Switch Theme:

EDITED: Court and more Crons shannies!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





I read the Death Ray under doom scyth 30 times. And while fairness would suggest if it passes over a unit of 20 orc boyz and hits 3 bases only 3 bases would take the hit. But the wording would suggest that the entire unit takes a hit for each model in the unit. It truly can be read either way.

My concerns are, Traditionally (with template weapons or more like a "draw a straight" line attack like with Jaws of the World wolf) It says "each model under the X, takes the hit". Why would they not of worded it like such here, if that was the intention.

Moving on, Can you have Overlord, who takes say 4 court members. This now forms a unit right? Now it says the court can break off and join other said units. But can 1 cryptek stay with overlord and then Join a unit of 20 warriors (Overlord and cryptek)? I would assume No since the court itself forms a unit and 1 part of the "unit" stayed with the Overlord. Im just looking for a little clarification.

Could you have 2 Overlords, Each Over lord takes 1 Cryptek as its court. Each Cryptek joins a unit of Warriors. Now Each Overlord joins the opposite cryptek in the warrior unit. (The Cryptiks that were not with their court) ? Once the Cryptek leaves its respected Overlord/court, the Over Lord goes back to being an IC? Now free to join units, as long as it is not a unit with HIS court in it?

Silly question as well probably, When does deepstrike, and then movement occur? Specifically, can a Monolith Deep Strike and then a unit on the Board use its magic door same movement phase?

Thanks in advance.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/11/09 12:45:52


2014 Templecon/Onslaught 40k T, Best overall
2015 Templecon/Onslaught 40kGT, Best overall
2015, Nova open 40kGT Semifinalist.
2015 40k Golden Sprue Champ.
2016 Best General Portal Annual Spring 40kGT
2017 Best General, 3rd Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
2018 Triumph 40k GT. Best Overall.
2018 Best General, 4th Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.



,  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You send the crytek off to join the warriors, the overlord then joins. Cant do it anyother way
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Tsilber wrote: I read the Death Ray under doom scyth 30 times. And while fairness would suggest if it passes over a unit of 20 orc boyz and hits 3 bases only 3 bases would take the hit. But the wording would suggest that the entire unit takes a hit for each model in the unit. It truly can be read either way.

My concerns are, Traditionally (with template weapons or more like a "draw a straight" line attack like with Jaws of the World wolf) It says "each model under the X, takes the hit". Why would they not of worded it like such here, if that was the intention.



There is already another thread on this very page discussing this topic.

Moving on, Can you have Overlord, who takes say 4 court members. This now forms a unit right? Now it says the court can break off and join other said units. But can 1 cryptek stay with overlord and then Join a unit of 20 warriors (Overlord and cryptek)? I would assume No since the court itself forms a unit and 1 part of the "unit" stayed with the Overlord. Im just looking for a little clarification.


The Overlord is not part of the court. Yes, he can join the Court as he can join any unit, but he is not part of the Court by default. But yes it is possible to have a Court made up of only a single lesser Lord or Cryptek after splitting off the rest of the Court's models into other units at the start of the game (so effectively yes you can have a Cryptek become part of a unit at the start of the game and then the Lord can join that unit as he's an IC).

Could you have 2 Overlords, Each Over lord takes 1 Cryptek as its court. Each Cryptek joins a unit of Warriors. Now Each Overlord joins the opposite cryptek in the warrior unit. (The Cryptiks that were not with their court) ? Once the Cryptek leaves its respected Overlord/court, the Over Lord goes back to being an IC? Now free to join units, as long as it is not a unit with HIS court in it?


What you describe is entirely possible, but again you seem to be confused that an Overlord loses his IC status when a Court is taken. This is not the case.

Silly question as well probably, When does deepstrike, and then movement occur? Specifically, can a Monolith Deep Strike and then a unit on the Board use its magic door same movement phase?


Deep Strike happens at the start of the turn, the same time the Monolith's portal is supposed to function, so there is no logical way the Portal can be used to teleport a unit the same turn it Deep Strikes in, as at the start of the turn the Monolith is not on the table.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/09 12:42:02


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Thanks for Clearifying Yak. Once it is pointed out that the Overlord Does not lose his IC status, things are a lot clearer.

I see the Death Ray thread now, apologies for beating a dead horse.


2014 Templecon/Onslaught 40k T, Best overall
2015 Templecon/Onslaught 40kGT, Best overall
2015, Nova open 40kGT Semifinalist.
2015 40k Golden Sprue Champ.
2016 Best General Portal Annual Spring 40kGT
2017 Best General, 3rd Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
2018 Triumph 40k GT. Best Overall.
2018 Best General, 4th Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.



,  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: