Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 14:37:19
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Can the Landraider Redeemer place it's template over the units behind the blue solid wall which it can't draw LOS to? It can draw LOS to the model 1.
I think it is not be possible (as it can't see the models behind there) but I can't find a rule (or rules) to forbid it.
|
FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.
Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:20:35
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Don't have the rulebook to hand but i don't think so.
IIRC it CAN scatter onto things that you don't have LOS to, but you can't target them directly.
|
Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:28:56
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Joey wrote:Don't have the rulebook to hand but i don't think so.
IIRC it CAN scatter onto things that you don't have LOS to, but you can't target them directly.
A template weapon never scatters. Blast markers scatter.
If I'm not mistaken, no weapons can fire through LOS-blocking terrain and so, the LRR couldn't target the squads behind the LOS-blocking cover.
Iranna.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:37:58
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
100% yes it can do so, and in fact in some cases MUST
As long as you have LOS to the target unit, the template rules kick in and FORCE you to place it where it covers the most models from that target unit. THis can force you to place the template out of lOS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:38:59
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Los Angeles
|
Hive guard assault weapons can fire without los. but no, a blast marker can not be placed on a model that the firing weapon does not have los on. as stated above it CAN, SCATTER onto them, but thats it.
|
Excellence is not an achievement, its a habit. We are what we continually do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:41:25
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:100% yes it can do so, and in fact in some cases MUST
As long as you have LOS to the target unit, the template rules kick in and FORCE you to place it where it covers the most models from that target unit. THis can force you to place the template out of lOS.
This.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:44:53
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Ty
|
FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.
Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 16:49:17
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Snord
|
As Nosferatu1001 says, rules say simply "covers as many models as possible" BRB 29 TEMPLATE.
So in this instance, yes you would and must place it so it covers models out of los.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 17:07:21
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Los Angeles
|
"Covers as many models as possible" you cannot target a unit that has no models in los. And also if like in the OP's post only one model is visible that model is targeted and then the template is placed on the visible target, if when placing the template on the VISABLE model the blast radius hits models out of los of course that legal. i think the way people are stating it here is a blatant misuse for RAW vs RAI. and just another glaring example of GWs vague and poorly written rules. and im not saying this as a rant, i have and use many blast weapons in several of my army's, i just think its silly to take some poorly written rule and twist the words so that now you are shooting out of los? shannagins i say. in the OP post he asks if the redeemer can target models behind the blue wall... which it cannot. it can place the template on the visible model to cover the most possible models.
|
Excellence is not an achievement, its a habit. We are what we continually do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 17:12:49
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
"Visible" appears in the text less often than Bloodfist posits.
nosferatu1001 has the right of it.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 17:18:49
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Snord
|
Bloodfist wrote:"Covers as many models as possible" you cannot target a unit that has no models in los. And also if like in the OP's post only one model is visible that model is targeted and then the template is placed on the visible target, if when placing the template on the VISABLE model the blast radius hits models out of los of course that legal. .
This is not what the rules say. You are trying to use the BLAST rules that require to place the blast on a model in LOS, template rules has no such requirement.
Bloodfist wrote:i think the way people are stating it here is a blatant misuse for RAW vs RAI. and just another glaring example of GWs vague and poorly written rules. and im not saying this as a rant, i have and use many blast weapons in several of my army's, i just think its silly to take some poorly written rule and twist the words so that now you are shooting out of los? shannagins i say. in the OP post he asks if the redeemer can target models behind the blue wall... which it cannot. it can place the template on the visible model to cover the most possible models.
Again please read the rules before posting like this, there is a big differance with BLAST and TEMPLATE weapons. And the template rules say you simply place the template covering as many models as possible.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 19:44:23
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
Los Angeles
|
The mistake was not my understanding of the rules, at least not as far as i know. it was in the reading of the OP' s post. and i apologize for that. for some reason when i read it i thought he was talking about a blast marker not a template. and as to my referencing the word "Visual" in no way was i quoting the RB, that was just my paraphrasing and again i was talking about blast marker not template
my bad!
|
Excellence is not an achievement, its a habit. We are what we continually do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 19:51:39
Subject: Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Snord
|
No prob, i read ur first post again and noticed you wrote "blast" so tis was a bit of misunderstanding!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 22:55:07
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
Bloodfist wrote:"Covers as many models as possible" you cannot target a unit that has no models in los. And also if like in the OP's post only one model is visible that model is targeted and then the template is placed on the visible target, if when placing the template on the VISABLE model the blast radius hits models out of los of course that legal. i think the way people are stating it here is a blatant misuse for RAW vs RAI. and just another glaring example of GWs vague and poorly written rules. and im not saying this as a rant, i have and use many blast weapons in several of my army's, i just think its silly to take some poorly written rule and twist the words so that now you are shooting out of los? shannagins i say. in the OP post he asks if the redeemer can target models behind the blue wall... which it cannot. it can place the template on the visible model to cover the most possible models.
I'm not gonna get into blast vs template as that's been handled, but the bold part is wrong.
You target units not models...ok sometimes it would be a unit that consists of a single model but you still target the unit. All you need to do is be able to see is one model to fire at the unit.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 22:57:59
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Akroma06 wrote:You target units not models...ok sometimes it would be a unit that consists of a single model but you still target the unit. All you need to do is be able to see is one model to fire at the unit.
QFT, this is covered in the second sentence on page 16 main rules under 'Check Line of Sight & Pick a Target'.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/21 23:56:19
Subject: Re:Can a template be placed on models out of LOS?
|
 |
Snord
|
Akroma06 wrote:Bloodfist wrote:"Covers as many models as possible" you cannot target a unit that has no models in los. And also if like in the OP's post only one model is visible that model is targeted and then the template is placed on the visible target, if when placing the template on the VISABLE model the blast radius hits models out of los of course that legal. i think the way people are stating it here is a blatant misuse for RAW vs RAI. and just another glaring example of GWs vague and poorly written rules. and im not saying this as a rant, i have and use many blast weapons in several of my army's, i just think its silly to take some poorly written rule and twist the words so that now you are shooting out of los? shannagins i say. in the OP post he asks if the redeemer can target models behind the blue wall... which it cannot. it can place the template on the visible model to cover the most possible models.
I'm not gonna get into blast vs template as that's been handled, but the bold part is wrong.
You target units not models...ok sometimes it would be a unit that consists of a single model but you still target the unit. All you need to do is be able to see is one model to fire at the unit.
time wizard wrote:Akroma06 wrote:You target units not models...ok sometimes it would be a unit that consists of a single model but you still target the unit. All you need to do is be able to see is one model to fire at the unit.
QFT, this is covered in the second sentence on page 16 main rules under 'Check Line of Sight & Pick a Target'.
He already clarified that he meant blast markers, blast markers can only be placed on a visible model, why bring it up?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|