Switch Theme:

Necron Tremorstave/Writhing Worldscape Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Just want to make sure I understand this correctly: Units hit by the tremorstave treat terrain as difficult during their next movement phase. Writhing Worldscape causes difficult terrain to be dangerous terrain. So, a combo would be to shot a unit in open terrain with a tremorstave causing the terrain to become difficult and then dangerous due to the writhing worldscape. So, the unit is now standing in dangerous terrain during their next movement phase. My question is: The rules for dangerous terrain state that one must "roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move" -p. 14. I'm getting caught of on the wording here. If the unit who was struck by the tremorstave chooses not to move, much in the way say a unit of heavy weapons guys might be parked in some terrain for cover but never roll for difficult terrain because they don't want to move (assuming there is no writhing worldscape in this game), does it still need to roll for the dangerous terrain caused by the writhing worldscape? Or, does the fact that the terrain the unit is standing on has now become dangerous terrain mean they have "entered" the dangerous terrain and thus have to take the test?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wait for the FAQ on this. People are arguing this left and right like nuts.

Personally, I say no as they are treating open terrain AS difficult terrain and not moving through actual difficult terrain. But this is a can of worms that has been beaten over and over. Like I said, best wait for the FAQ.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




I say it does count as dangerous terrain.

However if you don't move dangerous terrain isn't going to effect you unless you are jump infantry, skimmer or a tank (due to ending their move in difficult terrrain)

I wouldn't be too concerned about it - in a 2k game the other day with 3 tremorstaves and the c'tan, about 3 guys died to it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/13 19:31:12


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





darkslife wrote:However if you don't move dangerous terrain isn't going to effect you unless you are jump infantry, skimmer or a tank (due to ending their move in difficult terrrain)

No, if you don't move then nothing happens to you no matter what kind of model you are. Staying immobile does not make vehicles roll every turn for immobilized results.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: