Switch Theme:

Models w/ Entropic strike & vehicles - Do they still roll to penetrate?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
When do you roll to penetrate with your Strength attack vs a vehicle with a unit who has Entropic Strike
Never. The model only gets the Entropic Strike hit on a vehicle.
Before you roll the 4+ Entropic Strike hit (So you assault, fresh land raider has AV 14, you roll against that, THEN Entropic strike to wear it down)
After you roll the 4+ Entropic Strike hit (So you assault, fresh land raider has AV 14, you roll your 4+ Entropic Strike hits to degrade the AV, THEN roll the Str hits to penetrate)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





So last night I was playing my buddies Black Templars and my Scarabs got onto his land raider and mulched it down from AV14 to AV 7, I then asked him "When do my scarabs roll to penetrate?" and he had a baffled look on his face and told me entropic strike is their hit, they don't get to roll to penetrate.

We asked 2 of our other friends who were in their own game and they agreed "Entropic strike is the hit, there is no roll to penetrate" , I shrugged and played the rest of the game with this.

Then it got me thinking - what about harp of dissonance ? A str 6 shooting attack that will never get a chance to penetrate? Or a void blade ... a str 5 model can use that but it won't ever roll to penetrate? That doesn't seem right to me...

So just wondering, vote on the poll above.

Thanks guys!

Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





ES is applied on a hit, but nothing says you can't roll to pen as normal.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You roll to penetrate as normal. Absolutely nothing states you ignore roll to penetrate, so you still do. It is also after you roll ES....
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Its always people who are getting munched trying to stop the rolls to penetrate.

They also like to try and claim that the armour magically returns the next turn.

Effectively making ES useless.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





It's pretty easy to follow...

20 attacks make it through. You immediately roll entropic strike, so whatever you're hitting is going to lose ~10 armor. Then you proceed as normal hitting the vehicle 20 times at its new armor value.

There is a reason it says the word immediately like three times in that section of the entropic strike rules XD


Automatically Appended Next Post:
darkslife wrote:Its always people who are getting munched trying to stop the rolls to penetrate.

They also like to try and claim that the armour magically returns the next turn.

Effectively making ES useless.


Well that second one, they technically at least have a leg to stand on. The 'remainder of the battle' phrase only shows up in regards to hitting non-vehicles. That said, there is no way to 'increase' a vehicles armor, and it explicitly states that it 'loses' 1 point of armor rather than 'is temporarily reduced' or something along those lines...


Cant wait for a FAQ to come out and clear all this up.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/26 05:58:16


W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Thanks guys for confirming what I thought!

Like I said in my initial post, it seemed odd to not roll to penetrate especially with a shot like harp of dissonance that is str 6...

Total Finecast models purchased: 5
Total models without Finecast issues out of those purchased: 0
... "Finecast" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: