually count it as a lance?
Yes. "Edlritch Lance" is just a snazzy name. It does not have any of the Lance rules.
|
Menaphite Dynasty Necrons - 6000
Karak Hirn Dwarfs - 2500
How many lawyers does it take to change a light bulb?
-- Fifty-Four -- Eight to argue, one to get a continuance, one to object, one to demur, two to research precedents, one to dictate a letter, one to stipulate, five to turn in their time cards, one to depose, one to write interrogatories, two to settle, one to order a secretary to change the bulb, and twenty eight to bill for professional services.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 14:19:33
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Same as an Assault Cannon is not Assault, and a Heavy Flamer isnt Heavy
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 14:20:58
Subject: little confused on Necron Cryptek gear
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Same as an Assault Cannon is not Assault, and a Heavy Flamer isnt Heavy
and melta bombs aren't melta ...
|
|
 |
 |
|