Switch Theme:

What counts as 'arriving from reserve'.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Dakka Veteran




So the Scenario is Blood Angels vs Necrons with the Nemesor.

Blood Angels have three Assault squads held in reserve for Deepstrike, Necrons have Wraiths in reserve.

Top of turn two Blood Angels begin rolling for (3) Assault squads to arrive. The question is at what point(s) can the Necron player interrupt the turn by invoking Phased reinforcements and have the Wraiths Deploy via Deep Strike placement.

1) After Assault Squad 'A' passes it's reserve roll
2) After Assault Squad 'B' passes it's reserve roll
3) After Assault Squad 'C' fails it's reserve roll
4) After Assault Squad 'A' is Deployed via Deep Strike placement rules
5) After Assault Squad 'B' is Deployed via Deep Strike placement rules

The way I read the rules now is that the Wraiths actually deploy onto the table before the Assault Squads, which would really cut down on the tactical application of having them shadow them and near guarantee a charge.

Also, another question with this rule in regards to Flayed Ones. At the start of the game they choose to Outflank. If an opponent's unit arrives from reserve, can they choose to immediately deploy via Deepstrike instead?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 21:45:01


 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






In the BRB, page 94, under the heading "Rolling for Reserves":

"Depending on the turn in question, a certain result [on a D6] will mean the unit has arrived."

So as soon as a unit makes a successful reserves roll, it has "arrived."

In the case you described, I guess that would mean that they could arrive after A or B passed its reserve roll.

As you said, since Phased Reinforcements triggers immediately after a unit arrives, you would Deep Strike before the enemy units (and from the way it's worded, it would also trigger before any remaining reserve rolls). Although that last part is based on the interpretation that reserve rolls are not all done simultaneously.

If you do follow that interpretation, then the risk here is that if you don't invoke Phased Reinforcements after unit A arrives and then B doesn't arrive, you've lost your chance to bring in your units. On the other hand, you could invoke the rule, Deep Strike, then find out that a dozen other enemy units are arriving that turn as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 22:24:21


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





I'm thinking (4), After Squad 'A' is deployed via Deep Strike placement rules. Although the successful rolling for determine if the unit arrive, it hasn't actually arrived until it's on the table. See, Arriving from reserve also on page 94, "When the unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player's own table edge (unless it's deep striking or outflanking)." Thus, once a single enemy unit is deployed from reserves, the entire reserved Necron fleet can arrive. Yikes!

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




4) for the same reasons....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: