Switch Theme:

Question about ramming distance.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






This is probably a silly question, but this came up in a game the other day and it seemed more than a little dodgy.

I don't have the rules in front of me right now and I am wondering about ramming.

When measuring the distance a vehicle has moved to calculate the strength of the ramming hit, is it measured from the vehicles starting point, or is it the total move distance?

For example, I have a fast skimmer that is 6" away from the enemy tank. If I move 6" backwards and then 12" forward to ram the tank, do I receive an additional 4 str to the ram (because i moved 12") or only an additional 2 str (because I started off 6" away from the vehicle). Can a vehicle even move backwards during a ram move?

Any ideas on how this works?

Dave

What do you want for tea? I want crisps! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

you can not move backwards and then forwards when you ram.

you basically have to turn the tank on the spot in the direction you intend to move it, then move it full speed until you contact an enemy vehicle, then you determine the results of the ram. If you explode the vehicle you keep going, if not you stop.

you also stop if you contact a friendly unit or impassible terrain, or the board edge.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Vehicles starting point until the point it makes contact with the ramming object.

You also CANNOT move 6" backwards when ramming, read the rules again. You MUST move straight forwards.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






Gotcha, I thought it seemed a bit off when my opponent was doing it with his raiders, but I didn't want to bring him up on it at the time.

Thanks for the quick replies guys

What do you want for tea? I want crisps! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: