Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 23:26:14
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Nothing really stopping anyone from doing this, and if there is by all means chime in.
Okay, so you start the game with 10 scarabs with 9 spyders behind them, and thanks to Imotekh the first few turns will probably be nightfight. You are allowed to place the new scarabs anywhere with the unit, so you place the first 3 2" in front of the scarabs, the next 3 2" from then and the finally 3 2" from them. You have now gained 10.5 inches before you move. Repeat for the next few turns and you can mass assault any mech army.
|
Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 23:31:53
Subject: Re:Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 23:35:56
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
This is currently one of the major points of contention about the new Necron codex, so you're going to see wildly different opinions on both sides. There currently is no consensus on the tactic's legality.
However, I do think most people are of the opinion that even if it is proven to be legal now, it will certainly be FAQ'd into oblivion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 23:40:50
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
Agreed, this is one of those things you can do currently, but if you do it in a tournament you will get a big fat 0 for any kind of sportsmanship.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/07 23:55:09
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Considering they are "technically" made at the same time, they have to all maintain coherence with the original unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/08 00:01:24
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Considering they are "technically" made at the same time, they have to all maintain coherence with the original unit.
This has been brought up several times but has not rules backing. You roll the Spyders one at a time, therefor once a model is placed it becomes a part of that unit.
It's dirty, but legal. You won't make any friends and expect a TO to Dreadsock you for trying it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/08 00:05:41
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Or not legally as each happens at the same time, regardless of if you have to roll them seperate.
Kind of like if a unit has 3 Plasma guns, you wanna shoot all 3. However the first kills the only target. The other two still have to roll and see if they overheat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/08 00:26:52
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Thats why I said 3 deep, so you place them all at the same time for each unit. First 3 are 2" away from the original unit, then the next are 2" further up from the first, then the 3rd wave is 2" further then that. Even at its legalist, you gain 10.5" and really how can they FAQ it? That they have to be placed at the back? Big whoop its still awesome.
As for sportsmanship, what sportsmanship? Most major tournaments short of Tball of skulls actually put any weight into it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/08 00:27:43
Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/08 00:46:35
Subject: Scarabs Congo line of death
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Or not legally as each happens at the same time, regardless of if you have to roll them seperate.
Kind of like if a unit has 3 Plasma guns, you wanna shoot all 3. However the first kills the only target. The other two still have to roll and see if they overheat.
Not quite. If you fire all three guns of the unit you have to roll for the results. The Scarab Hive wargear is different. The player rolls for the effect of the wargear individually for each Spyder not the Spyder unit. So yes, I could roll for a Spyder and it die and decide not to use the others, even with in the same unit.
For a much more lively debate go here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/60/408474.page#3545994
|
|
|
 |
 |
|