Switch Theme:

Quantum shielding and Combat Patrol  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper




Going with the latest version of Combat patrol where dedicated transports or troop choices are allowed to be up to armor 12 front facing, and non dedicated transports/non troop choices can be armor 10 front facing, how does Quantum Shielding fit in?

Quantum shielding says to treat it as 2 points higher on front or side, so most of the normal Necron dedicated transports are armor 11(13). Would this prevent the vehicles from being used? Or since the armor value is 11, and the vehicle wargear makes it 2 points higher, it still only counts as armor 11 for army selection.

It has been brought up already in our group that the fluff reads that the shield only pops up at the moment of impact (Usually fluff =/= rules, but sometimes GW says it does... sigh).

Obviously, armor 13 transports makes combat patrol a little tougher...
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

I'd count them as AV13 beings thats what they are til they take a Pen.

   
Made in us
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms






Chino Hills, CA

Also remember that usually there's a limit on the vehicle's total armor values added up (front, side, rear) having to be under a certain amount, like 33 or something.

Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+

WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW

 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot







Id go with count it as 13 as its kind of out of the spirit of combat patrol. Take a night syth for combat patrol instead.

My Armies: 8000 , 3000 , 8000 High Elf, 10000+ and goblin, 5000 Dwarf

My current work blog on what I am painting.http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/410840.page
 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock







The vehicles are 11/11/11, and are therefore usable in CP.

They have a special rule that makes them count as 13/13/11, which only comes into effect when the vehicle is shot at.

If you disallow them, thats like saying that if your opponent has a bright lance, you are allowed to take a vindicator because it only counts as 12/11/10... or a landraider when your opponent is using scarabs... It may be down to 11/11/11 before you know it.

You use the armour value on the profile, not taking into account in-game effects.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/14 15:30:45


DC:80S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D++A+++/mWD219R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Xenith wrote:The vehicles are 11/11/11, and are therefore usable in CP.

They have a special rule that makes them count as 13/13/11, which only comes into effect when the vehicle is shot at.

Actually, you're wrong on this. Quantum shielding makes zero mention of shooting.
Codex Necrons 2011, pg 81
"Until the Vehicle suffers penetrating hit, it counts All Armour Values on its front and side facings as 2 points higher. Once vehicle has suffered penetrating hit, it uses its own armour value against subsequent hits"

So the question is: Has the vehicle suffered penetrating hit before the game begins. If answer is no, then it is 13/13/11 vehicle and thus is over the 33 limit in Combat Patrol

The fact that the statline of the Vehicle reads 11/11/11 on the codex doesn't matter, because wargear raises it higher. Exactly same as if you bought artificer armour for a character in Combat Patrol.

Besides, the intent of Combat Patrol rules is pretty clear and would disqualify using Quantum Shielding even if it had worked as Xenith said.




   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Luide wrote:Actually, you're wrong on this. Quantum shielding makes zero mention of shooting.


Right, but you only use the rear armor value in assault. Makes your point kinda moot.

I'd let someone use a Ghost Ark in Combat Patrol, but I would ignore the quantum shielding. It'll be interesting to see they do at Adepticon. I really want to see what happens with the Grey Knights and their psychic powers and of course the Necrons.

–The Harrower
Artist, Game Designer, and Wargame Veteran

http://dedard.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fell Caller - Child of Bragg







I'd say RAW it's legal, but definitely violates the spirit of the combat patrol scenarios.

Over 350 points of painted Trolls and Cyriss 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot







I'd give the value of quantum shields at least 30-50 points of the cost of the transport, so not sure it would be worth taking without that.

My Armies: 8000 , 3000 , 8000 High Elf, 10000+ and goblin, 5000 Dwarf

My current work blog on what I am painting.http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/410840.page
 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






Judging by the wording of the rule, I would say it's legal. Shielding is a counts as buff, rather than an upgrade. The wording says "...it uses its own armor value against subsequent hits" That would mean it's armore value is 11/11/10. The buff makes it 11(+2)/11(+2)/10.

To use a previous argument for it, Artificer armor INCREASES a save to 2+. The Q shielding says that it's armor values COUNTS as +2. So it is still AV11, but it acts like AV13.

EDIT for clarity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/17 16:44:51


 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

racta wrote:Judging by the wording of the rule, I would say it's legal. Shielding is a counts as buff, rather than an upgrade. The wording says "...it uses its own armor value against subsequent hits" That would mean it's armore value is 11/11/11. The buff makes it 11(+2)/11(+2)/11.

To use a previous argument for it, Artificer armor INCREASES a save to 2+. The Q shielding says that it's armor values COUNTS as +2. So it is still AV11, but it acts like AV13.

EDIT for clarity.


Fix'd

They have AV11 on the rear.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






Luckily I edited for clarity, not for intelligence. Thanks for the fix!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: