| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 21:59:49
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Finally got my hands on this book, and I'm liking what I see so far I do have a question, though. The Chaos Dreadclaw rules state the following: "The Dreadclaw and its cargo always begin the game in reserve and enter play using the Deep Strike rules...After it has arrived, the Dreadclaw may move normally." ( IA:A2E, p112) Does this mean that the model may move on the turn it arrives? Or is it simply clarifying that, unlike regular Drop Pods, they can continue moving when they're on the table? (Please note that the Dreadclaw rules in this book are notably different to previous publications.)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/10 22:01:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/10 22:02:34
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Fair question, but doesn't deepstrike prevent models from models moving as normal the turn they come down. Automatically Appended Next Post: jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Fair question, but doesn't deepstrike prevent models from models moving as normal the turn they come down.
Not to mention DS is movement.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/10 22:02:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 00:01:02
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DS Rules: You may not move any further
And yes, that means a dread claw can take off again. They have entirely sucked the life out of the dreadclaw, as you now cat assault out of it, and scatter a lot further.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 12:10:51
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The Dreadclaw that was available for C:CSM to take (IA6) didn't allow you to assault out of it anyway. Only the Dreadclaw in the IA7 renegades list did that and it wasn't available to select as an option for C:CSM.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 12:28:30
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Thanks guys, that's pretty much what I was thinking: the Dreadclaw can "move normally" after arriving, but a "normal move" after deep striking is "not at all"...
I guess I was hoping for some kind of salvation for the Dreadclaw. Shame, really.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 12:33:33
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cheexsta wrote:Thanks guys, that's pretty much what I was thinking: the Dreadclaw can "move normally" after arriving, but a "normal move" after deep striking is "not at all"...
I guess I was hoping for some kind of salvation for the Dreadclaw. Shame, really.
Yeah, the only thing this lets you do is move in following turns, and only as a non-fast skimmer. If it were a fast skimmer, maybe it would be worth it?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 12:40:19
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Scott-S6 wrote:The Dreadclaw that was available for C:CSM to take (IA6) didn't allow you to assault out of it anyway. Only the Dreadclaw in the IA7 renegades list did that and it wasn't available to select as an option for C:CSM.
Looks like another IA C&P issue. the renegade list in IA6 has the words "open topped" in the drop pod rules (from a moving open topped vehicle) but then the single entry omits that. Otherwise the rule is exactly the same...
sigh. They made the lucius slightly more expensive but only has a 1/6 chance of failing the assault, and nerfed the dreadclaw to death.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/11 13:23:55
Subject: Chaos Dreadclaw in IA:Apoc Second Edition
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Scott-S6 wrote:The Dreadclaw that was available for C:CSM to take (IA6) didn't allow you to assault out of it anyway. Only the Dreadclaw in the IA7 renegades list did that and it wasn't available to select as an option for C:CSM.
Looks like another IA C&P issue. the renegade list in IA6 has the words "open topped" in the drop pod rules (from a moving open topped vehicle) but then the single entry omits that. Otherwise the rule is exactly the same...
sigh. They made the lucius slightly more expensive but only has a 1/6 chance of failing the assault, and nerfed the dreadclaw to death.
I'm not sure it wasn't intentional. I'm not saying that they're not on crack for charing the same amount of points for the Lucius as they do for the Dreadclaw, but many of the units did undergo some pretty radical changes in this book (the Lucius being one of them).
Of course, then there's a bunch of entires where they totally forgot to put how you actually take the unit in an army (Grot Bomb Launchas, for example), so the more things change, the more they stay the same.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|