Switch Theme:

Really basic question - assaulting vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Well this is sort of embarrassing, asking such a basic question like this. I just realized that my playgroup has probably been handling a certain situation wrong and I just want to confirm that we made a mistake.

The problem is about hitting vehicles in the assault phase. The way we've been playing it, if the vehicle is stunned or immobilized (so that it can't move) during the shooting phase, all attacks in the assault phase will automatically hit...regardless of what happened in the previous turn. For example, let's say you move your Rhino 6 inches on your turn. On my turn, I shoot it with a Meltagun and immobilize it. The way we've been playing it, all of my attacks in the assault phase would hit automatically. I assume this isn't true - it doesn't work like that. Can anyone else confirm?

Even worse than that, we used the same rule for close combat attacks in initiative order. If an initiative 4 model stuns/immobilizes the vehicle, an initiative 1 model will automatically hit. Take the example above. You move your Rhino 6 inches. I assault it on my turn using several Krak grenades and a power fist. At initiative 4, one of the krak grenades stuns the vehicle (so it can't move). The way we've been playing, all of the power fist attacks (initiative 1) would hit automatically. Again, I don't think it works like that. Is that correct?

I'm going to feel kind of silly if I'm the one who's wrong. I just read the official rule book and it clearly says "didn't move in the previous turn". Anyway, I just want to make sure we were doing it wrong before confronting my group. Thanks!
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Dorset, Southern England

I believe if it is immobilized it can be hit automatically in assault. Probably wrong, but that's what I recall.

Initiative order seems to be illegal however.

BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.

BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant?
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

if you immob it either in the shooting, or cc prior to that models Init you auto hit. Its covered in the chart.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Thanks for the quick replies! Could I possibly get a page number for that chart?

I'm looking on page 63 under "rolling to hit against vehicles". All of the target requirements talk about how far the vehicle moved on its previous turn. That's where my confusion is coming from.

Even if a vehicle is immobilized during the shooting phase, it still moved during its previous turn.
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

Which doesn't matter. You're not paying close enough attention to the rules. If a vehicle IS immobilized, it's hit automatically.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Oops, I feel dumb. I see that now.

Now, would a vehicle suffering from a "stunned" result count as immobilized for the same purpose? Basically, does a stunned result still confer automatic hits (no matter how much the vehicle moved during the previous turn).

Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/27 10:10:56


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

No, as there isn't a provision for stunned as there is immobilized.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Dorset, Southern England

Stunned means there is nothing wrong with the vehicle, and it has already moved, so rules apply as normal.

BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.

BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant?
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




If the vehicle was stunned during it's own movement phase then it will be auto hit in the opponents next assault phase due to be "stationary".

2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in ru
Infiltrating Oniwaban





Fayetteville

This was addressed in the BRB FAQ.

"Q: If a vehicle moved during its last Movement phase,
but is immobilised by the time a models initiative value
is reached in close combat, what roll is needed to hit it?
(p63)
A: It will be hit automatically."


The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

And yes, if a model with a Krak grenade manages to immobilize a vehicle at Initiative 4, when Initiative 1 rolls around the model with a powerfist will hit automatically because at that point the vehicle "is" presently immobilized.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

GreyChaos wrote:If the vehicle was stunned during it's own movement phase then it will be auto hit in the opponents next assault phase due to be "stationary".


The above is not true.

Vehicles without a weapon skill are hit based on how far they moved, or auto hit if immobilized, Being Stunned has nothing to do with it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/27 19:58:22


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: