Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:10:24
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
So lets say i shoot a rhino with a tesla destructor, all units within 6" take d6 str 5 hits. Lets say there is another rhino and a vindicator within 6" of the rhino i originally shot. The rhino can have damage caused to it, however the vindicator I am uncertain what armor facing it should be hit on. If it is side it can be glanced on a 6. I have to assume it is hit in the front armor or whatever facing is facing the gun that shot at the rhino, or could it hit side because it is being redirected from the rhino onto the vindicator as sort of described in the codex. My initial thought is front armor, but it seems kind of unclear. EDIT: Add to this how to work out if someone can take a cover save as well...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 03:15:12
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:15:34
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Resolve the shot against the armor facing that the shooting unit is in. Unless otherwise directed, the fluff of the shot bounding off a rhino to a new target shouldn't influence what armor facing you hit.
Edit: Determine cover saves in the same manner.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 03:15:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:25:32
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
I would and do resolve the arc damage counting the target as the 'firer' since to me that makes more sense since the description of the weapons means that the bolts arc out of the target and not the barrel.
|
2500
5000
12,500
4000
5000
2500
3500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 03:26:37
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
Just to tell ya, every unit within 6" doesn't automatically take d6 hits. It's like the stormlords lightning. You need to roll a d6 for each unit and on a 6 they take d6 hits.
My understanding of it would be that it would come from the unit you shot as the source. Since fluff wise it's bouncing off the unit you shot and zapping others. With that in mind I'd say if the unit you shot has its majority on his side armor then I'd say it was hit on his side.
|
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
"I want to tailor this list so much that I can wear it to tournaments and win both 'best looking army' and 'best dressed'. "
2500? soon will change
W:15 L:11 D:8 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 04:12:03
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Fluff =/= rules. If nothing says otherwise you would follow the rules in the main rulebook and determine what side of the vehicle is hit and cover from the firer.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 11:32:15
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Ghaz wrote:Fluff =/= rules. If nothing says otherwise you would follow the rules in the main rulebook and determine what side of the vehicle is hit and cover from the firer.
By trend; the first statement is(now) incorrect.
Fluff even = rules in specific rules in this codex.
However, Specific does beat general; and the Shooting vehicles rules are more specific rules than the fluff.
Sight-unseen ruling on the Tesla weapon rules vs secondary vehicle hits: Facing from the shooting model, unless otherwise specified in the Tesla weapon's rules.
Using a variant of OP's Example: vindicator is facing the Tesla Weapon bearer, Rhino primary target ins in the Vindicator's back arc: Rhino is hit, shots bounce off: vindicator is hit in front Arc.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 15:41:29
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No, fluff =/= rules when there is already a rule covering the situation in question as it is in this case.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 21:05:55
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Read past the statement that you take offense to; doing so will often cause you to not repeat latter parts of the offending post.
In other words: I said that in my middle line; More specific always trumps, and there is a more specific rule than the Arc's Fluff: the "Vehicle Facing and Armor Values" followed by "armour Penetration" both on Page 60 of the BRB.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 21:20:48
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Why not simply try to start right from the currently hit unit's center, then draw a line to the next unit's center and then decide on what kind of armor is hit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 21:25:45
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Lets not even get into cover saves. This is going to be an argument in the making. From gun to Target A no cover. From gun to target B there is cover. From Target A to Target B there is no cover. So if you hit target A with an arc weapon and it then arcs to Target B, does B then get a cover save?
|
1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 21:26:53
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
MJThurston wrote:Lets not even get into cover saves. This is going to be an argument in the making. From gun to Target A no cover. From gun to target B there is cover. From Target A to Target B there is no cover. So if you hit target A with an arc weapon and it then arcs to Target B, does B then get a cover save? If B was not in cover, why would B get a cover save? In your case, B seems to be in cover thus it gets a cover save.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/09 21:27:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 21:49:19
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
pg. 82- "Arc: Once the tesla destructor's initial shot has been resolved, roll a D6 for each other unit (friendly and enemy, engaged and unengaged) within 6" of the target. If you roll a 6, that unit suffers D6 automatic Strength 5, AP - hits."
So, if the cannon targets a transport, and blows it up, there is a chance the unit that was inside will get hit on a roll of a '6', correct? It happens after the initial shot has been resolved, so the unit would have disembarked from the wrecked vehicle, and is now within 6" of the inital target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 22:22:22
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
No because the units do not get out of the vehicle until the damage is resolved. You roll to hit, roll to see if anyone else is hit, then roll damage.
|
1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 22:39:02
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MJThurston wrote:No because the units do not get out of the vehicle until the damage is resolved. You roll to hit, roll to see if anyone else is hit, then roll damage.
You don't roll to arc until after the initial hit has been resolved. Part of that resolution is resolving the explosion/wrecked status of the vehicle.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:00:43
Subject: Tesla arc and vehicles?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. If your initial target was a transport vehicle you could indeed end up arcing into th transported unit.
|
|
 |
 |
|