Switch Theme:

mandrake / infiltrators rules question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Hello all,

I was just wondering, is it possible to have mandrakes on board a transport without declaring that they're on there?

The scenario that I have in mind is this:

I want my mandrakes to gain a pain token asap. The quickest and easiest way is to pass one on from a haemonculus. Can I put a haemy on a raider with 5 mandrakes that my opponent doesn't know are on the raider, and then pass the token to them, and break them off further up field? Ie, I declare that the haemy is on board, but do not declare that the mandrakes are there? Off the back of that, is it possible to have 2 different units on the same transport when one of them does not have the IC rule? Ie, kabalite warriors and mandrakes?

The alternatives are:

1) bring mandrakes on to the table as normal, without pain token, and watch 'em get blown to bits
2) bring mandrakes on from my table edge on foot, with haemy, then put them in raider, zip 'em over to the other side, by which time my opponent knows about the intended surprise and blows them to bits.

I am a noob and am well aware that this is a dangerously noobish question! I do not have the BRB to hand to check this out for myself, and sadly am out every night for the next 3 days, hence the question on here!

Hope y'all can help.

Cheers

Kitch

   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Now bear with me as I don't have my codex with me but ...

A) I don't think that mandrakes may take a raider ... (if they can then setting up in it before the game is fine otherwise) Only units that have purchased a Dedicated transport may start the game embarked upon them.
B)You must tell your opponent what's in each transport. The rules do say you can agree not to reveal this, but many people find it stops cheating by have a model from each unit riding the transport as a marker.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/17 12:24:19


 
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Not sure about that, I don't think they can buy one though I'm sketchy on this...

If they can't buy a dedicated transport, can they still embark on one later in the game?

Otherwise I guess the best way of doing the PT swap would be to get the haemy up that end of the board asap, in the vicinity of where I'd want the 'drakes to show up, and join together that way, but then I'd lose the 'drakes special rules right?

Cheers Tri

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, the only restrictyion with dedicated transports is that ONLY the unit (plus any ICs) that bought the vehicle may start in it.

You cannot join a haemy to a mandrake unit and have them infiltrate, as you immediately lose the USR when you join the infiltrateless-haemy to the mandrakes

Sadly mandrakes are a case of lovely model, shame about the rules.
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Agreed there! And I have 10 of the fethers

There's nothing stopping me buying a transport by itself though is there? Just having an extra one lying around that anyone can use? I suppose it doesn't make a difference though as the unit isn't starting out in it, they'd just start out stood next to it

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You can only buy a dedicated transport for a squad that has the option - you CANNOT buy a dedicated transport by itself
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Even if it has it's own codex entry?

Is that because transports dont take up FOC slots, so in theory you could have an army of vehicles...?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They ALL have their own codex entry - under "Dedicated transports", which cannt be bought on their own

And yes, people would spam razorbacks even mroe if you could just buy them...
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







kitch102 wrote:Even if it has it's own codex entry?

Is that because transports dont take up FOC slots, so in theory you could have an army of vehicles...?
Everything has its own entry ... the Force organisation chart lets you select upto 2 Head Quaters choices, 3 Elites, 3 Fast attack, 6 troop, and 3 heavy support. Dedicated Transport units however are not pressent on this list so you may not select them directly; what you must do is selected with a unit. Units with the option of taking Dedicated transports have this listed as an option in the Army List.
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Fair play then, but to confirm, I can buy a raider for some warriors then have them disembark and the mandrakes can jump aboard? Is that legal? They can't buy a dedicated transport, though it doesn't say that they can't use one??

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Entirely legal/ Read the Dedicated transport entry if you need confirmation
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





Leeds, UK

Sound, cheers

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: