Switch Theme:

C'Tan with 2 Shooting attacks versus transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Opportunist



La Rochelle

I know that a Monstruous creature can use two shooting attacks the same turn, as long as the two target the same unit.
And I believe that a single unit can blow a transport with a heavy/special weapon, and then use it's anti-infantry shots to kill the remaining, although I don't remember the section of the rulebook saying that.

So, assuming both assumptions are correct, does it mean a C'tan can target a transport with his Transdimentionnal Thunderbolt, blow it, and then shoot the passengers with one of the others shooting attacks (PyreShard or the other) ?

(BTW, what is the name of the 5" template power ?)

SkaerKrow wrote : "We killed our own gods. What chance do you have against us?"
Kurgash wrote: "Necrons, a dead race that is more dead than anyone else. So dead that they rebuild themselves just to die again!" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, if you pop a transport you cannot shoot the crunchies inside. Other units can, but since they were not an eligible target when you declared your fire, you can't swap targets.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Arkon wrote:And I believe that a single unit can blow a transport with a heavy/special weapon, and then use it's anti-infantry shots to kill the remaining, although I don't remember the section of the rulebook saying that.

This is incorrect. All of the shooting from a single unit occurs simultaneously. You would not be able to pop a transport with a squad's heavy weapon and then mow down the now disembarked squad.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

yea, 1 unit is unable to shoot the transport than the embarked. Even units that can fire at 2 different targets dont have permission to do this, as the embarked are not a legal target initially.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Ghaz wrote:
Arkon wrote:And I believe that a single unit can blow a transport with a heavy/special weapon, and then use it's anti-infantry shots to kill the remaining, although I don't remember the section of the rulebook saying that.

This is incorrect. All of the shooting from a single unit occurs simultaneously. You would not be able to pop a transport with a squad's heavy weapon and then mow down the now disembarked squad.


As Ghaz said; the rulebook actually explicitly says the opposite of what Arkon thinks he remembers. That you may NOT hit the occupants of a transport with your anti-infantry guns after popping it with your squad heavy weapon.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in fr
Opportunist



La Rochelle

Thanks for the answers.

SkaerKrow wrote : "We killed our own gods. What chance do you have against us?"
Kurgash wrote: "Necrons, a dead race that is more dead than anyone else. So dead that they rebuild themselves just to die again!" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: