Switch Theme:

Royal court deployment shenanigans  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





I'm having problems with the deployment rules of the royal court.

Say you have 5 cryptek. They must either "deploy in the overlord's unit" or be dispatched in other units, 1 by 1.

1) Can some be kept in the overlord's unit and others be dispatched? (for example cryptek dispatched and lords with the overlord)

2) Does "the overlord's unit" mean "in the unit the overlord is in", or "must form a unit with the overlord". Say you choose to deploy the lord with a unit of lychguard. Can the crypteks be included in that unit?

3) Since the overlord is an IC, and he is deployed with his court, can he, in the first turn of movement leave the royal court and join another unit



I have the french codex so I dont know the exact wording of the english one, maybe it's more clear


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh come on doesnt anyone know? It's not such a hard question, the only thing that stops me from ansering myself is that I have a french codex and the wording is ambiguous.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/22 21:22:48


 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I think the royal court works a lott like SW battle leaders.

It is a unit.

You can take one of them (cryptects or lords) and deploy in one of the 4 units. You can do this multiple times but you can never have more then 1 lord or cyrptec in one unit. (A FAQ will be debating weather having 2 courst gives you 2 options.)

The overlord is a IC and cna go wherever he wants.

   
Made in us
Powerful Chaos Warrior





Georgia, U.S.A.

Niiai wrote:I think the royal court works a lott like SW battle leaders.

It is a unit.

You can take one of them (cryptects or lords) and deploy in one of the 4 units. You can do this multiple times but you can never have more then 1 lord or cyrptec in one unit. (A FAQ will be debating weather having 2 courst gives you 2 options.)

The overlord is a IC and cna go wherever he wants.



I have read this over a couple of times to really make sure I am understanding it all and I would have to agree with the above statement.

RxGhost wrote:Twilight doesn't have vampires.

If you frolic in the forest and sparkle in the sun you are a FAIRY, not a VAMPIRE.



Mortality is for those who are to afraid to be great!!

2500pts Oruscar Dynasty-The re-awakening has come
1500pts Angels Sanguine
Newly started WoC Army  
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One




It may be an issue with the translation. In my English codex, it never says you must deploy the court "with the overlord." All it says is that during deployment, you have the choice of splitting, otherwise they remain part of the court. The court seems to just be a regular unit, that the overlord can join or leave as he pleases.

1000
2500ish 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

GiantSlingshot wrote:It may be an issue with the translation. In my English codex, it never says you must deploy the court "with the overlord." All it says is that during deployment, you have the choice of splitting, otherwise they remain part of the court. The court seems to just be a regular unit, that the overlord can join or leave as he pleases.


Indeed. The only diference is that you can take one of the members of the unit and put in "warriors, death marks, melle-big-scythes and big-warriors". They become a part of that unit. (Like space wolves battle leaders.)

It is however, unclear but doubfull, weather you can sneak in two "battle leaders" in one group if you have 2 royal courts. This will probably be FAQ to no, so do not build an army based on it, althought it would be AWSOME.

   
Made in fr
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





Goddam, the codex is already ambiguous and full of FAQ material already, did the translation really need to be that bad.

Technically this means I can play a Chorno-Lance-HS-Court when I'm in england, but can't when I'm in France (people will never believe me if I explain what the english version says, even though it is the original version, and I can't show them cuz nobody understands english in this country)

Thanks guys
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

What is the chrono-lance-hs-court?

   
Made in fr
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





4 Harbringers of Destruction (eldritch lance)
1 Harbringer of Eternity (chronometron)

Using your court as others would use heavy support units such as long fangs or whatever. Didnt think that would need explaining it's quite popular these days.

And yes you can mix disciplines in one court, and no the lances are not subjected to the unique wargear rule.

(even though, another HUGE mistake, the french codex very clearly states you "All members of the court that choose a discipline must choose the same discipline". Thats the way I translate it but when it's read in french it's very clear you cant mix cryptek of different disciplines in the same court. The guy that translated the codex deserves to be fired.)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The link with the OP is that, according to french wording, if the cryptek are not dispatched in other units they must stay with "the overlord's unit", so 4 lances, a chronometron and the overlord in the same unit is just a waste of the overlord, making the unit very hard to play, whereas the original wording enables you to play that court independently as you would a heavy support unit, leaving the overlord the possibility to join another unit or take a command barge or whatever.

I cant begin to imagine how the french are going to deal with courts + command barge. Means since the court cant run with the overlord, its members are limited to the number of units they are dispatched in

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/25 16:01:04


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I'll have to post the math on this later but I recently compared 5 Harbingers of Destruction against 4 Harbingers of Destruction and 1 Harbingers of Transmogrification with a Harp of Dissonance.

The results were intriguing. The latter unit is a tad more expensive (20 points) but the addition of the harp gives the unit some unlimited scratching distance, plus the ability to take out AV 14. The results for the lower AV's were very close, close enough to justify the points cost for the expanded versatility IMHO.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

How can they "stay with the overlords unit"? He is and IC. The owerlord do not have to stay with them? Do you interpit that if the overlord joines some warriors they have to as well?

   
Made in fr
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





That is what the wording in the french version of the codex implied, and it's rubbish. I seriously doubt it meant that the cryptek could join a unit already joined by the overlord (even though, if someone bothers me with leaving them as an independent 5 man unit theyll just join the overlord in his unit of 5 lychguard with shields which would just be completely cheated, giving them incredible protection through wound allocation on the lychguard..), but that is what this gakky wording implied. I think what the translator had in mind was some kind of retinue (yeah, they still exist and the HQ cannot leave them), but that is still BS.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: