Switch Theme:

Catacomb Command Barge, Monolith & Re-Animation questions need answering  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

1. In Dawn of War deployment, can I start my Overlord in his transport and does it count as a troop unit or what?

2. Can monoliths arriving from reserve use their portal to disembark a necron unit also arriving from reserve simultaneously?

3. The entry for the monolith portal says NECRON UNIT....what is a NECRON unit? Unlike the old codex where it specifid specific units as 'necron' units...do we go by name alone? "NECRON Warriors, NECRON immortals, NECRON destroyers, etc etc?" Or does this allow us to port ANY non-vehicle unit in the codex through? Including...C'tans...

4. When performing RE-ANIMATION rolls it seems possible according to the rules to GAIN inches of movement by placing the "new" (reanimated) models in coherency in front of the unit. This also works in reverse in order to avoid unwanted assaults by cutting off the front line during the shooting phase and then reanimating them behind your last (just out of assault reach) guy. Is this legal?

5. Abyssal Staff....WTF??? You wound agains the targets LEADERSHIP??? How the hell is that supposedto work...they didn't even bother to grace us with an example...."Oh yeah my template is strength 8 and im attacking your leadership with it"....

That makes no sense to me and furthermore being a flamer template and all...i assume we would get quite a number of models under it, so how would it work agaisnt mixed leadership values in a unit? There's a lot of those out there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 13:38:35


1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Akaiyou wrote:1. In Dawn of War deployment, can I start my Overlord in his transport and does it count as a troop unit or what?


Read the Dawn of War rules again in the rulebook, including the example they give and you will have your answer (hint: dedicated transports a still a separate unit from the unit embarked on them).

2. Can monoliths arriving from reserve use their portal to disembark a necron unit also arriving from reserve simultaneously?



The Portal teleports units at the start of the turn, and if at the start of the turn the Monolith is in Reserve, how could it possible teleport a unit?

3. The entry for the monolith portal says NECRON UNIT....what is a NECRON unit? Unlike the old codex where it specifid specific units as 'necron' units...do we go by name alone? "NECRON Warriors, NECRON immortals, NECRON destroyers, etc etc?" Or does this allow us to port ANY non-vehicle unit in the codex through? Including...C'tans...


Any unit in the Necron codex is a Necron unit. Yes, C'Tans can teleport through a Monolith portal.


4. When performing RE-ANIMATION rolls it seems possible according to the rules to GAIN inches of movement by placing the "new" (reanimated) models in coherency in front of the unit. This also works in reverse in order to avoid unwanted assaults by cutting off the front line during the shooting phase and then reanimating them behind your last (just out of assault reach) guy. Is this legal?


Yep, this is completely fine in either situation.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
Akaiyou wrote:
5. Abyssal Staff....WTF??? You wound agains the targets LEADERSHIP??? How the hell is that supposedto work...they didn't even bother to grace us with an example...."Oh yeah my template is strength 8 and im attacking your leadership with it"....

That makes no sense to me and furthermore being a flamer template and all...i assume we would get quite a number of models under it, so how would it work agaisnt mixed leadership values in a unit? There's a lot of those out there.


Its the exact same weapon that the Callidus Assassin has in the Grey Knight codex and that's pretty much exactly the same as it was before in the old Daemonhunters and Witch Hunters books. This is not something crazy and new.

GW's rulebook FAQ says that whenever you need a unit characteristic value, you use the majority or the highest value in the unit if there is no majority.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 13:41:57


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

The thing is...reserves are rolled at the start of the turn...the monolith portal's effect is applied at the start of the movement phase.

I would argue that you come from reserve FIRST the same as other stuff that happen at the start of the turn (before anything else) like infiltrating and scout moves (at start of turn 1)

Coming from reserves takes priority over the monolith's portal ability and in the monolith entry it states that it can port through units ON the field OR in reserves.

So woudln't it just be a matter of what comes first the chicken or the egg?

In that case...isn't this the same as dropping a monolith in via deep strike and entering your unit onto the table and then porting it to the monolith all in the same turn?

What's not legal about that? They both arrive at the start of the movement phase....and while still in the 'start of the movement phase' The monolith uses the portal.

There's no precedent that I know of, that says that if you have several items/abilities that activate at the start of the movement phase (or any other phase) that using one of them 'first' negates the others.

The way I'm looking at it, if the monolith is on the field, and it's still the start of the movement phase (a.k.a no moves have been made) then it doesnt at all contradict the ruling. If im wrong please correct me

Also is the monolith allowed to shoot on the same turn it deep strikes? It was able to do so before, and it seems to still be able to do so. While deep striking counts vehicles as moving cruising speed...the monolith's own rule over-rides the normal vehicle rules stating that it can never move faster than combat speed. Thus it would deep strike and count as having been stationary right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 14:12:10


1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Akaiyou wrote:The thing is...reserves are rolled at the start of the turn...the monolith portal's effect is applied at the start of the movement phase.

I would argue that you come from reserve FIRST the same as other stuff that happen at the start of the turn (before anything else) like infiltrating and scout moves (at start of turn 1)

Coming from reserves takes priority over the monolith's portal ability and in the monolith entry it states that it can port through units ON the field OR in reserves.

So woudln't it just be a matter of what comes first the chicken or the egg?

In that case...isn't this the same as dropping a monolith in via deep strike and entering your unit onto the table and then porting it to the monolith all in the same turn?

What's not legal about that? They both arrive at the start of the movement phase....and while still in the 'start of the movement phase' The monolith uses the portal.

There's no precedent that I know of, that says that if you have several items/abilities that activate at the start of the movement phase (or any other phase) that using one of them 'first' negates the others.

The way I'm looking at it, if the monolith is on the field, and it's still the start of the movement phase (a.k.a no moves have been made) then it doesnt at all contradict the ruling. If im wrong please correct me



If you look at the turn sequence, the start of the turn is the start of the movement phase. There is no phase before the movement phase.

And yes, there is precisely that precedent. They have ruled that models arriving from Reserves cannot use abilities that occur at the start of the turn. There is a question in the Eldar FAQ about that exact issue.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

Fair enough...

So to make things clear a Deep Striking monolith may not use it's portal to bring in units already on the table either. And the precedent is a Eldar FAQ ruling?

I'll take you at your word on that.

Also is the monolith allowed to shoot on the same turn it deep strikes? It was able to do so before, and it seems to still be able to do so. While deep striking counts vehicles as moving cruising speed...the monolith's own rule over-rides the normal vehicle rules stating that it can never move faster than combat speed. Thus it would deep strike and count as having been stationary right?

To not even be able to fire on deep strike makes the monolith quite the flying turkey with no abilities/attacks to use. Very unlike it's previous incarnation. That was able to fire and port units through on arrival.

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Akaiyou wrote:Fair enough...

So to make things clear a Deep Striking monolith may not use it's portal to bring in units already on the table either. And the precedent is a Eldar FAQ ruling?

I'll take you at your word on that.

Also is the monolith allowed to shoot on the same turn it deep strikes? It was able to do so before, and it seems to still be able to do so. While deep striking counts vehicles as moving cruising speed...the monolith's own rule over-rides the normal vehicle rules stating that it can never move faster than combat speed. Thus it would deep strike and count as having been stationary right?

To not even be able to fire on deep strike makes the monolith quite the flying turkey with no abilities/attacks to use. Very unlike it's previous incarnation. That was able to fire and port units through on arrival.


Yes, it can fire to full effect when Deep Striking because its 'heavy' rule means it always counts as stationary for firing.




Automatically Appended Next Post:


And actually I can do better than the Eldar FAQ ruling. This is from the rulebook FAQ:

Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that
occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on
the turn they arrive? (p94)

A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise.



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 14:21:03


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The reason behind that is that you roll for reserves in the beginning of the turn, but reserves don't move on until you're actually moving... which, by the time you're there you aren't at the beginning of the turn anymore.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually its because the start of the turn is an instance, and one unit cannot perform "arriving from reserves" at the same time as "X" because they are not on the board at the instant you perform X

You then cannot perform X *after* mvoing onto the board because you are no longer at the start of the turn / movement phase any longer, you are "during" the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

Alright the rulebook FAQ trumphs all I concede.

But correct me if im wrong...wasn't the monolith previously able to port in and teleport warriors through it's portal?

As I recall it was written that they MUST arrive through the portal when availalbe from reserves. So that would be the case if the monolith is deep striking along with the unit itself by its 3rd ed codex rules.

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: