Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 19:20:34
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
I will break down the sentence into clauses so that it is easier to follow.
May an IC ("IC")
1) detach from Unit "A"
2) move in the movement phase
3) end IC's movement within two inches of Unit "A"
4) attach to Unit "A" (automatically b/c the units are w/in 2")
Imagine this hypothetical:
A jump chaplain is attached to a squad of tac marines. There is an enemy unit 14 inches away. The jump chappy detaches from the squad and moves 8 inches directly toward the enemy unit. The squad moves 6 inches directly toward the enemey unit. The chap is now within 2 inches of the squad and automatically reattaches. Now the entire unit chooses to assault and the chap makes base contact with the enemy unit.
That squad just got free movement and the chap was not limited in movement to the slowest member of the squad. Is this legal? Automatically Appended Next Post: I guess this is basically sling-shotting with a single unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/18 19:30:32
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 19:32:36
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Deuce11 wrote:I will break down the sentence into clauses so that it is easier to follow.
May an IC ("IC")
1) detach from Unit "A"
2) move in the movement phase
3) end IC's movement within two inches of Unit "A"
4) attach to Unit "A" (automatically b/c the units are w/in 2")
Imagine this hypothetical:
A jump chaplain is attached to a squad of tac marines. There is an enemy unit 14 inches away. The jump chappy detaches from the squad and moves 8 inches directly toward the enemy unit. The squad moves 6 inches directly toward the enemey unit. The chap is now within 2 inches of the squad and automatically reattaches. Now the entire unit chooses to assault and the chap makes base contact with the enemy unit.
That squad just got free movement and the chap was not limited in movement to the slowest member of the squad. Is this legal?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
I guess this is basically sling-shotting with a single unit.
Maybe you should search the forum. We had this conversation very recently - less than a month ago at least.
In short, no - you cannot do that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 19:32:50
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
He does not leave the unit until he completes his move, so would not move 8"
The "their" in the first bullet point (pg 48) does not refer only to the IC that is referred to as "he" earlier.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 19:37:30
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
tried searching. nothing came up. the words are too general for a simple boolean search.
Thanks for helping kirsanth.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 22:13:34
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
If I recall the thread I'm pretty sure it came down to the Chaplain never counts as leaving the unit since he started and ended the movement phase with the same unit. Therefore he could only move at the speed of the slowest model in his unit and couldn't make the 8" jump.
The accepted method for this maneuver was to have the chaplain starting the turn in a different unit or alone then flying up and the tac squad moving up to him during their own movement.
|
2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!
2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!
2k
2k Happiness in slavery |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 23:20:51
Subject: Re:Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
The unit would have to move first and then the IC would have to jump ahead of the unit and end his move within 2" so as to become a part of the unit. Then if he were in range of a charge that the unit by itself would not be, he could charge and "drag" the unit with him into assault. If the IC moves first he would not end his move within 2" of the unit, they would instead end there move within 2" of him and thus not trigger the "join a unit" mechanic.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/18 23:21:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 23:24:19
Subject: Re:Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
zeshin wrote: If the IC moves first he would not end his move within 2" of the unit, they would instead end there move within 2" of him and thus not trigger the "join a unit" mechanic.
It doesn't matter which of them moved first. The check to determine if the IC has joined the unit is 'Is the IC within 2" of the unit at the end of the movement phase?'
While the previous section does suggest that the IC has to move to the unit, the actual mechanic for determining if he has joined them or not makes it completely irrelevant.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 23:24:40
Subject: Re:Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
zeshin wrote:The unit would have to move first and then the IC would have to jump ahead of the unit and end his move within 2" so as to become a part of the unit. Then if he were in range of a charge that the unit by itself would not be, he could charge and "drag" the unit with him into assault. If the IC moves first he would not end his move within 2" of the unit, they would instead end there move within 2" of him and thus not trigger the "join a unit" mechanic.
That is not true.
You can not leave and join a unit in the same movement phase
Also, it does not matter if the IC moves to join the unit or the unit moves to join the IC, either way the IC joins the unit at the end of the movement phase.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 23:28:41
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
would the same argument be used for separating Ghazzy from his unit ? Would you move Ghaz 3d6(picking highest), then move his unit of boyz 6"
Pretty sure you move the whole unit at the slowest speed (2d6) and once the units movement is complete, if the IC is separate, he is now on his own.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 23:32:04
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Disarray wrote:Pretty sure you move the whole unit at the slowest speed (2d6) and once the units movement is complete, if the IC is separate, he is now on his own.
This is correct.
Although it's worth pointing out that it's not how a lot of people play it. There's a common perception that if you're intending to separate the IC from the unit, then he can move away at his own speed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/19 01:04:34
Subject: Re:Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
DeathReaper wrote:That is not true.
You can not leave and join a unit in the same movement phase
Also, it does not matter if the IC moves to join the unit or the unit moves to join the IC, either way the IC joins the unit at the end of the movement phase.
Sorry, I thought it was obvious I was talking about a unit and an IC (another wholly separate unit) who then become one. And as to the order of operation I don't recall a set in stone answer when this question came up before, but I will have a re-read through that section of the IC rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/19 01:53:06
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Sorry Zes I thought you were talking about a IC that was trying to leave and rejoin a unit.
However, an IC that is flying solo, a unit unto himself, does not have to move to join a unit.
The IC can be stationary, and if the unit moves to him he is joined to that unit that is within 2 inches at the end of the movement phase.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/19 04:49:58
Subject: Detach and Re-attach in same turn?
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
DeathReaper wrote:Sorry Zes I thought you were talking about a IC that was trying to leave and rejoin a unit.
However, an IC that is flying solo, a unit unto himself, does not have to move to join a unit.
The IC can be stationary, and if the unit moves to him he is joined to that unit that is within 2 inches at the end of the movement phase.
I stand corrected on the order. Re reading it almost makes it seem like it's the unit ending its ["their"] movement within 2" of the IC but the rest of the wording does make the order not important.
|
|
 |
 |
|