Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:31:18
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
This happened last night:
A group of genestealers moved into terrain THEN assaulted my marines. So here is what I'm wondering, since the genestealers were outside of the difficult terrain then went into it then assaulted...do they assault at 1 initiative? Or do they attack normally?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:36:18
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Did they roll to move through the difficult terrain? From my understanding of what you wrote, the answer to that is yes. And that is the requirement to drop to I1 - rolling to move through Difficult Terrain.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:38:21
Subject: Re:moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Yes they rolled to enter the terrain then went to assault me...I was thinking since they started their movement phase outside of terrain that they would attack at i1
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:43:25
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Where they started any phase doesn't matter. The only thing that matters is if they rolled for the assault.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/09 23:46:17
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
so I should have struck first then....thank you
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 00:20:38
Subject: Re:moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
If they were in terrain that caused a difficult terrain test when they declared the assault they would then have to roll a difficult terrain test and go at I1 barring some special rule or wargear. Whether they moved into, out of, or through difficult terrain during their movement phase has no bearing on the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 00:52:27
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
suppose if you have to roll to move in difficult terrain you would have to roll to assault as well?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 00:57:27
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Not necessarily. If the unit being assaulted is n difficult terrain or the unit assaulting still has at least 1 model in difficult terrain, you would.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 02:19:45
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Since the rules state you can't end your movement within 1 inch of an enemy model you still have to roll to assault and if you roll all 1's the assault fails. Since this test has to be made then the genestealers drop to I1.
|
2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!
2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!
2k
2k Happiness in slavery |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 02:22:56
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
GreyChaos wrote:Since the rules state you can't end your movement within 1 inch of an enemy model you still have to roll to assault and if you roll all 1's the assault fails.
Actually the assault still works - says so in the first block of "Assaulting through cover" on pg 36 of the BRB.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 06:29:49
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
You are correct, I meant to say 2" out since you always have the 1" leeway given in an assault due to modeling and such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/10 09:09:37
2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!
2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!
2k
2k Happiness in slavery |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 10:31:41
Subject: moving into terrain then assaulting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you make a difficult terrrain test when making your Assault move you strike at Init1.
It doesnt matter *why* you are rolling it, just that you have done so.
|
|
 |
 |
|